We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Starfish Point Condos
Nearby Hotels
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$155
La Quinta
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Newport(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agate Beach Motel(Newport)
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (569)
Filter reviews
569 results
Traveller rating
518
39
1
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
518
39
1
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitoregon coastjacuzzi tubmaster bedroomfull kitchenprivate beachtwo storyhome away from homeincredible viewsyaquina headtide poolsstayed longerromantic getawayfamily vacationa great staylove this placespring break
Filter
Updating list...
553 - 558 of 569 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2008

I was concerned about reserving a stay at this condominium-style lodging, because of a very negative review on this site. However, I was very motivated to have lodging right on the beach (to hear the ocean and have walking access to the beach) and a place with a kitchen.

Although it was expensive, we were 5 adults (our grown children and our son-in-law), and separate rooms in a hotel would have been even more expensive than the Starfish Point, so it seemed the right choice. Apparently, they have great winter rates, though.
Our unit included a private downstairs master bedroom facing the ocean. Unfortunately, it is not well set up to accommodate two couples, as the bedrooms are extremely unequal in quality. The second bedroom was purely utilitarian. I wish it were possible to find more lodging suitable for baby boomers with their adult children.
The living area was appealing and included exhiliarating views of the ocean, a private deck to sit outside and watch the waves and sunset, and a nice gas lit fireplace. The kitchen was thoughtfully well-stocked with essentials for food preparation.
The managers were very pleasant and offered complimentary beach gear, including free firewood for a bonfire on the beach, one of the pleasures of the Pacific beaches. The place was small, charming, and quiet, with a great view of the headlands nearby, which also offered a great hike, without taking a car.
This is away a bit from the center of Newport Beach, but is still fairly convenient, although a car is needed to access some nice restaurants in town. So, if you like shops and town life, or you have teenagers who want to check out other teenagers, you might prefer other lodging. If you like to spend as much time as possible enjoying the beach, you might prefer Starfish. There is no problem with the beach, as mentioned in an old negative review. It's gorgeous.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank PacificDelphinium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2007

Our stay was private and quiet. Nice condo with a friendly staff. This place is perfect for getting to the beach from the room as it sits on a cliff overlooking the ocean. We should have stayed for the rest of our honeymoon.

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank newcastle_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2007

Beautiful open air spacious accomidations including fireplace and jacuzzi tub will full beach front Ocean views. Warm and inviting elagance while still embracing beach front casualness. The perfect winter get way. The Host and Hostest are extremely helpful pionting out all of the best local sites, activities and restuarants. Great kitchen facilities with full sets of beautiful fun beach motifed china for that extra touch for romantic dinners on site. Just steps away fromt the beach with a private beach access path and located across the street from a fun local coffee shop. If you are into Art or Wine there are lots of local galleris and winery's to visit. Bring back a bottle to sip in front of the fire or looking out over the Ocean Beach for some great Sunsets! Simply one of the best Beach vacations I have ever had. Looking forward to coming back in the summer months!

Stayed: January 2007
4  Thank Beaches7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2006

I booked this hotel based on the great reviews from this site. They are all wrong – this place is not anywhere near a luxury condo. Where to start?

1. The furniture was very old and very worn out. I’ve seen better couches curbside with “free” signs on them.
2. The hotel beach is right next to a cove that has public beach access so it’s pretty busy. In the other direction is miles of beach, but there is a body of water bisecting the beach. So, if you want to walk along the beach, you HAVE to cross the river and get your feet wet.
3. The hot water tank holds about ¼ the amount of hot water needed to adequately fill the jacuzzi tub. Ever had a romantic luke warm bath?
2. The linen was so old, it was threadbare.
3. You have to stay 7 days to get maid service.
4. The rooms do not have clocks in the bedrooms, or blow dryers.

Save your money and stay anywhere else in Newport for half the price.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LVB5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmrtBlonde, Manager at Starfish Point Condos, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2007

We at Starfish Point take pride in our facility and also take all comments very seriously! We provide Comment Cards in every unit to allow our guests to communicate with us in a non-threatening way about what they enjoyed or what they felt needs improvement. Unfortuanately this guest did not communicate with us. The guest choose to use an Internet site to voice their problems with our facility. Our furniture may be dated but is not worn out. The couches have been replaced with new ones over a month ago. The old ones did not have any tears or other problems. They were worn a little. In regards to the Public Access, it is mainly used by surfers who spend most of their time in the water and do not interfer with anyone else. The north end of Agat Beach is mostly the quietest section of beach in Newport. The body of water bisecting the beach is Big Creek which originates on the South end of Agate Beach by the Best Western Motel. It has rerouted itself naturally North towards our location to find a route to the ocean. We, along with many other private residences along Agate Beach, have requested the City and /or State Parks to reroute the beach. They responded by stating that it will have to be rerouted by nature. Our Jacuzzi tubs are Very large. They take around 80 gallons (the size of our hot water heaters) of water to get over the jets. We advise our guests to Not use any hot water before wanting to fill the Jacuzzi tub, and to use warm water first to preserve the hot water for last. We also advise them that it will use All of the Hot Water. We monitor our linens and replace them when they show signs of wear. We do not offer daily housekeeping, but offer a houskeeping day for guests who stay 5 days or longer. We do offer our guests the option to exchange towels for fresh ones at any time. We do not have clocks in the bedrooms, only in the kitchen area, but we have alarm clocks, hair dryers, and other items available through the office. We address these needs in a book that is in each unit for the guests to view. The management and staff at Starfish Point work hard to make each guests experience here a pleasant one and will make every effort to resolve any problem that is brought to our attention. We can only address the problems that we are made aware of while the guests are staying with us. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2006

The Starfish was above and beyond our expectations. Not only is the view perfect, has a two-story condo with jacuzzi tub, the manager's Roy and Danielle are some of the best people we've ever met. My new wife and I got married there and it was because of their efforts and caring that it went perfectly. This letter is an open Thank you to Roy and Danielle and we will be back.

Jeff and Becky

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank alwaysdowntown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews