We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely great..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Starfish Point Condos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2009

I can't say enough good things about this place. My wife, son and I stayed here for a night October 8, 2009. We didn't have reservations and it was on a whim that we stopped, fully expecting the place to be absurdly priced like most other condo-style lodging on the Oregon Coast. The price ($140 for an off-season Thursday) was more than fair and the condo was just great. Two floors, bedroom and bathroom and jacuzzi tub upstairs, downstairs: a gas fireplace (nice one too), kitchen, dining area, living room and of course son had his own room and bathroom (always a plus!). There is also a sitting area between floors with big windows. The views are just incredible, with private (though steeply stepped) beach access. The management even provides beach toys for the kids and my personal favorite...bonfire kits! Cleanliness was more than adequate (and my wife and I are VERY tough critics and always demand to see a room and inspect first), with clean carpets and no strange smells. My only real complaint would be that other guests are allowed to smoke on their balconies which of course means that for any other guest who like to leave windows open to take in the sea-air and sounds, you will be greeted occasionally with cigarette smoke.
This really was the highlight of our trip and were very disappointed with other lodging in the area after this including The Inn at Spanish Head and most especially the hole called Surfrider Resort.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewCFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmrtBlonde, Manager at Starfish Point Condos, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2009

We wanted to respond on the Smoking issue. Our policy has changed to comply with Oregon state laws and we currently do not allow smoking on any of the unit decks. We do want to accomodate all of our guests as well as we can. Guests may only smoke on common deck areas or at our New Picnic & Fire pit area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
There are newer reviews for Starfish Point Condos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2009

We went to the beach for a birthday celebration and decided to see what we could find. We'd gone past Starfish Point for years but had never pulled in. We're so glad we did this time!

Newport is the center of the Central Oregon Coast. There's something for everyone without the feeling you're in a tourist center. Agate Beach, below the condos, runs from the cliffs to Newport's north jetty with a couple of name changes along the way. Yaquina Head Lighthouse is minutes away, as is the funky Nye Beach area. The bayfront is filled with shops and tourist attractions, as well as the old haunted lighthouse. If you want to gamble, head north to Lincoln City or south to Coos Bay to find the casinos. If you want to fish or look for whales, check with the charter operations in Newport or Depoe Bay. There are two aquariums on the bayfront across the bridge. As I said, something for everyone.

The condos are spacious and very well appointed. The full kitchen has everything for four people. Both bedrooms are comfortable. We were in Unit #5, the top front overlooking the beach. The upstairs bedroom suite includes a two-person jacuzzi under a skylight. There's a small sitting room between the first and second floors that overlooks the beach - a perfect place to watch the sun go down or check out the storms. The gas fireplace added coziness. We looked at unit #1 which would have been just fine, but opted for #5 because of the better view of the beach.

Because it was during the week, we were given a discount on the room. We could have rented bicycles, used the beach gear, or read the restaurant menus in the office. The staff was great - very accommodating. The condos all have free wi-fi, cable, and dvd players with movies available in the office.

We wouldn't hesitate to return. We didn't take advantage of the kitchen since we were only there for one night and really didn't know where we were going when we left home. Newport has some great restaurants - Nye Beach seems to have several (Savory, Quimby's, Panache, Chowder Bowl).

Definitely a wonderful place for a couple or for a group.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NWWildTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Starfish on our recent trip along the Oregon coast. The manager was very nice. The condo was very clean and comfortable. Great beds and linens, with a full kitchen. The unit we were in was right next to the beach. We slept listening to the waves... it was great.

Newport is close, but everything pretty much closes at 10:00. We didn't get in until 8:30 or so, therefore, we ended up eating at McDonalds (not our usual style) as that was the only thing open.

I'd stay at Starfish again. It would be great for a small family, as the unit has 2 bedrooms and 2 full baths. It also had a gas fireplace that was very romantic and helped with the June "chill" at night.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

Close to Newport, Oregon, a charming working port. Don't miss Nye Beach, small and charming. Newport Aquarium is a must see. Yaquina Bay is worth the scenic drive as far as you want to drive, but at least to Oregon Oysters and on to Toledo. Rogue Brewery at the bottom of the historic Yaquina Bay bridge: great food & beer. Perfect spot: Day trips for fun. A comfortable and spacious environment one could lounge around all day!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ---nwdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2008

Incredible views found nowhere else...BADLY in need of a deep cleaning and some updates.

When we arrived at the Starfish our expectations rose as we took in the incredible view and gorgeous natural surroundings. We were greeted by an apathetic but courteous desk clerk that led us to our room, stopping the door. Once she stopped at the door, we realized why as an odorous waft of wet pet combined with overly greasy fried fish assaulted our nostrils. The views from our room were better than you could find anywhere on the Oregon coast.

The layout of the units (although stuck in the 80's) could not have been better. That being said...if cleanliness and odors do not bother you, you will have a tremendous time. We were charged $15 per person per night extra plus tax to have friends stay with us in a unit that was build to hold 4 people already. The unit we were in was not particularly elderly or small children friendly due to the stairs/windows.

Some nuggets we would like to pass along:
- Bring your binoculars, the view is absolutely stunning
- Loved the alcoves facing the sea from all directions
- Keep you shoes on unless you want your white socks turning brown
- We would not honor the 'three second' rule in this place
- Wonderful shower pressure, but you'll have to rest your shampoo on the rusty shower ledge above and don't try to bend over.
- We recommend 'clean linen' Glade plugins for the fish/pet smells.

This place would be worth the price IF they would rip out the carpet and replace with nice tile, update the kitchen (especially the grout that is stained, broken, and full of food droppings), and do some cosmetic updating.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmcfaror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmrtBlonde, Managers at Starfish Point Condos, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2008

The Management and Staff here at Starfish Point appreciate our guest’s comments and suggestions. We take all of them seriously and try to make appropriate changes where applicable. We are a small, family owned business rather than a corporate owned facility. We do our best to meet each individual guests needs. We do provide a non-threatening way to communicate with us by having Comment Cards in each unit, which can be left or mailed to us later.
Now, having said all of that, we would like to address these particular issues. We have had a particularly busy Summer and Fall, which has not allowed opportunities to shampoo our carpets as we prefer to. In regards to cleanliness, we strive to maintain a high standard of cleanliness and we prefer to be notified immediately if ANY problems arise with cleanliness and sanitary issues. We will address all of these problems immediately upon being made aware of them. We here at Starfish Point agree that there are NO excuses for a unit not being clean and freshened prior to a guest’s arrival.
We do have some carpet issues in our end units that we are addressing at the present time. The carpet is only a few years old, but unfortunately the quality of the carpet is not good and it has led to staining and extensive wear problems. We will be replacing this carpet with a better grade of carpet within the next two months. The tile and grout issue is a problem and we are working with the owners to resolve this issue in the near future with a different type of surface.
Our pricing is based on double occupancy (2 guests) because we get a lot of couples that stay here each year. So instead of having our pricing higher to include more guests in the base price, the owners decided to keep the base price lower and charge an additional $ 15.00 per person, per night. That way, the guest’s which only have two people staying with us do not have to pay a higher rate for the unit.
Our goal is to provide each and every guest with an enjoyable stay and experience at Starfish Point. We encourage our staff to take Pride in their work and give extra effort to our guest’s needs and wants. We do try our best to please every guest that walks through our doors because that is what we desire to do.
We do have a rather unique setting and design of our units and we truly hope each guest gets to experience all of it.
Thank you for your comments and suggestions. We take each one of them to heart and will make strides to improve on all of them.

Danielle & Roy - Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2008

After reading all the rave reviews about this property I was excited about going there, especially for the location which is right on the coast of Oregon. Well, the minute we checked in I had some reservations as the couple managing this place were not overly friendly or hospitable at check-in. We were taken to our unit which was down some wet (it was raining) stairs to what seemed like we were heading down into a basement. It was mildewy and wet and when we walked into the entrance area and upon walking inside there was a bad smell like the previous guests had cooked fish in the kitchen - definitely was not fresh smelling! So, to make a long story short: It has good ocean views (when it's not raining & overcast). It certainly needs updating in every room. The furniture is old and tired; carpets were stained & worn. There's a very small bathroom upstairs with a shower that you can barely turn around in. The queen bed in the master bedroom was just fair for comfort and the bedspread was ready to go to the Goodwill store. We were told not to get water on the tile right next to the sink because it had just been re-glued in place (?).
The bottom line: The place is WAY overpriced for what you get. I would recommend staying at one of the chain motels in the area rather than Starfish Point as I felt ripped off by the price.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmrtBlonde, Managers at Starfish Point Condos, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2008

The Management and Staff here at Starfish Point appreciate our guest’s comments and suggestions. We take all of them seriously and try to make appropriate changes where applicable. We are a small, family owned business rather than a corporate owned facility. We do our best to meet each individual guests needs. We do provide a non-threatening way to communicate with us by having Comment Cards in each unit, which can be left or mailed to us later.
Now, having said all of that, we would like to address these particular issues. We strive to maintain a high standard of cleanliness and we prefer to be notified immediately if ANY problems arise with cleanliness and sanitary issues. We will address all of these problems immediately upon being made aware of them. We here at Starfish Point agree that there are NO excuses for a unit not being clean and freshened prior to a guest’s arrival. It is very difficult to properly address any problems after the guest’s leave our property. The results are guests that walk away with a bad experience and management that is left unable to resolve the problems with those particular guests. Unfortunately, neither side comes away with good feelings and very little can be resolved.
The management and staff at Starfish Point do apologize if any of us were not friendly and/or hospitable during any portion of your stay. Our goal is to provide each and every guest with an enjoyable stay and experience at Starfish Point. We encourage our staff to take Pride in their work and give extra effort to our guest’s needs and wants. We do try our best to please every guest that walks through our doors because that is what we desire.
Unfortunately, we have no control over the weather issues. This year was an unusual year for weather. At the time of this guest’s stay, which was two nights, we had one day where it was cloudy and rained, and the next day where we had more rain, stormy conditions, and lightning.
We have had a particularly busy Summer and Fall, which has not allowed opportunities to shampoo our carpets as we prefer to. We do have some carpet issues in our units that we are addressing at the present time. The carpet is only a few years old, but unfortunately the quality of the carpet is not good and has led to staining and extensive wear problems. We will be replacing this carpet with a better grade of carpet within the next two months. The tile and grout issue is a problem and we are working with the owners to resolve this issue in the near future with a different type of surface. In this case, we only asked the guests to wait overnight to allow the glue to set so the tile would not become loose again.
Our mattresses are replaced with new pillow top ones as needed. This one was replaced two years ago. Our linens are also replaced as needed and checked frequently.
We do have a rather unique setting and design in our units and we truly hope each guest gets to experience all of it. We have completive prices with other lodging facilities that only provide you with a room. We provide a condo unit that has far more space and incredible views that many other places in the area.
Thank you for your comments and suggestions. We take each one of them to heart and will make strides to improve on all of them.

Danielle & Roy - Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2008

My wife and I have been regular vacationers to the Oregon coast for 30-plus years. This Year, a friend from work recomended the Starfish point, a place we had never been to before, so we booked 2 days there with our 14 year old daughter. Our only disapointment, was the fact that we couldn't stay longer. (They were booked solid) We all felt the rooms were the best we ever stayed in, and the staff ( Danelle and Ron) went WAY above the call of duty to not only help in every way possible, but actually felt more like family friends by the end of our (to short) stay. This was the first time we ever stayed in a motel, and wished we could live there. This is the best deal on the entire Oregon coast (at least to my family), and we look forward to the many more stays at this excellent establishment in our future. P.S. Can I give more than 5 stars?

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank stevefromkelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
2.6 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,056 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
2.1 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.6 mi away
Little Creek Cove
Little Creek Cove
#2 of 10 in Newport
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starfish Point Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starfish Point Condos

Address: 140 NW 48th St, Newport, OR 97365-1334
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Newport
Price Range: £162 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Starfish Point Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury condo style units on the Oregon Coast overlooking Agate Beach and the Yaquina Headlands, your home away from home, can be rented for the night, a week, or more. Our condo's are all 2 bedrooms; king bed master suite with giant Jacuzzi tub, Queen bed guest room on a separate floor, 2 bathrooms, gas fireplaces, sitting areas, decks, bbq's, Captains alcoves, fully equipped kitchens by a foodie, all with amazing views! We have only six beautiful condo's all with unobstructed Ocean and Agate Beach views! Our private Beach access is illuminated at night and our beautiful gardens and fire pit with all the fixin's for S'mores make our location a great base camp to see the many State Parks and other sites in the Newport area. Come enjoy this quiet setting, perfect for families, or that romantic getaway. "Come as our guests, leave as our friends." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Starfish Point Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starfish Point Condos Hotel Newport
Starfish Point Condos Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing