We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of The Whaler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Whaler
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

After along day of driving we were thrilled to discover Newport and The Whaler Motel. A great area and also very helpful staff at Reception. Rooms were clean and had a great view and breakfast was simple but definitely enough. Enjoyed our stay and it was not long enough. A quaint little beachside town as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susie63255325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    165
    44
    10
    4
See reviews for
114
181
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

You can't beat this view of the ocean from all rooms in The Whaler, and it is undoubtedly a bargain. Also, we've loved it in the past, but this time the room was not clean. It was puzzling as it had been a great motel last year. This time, we had previous guests' coffee in the in-room coffee pot, a noticeable stain on the sheet, and mold on the bathroom ceiling. Did we hit the cleaning crew on a bad day? Has something changed? We don't know, can only tell you what we saw.
On the positive side, the desk staff was as engaged and friendly as can be.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith-PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Great service and amazing beach front location. Pets allowed but you can't leave them in the room. Free coffee and basic continental breakfast included. Friendly staff, comfortable bed, very clean. Definitely would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mohica77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Great place to stay, they are very accommodating for seniors and children. Love the nearby beach access and pool. Has been clean and tidy all three times I have stayed here. The front desk folks are very nice. The continental breakfast has coffee, juice, cereal, oatmeal, toast, beagles and fruit.

Room Tip: Let them know if you have a senior or kids with you and they may have a larger room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were looking for a reasonably priced place to stay for a short visit to the coast. The Whaler provided clean, comfortable accommodations right across the street from the beach and the path that led down to the beach. Our room faced the beach, had a little patio outside the sliding glass doors, and gave us great views. There was an indoor pool. Staff were friendly and gave good information about the area. Hot beverages were always available in the office and there was a continental breakfast served in the morning. The Whaler was perfect as a home base for our 3-day, 2-night visit.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank where2nxtpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont,CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This was our second night on our trip up the Oregon Coast. This was a great hotel! The check-in lady was real friendly and helpful. We had reserved a 1st floor room and were not disappointed with the view! The room itself was very nicely appointed and very modern. Very close to Nye Beach

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is a nice hotel with a great setting. Although there is a frontage road in front, it does not take away from the whole experience. You can walk to the beach within minutes and enjoy a wonderful beach stroll. We enjoyed the convenience of walking downtown for some delicious clam chowder (or fancy sit down if that is what you want). The added bonus was the lovely sunsets and the little window one can keep open all night to hear the ocean! The hotel could use some updating, but it is clean and well maintained. Friendly, helpful staff, too! Loved staying there and we plan to go back next year and stay even longer.

Room Tip: Third floor has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravelers-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,018 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.4 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler

Property: The Whaler
Address: 155 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-3943
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#8 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whaler offers 73 quiet,spacious, hotel rooms,each with private balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Beautiful heated indoor pool & spa and exercise facility. Easy beach access to one of the most scenic beaches on the Oregon coast. The Whaler is adjacent to the Newport Performing Arts Center, and only a short distance away from Yaquina Bay, the historic Newport bayfront, a variety of restaurants, unique shopping and the Oregon Coast Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Whaler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Motel Newport
The Whaler Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing