We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Whaler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Whaler
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Prineville, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We brought our elementary students to Newport for fun on the beach and a visit to the Oregon Coast Aquarium. The hotel was so clean and nice! We reserved four of the large rooms and they had balconies and each room slept 5 people. It was so nice to get up in the morning and go out on the deck and drink coffee and watch the ocean. The beach was easy to get to with the kids. The ladies at the front desk were awesome as I needed something printed for our trip and they were more than willing to help! The continental breakfast was great and the coffee was delicious.
We are definitely planning to come back this summer with our families!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    167
    44
    10
    4
See reviews for
120
181
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our accessible room was large and had a single king bed with a good turning radius next to one side. The room was well equipped with a fridge, sink, microwave, dishes, gas fireplace and a balcony. All rooms face the ocean and we had a good view from the first floor. The bathroom had a good turning radius and lots of grab bars, but only a tub. It had easy to reach controls and a handheld swower head, but no bath seat, not sure if they have one at the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim-Denise-MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galiano Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The rooms are basic, but extremely clean. We were on a tight budget and were pleased with the quality we recieved for the price. The view is mesmerizing. The place is dog friendly. We liked it and would go back

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, WA
Level 6 Contributor
633 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife and I have been going to Newport for years - usually in the summer but lately in the Fall and now in the Spring. We have stayed in several other properties including the #1 rated Inn at Nye Beach, but The Whaler has consistently given us the best value.

On a recent trip, we showed up in Newport with no reservations. We stopped by The Inn at Nye Beach as well as the nearby Elizabeth Street Inn, Shilo Inn and Comfort Inn. Only the Comfort Inn was cheaper and they are off the beach. Curiously, The Whaler charges more for 2nd and 3rd floor rooms (presumably because the view is better). We paid $10 more to stay on the third floor. All rooms have an ocean view.

The Whaler has a nice pool area with jacuzzi. It is the only place that we have ever stayed in that has a lift for handicap persons for both the pool and jacuzzi. There is popcorn and coffee available in the lobby anytime, but the continental breakfast didn't have many choices - just some cold cereal and pastries.

The Whaler is an easy walk on the beach from the Nye Beach area and with friendly staff, it's just a matter of when, not if, we'll return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank County-Hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

What a wonderful weekend we 5 ladies had on April 12 & 13, 2014. We had rented the 4 bedroom beach houses on the ocean side. The weather couldn't have been any better. It was in the 70's and the view from the house was breath taking. It was clean and up to our standards. I went up to the lobby to see if they had any fans that we could use and they did. The Nye beach area was just a couple of blocks away, but we all were there to just relax and hang out. Can't wait to do another ladies sleep over. Everything was just what we wanted. We didn't get to use the indoor pool but next time we plan on it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Excellent location with awesome Oceanview! Friendliest staff and cleanest rooms. Indoor pool and coffee/popcorn in lobby are a plus. Walking distance to many fine restaurants and shops in the Nye beach area.

Room Tip: Top floor has best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corncrapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I live out of state and we were dying to get back to the beautiful beaches of the Oregon Coast. I found the Whaler Motel online and knew we would be stopping in Newport for a few days on our trip. The Whaler turned out to be our favorite place during our whole visit to the coast. The motel staff was very professional and courteous, the room was spotless and the view fantastic. Great location in Newport. We will definitely be back on our next trip.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,044 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.4 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler

Property: The Whaler
Address: 155 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-3943
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#8 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whaler offers 73 quiet,spacious, hotel rooms,each with private balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Beautiful heated indoor pool & spa and exercise facility. Easy beach access to one of the most scenic beaches on the Oregon coast. The Whaler is adjacent to the Newport Performing Arts Center, and only a short distance away from Yaquina Bay, the historic Newport bayfront, a variety of restaurants, unique shopping and the Oregon Coast Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your The Whaler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Motel Newport
The Whaler Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing