We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotel rooms ever!”
Review of The Whaler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Whaler
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“One of the best hotel rooms ever!”
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We chose The Whaler because of the good reviews on TripAdvisor and were not disappointed. Our very large room overlooked the ocean which was awe inspiring. The kitchen area contained crockery and cutlery and other equipment which meant that guests could cook in the microwave and eat in the room if they wished. We loved our stay at this hotel. If Newport had better weather (very similar to our own west coast) we would definitely stay there again. As another reviewer said, the desk staff were above-average in offering their assistance.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayOrganiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    167
    44
    10
    4
See reviews for
119
181
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fulton, NY
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We chose the Whaler not knowing too much about the Oregon coast - it was a perfect spot. The staff was friendly & tried to be helpful with meal suggestions. Fresh coffee being available in the lobby was nice, as well as the popcorn snack. Breakfast offered bagels, toast & muffins - enough to put a little something in your tummy before exploring for the day.

Our room was a king deluxe & was quite spacious offering a sink, microwave & frig. The bed wasn't the comfiest but it was clean & the roar of the ocean outside ensured a good night's sleep. The view is amazing!

The bathroom had a bit of an old fashioned feel to it but shower was strong & did what a bathroom was supposed to do. If we ever make it back to the west coast again, I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaafha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2009

started with the very nice and patient girl who answered the phone and took my reservation (Karen) she was very helpful and answered all my questions. i didnt make a reservation at that time, so when i called back again, thinking that the rates would be different or that she wouldnt be able to help me like the last lady did, i was completely wrong. she (Jennifer) knew exactly what i wanted and helped me just as much as the first phone call. :)
THEN MY ARRIVAL!!!!!!!! you pull up to see smiling faces inside the sliding doors!!! its the front desk girls!!! already they make you feel like they've been waiting all day for you.. :)
then when you get inside the sliding doors its a clean and very friendly enviornment. the smell of fresh popped popcorn was wonderful. didnt know what i liked more...the popcorn smell or the ocean mist smell...lol
the girls who checked me in (Maggie & Mau) were friendly and very knowledgeable on the area...they gave me great meal ideas and things to keep the kids busy! they had a brochure for every stop i mentioned i wanted to see...
they knew more about the town then the chamber of commerce did!
at one point in our stay we needed extra blankets, pillows, more soap and even a tide table and not once did the girls at the front desk look like they were going out of their ways to do these things. very professional.
THEY ROOMS WERE SOOOOOO clean!!!!! the bedspreads look new and the bathroom was very clean. thats usually one of the first places i look...and it was up to my standards.
the VIEW WAS SPECTACULAR!!!! we were on the ground floor and we still could see the ocean and hear the waves crashing on the beach sand.
it was a trip to remember. :)
oh and thanks for the pool and spa. cleanest spa we used on our travels. and the complimentary popcorn wasn't bad either. :)
thank you whaler motel for one of the greatest coast trips.
Love from Colorado!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coloradorock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

This hotel is in a great location, are presently painting outside, so will look much nicer when finished. Room was OK, very clean and the patio overlooking the water was great. Could hear the surf all night - very relaxing. The staff were very pleasant, breakfast could have been better, very basic. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dabbo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

Three companions and I were on a motorcycle tour of the Oregon coast. During this trip we stayed in many fine establishments, in separate rooms. The Whaler was the most expensive ($118) and by far the least value for the money. The rooms were small and dingy.. Each room had a balcony facing the ocean; however, what good is a balcony if you're not even allowed to smoke a cigar on that balcony?

There was no wi-fi, but they did provide a cable to plug into the wall.

Another pet peeve of mine is the "save the planet" ploy, which they pushed to an extensively annoying point. This is a "save money on the laundry bill," not a "save the planet" deal. If you want me to be careful about using the towels, knock ten bucks off my room rate and I'll be glad to use my towel twice.

The breakfast consisted of bagels and juice. For the price of the room, we expected--and we have received--more.

All in all, a disappointing experience. Next time we're in Newport, we'll go someplace else.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thorn93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Wa.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2009

First time at The Whaler, won't be our last, this is our new home away from home, loved it all, great time.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WACHRISTIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Whaler in Newport OR. This is not a review of the weather that could have been better. The hotel has easy access to the beach. We loved the balcony, the Shilo doesn't have them that is one reason we picked the Whaler. None of the hotels were right down on the sand. We paid $108 the room was big, very clean, comfortable beds and a great view. We also travel with our dog they are pet friendy. What else could you ask for.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesFam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,026 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.4 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.3 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler

Property: The Whaler
Address: 155 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-3943
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#8 Family Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whaler offers 73 quiet,spacious, hotel rooms,each with private balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Beautiful heated indoor pool & spa and exercise facility. Easy beach access to one of the most scenic beaches on the Oregon coast. The Whaler is adjacent to the Newport Performing Arts Center, and only a short distance away from Yaquina Bay, the historic Newport bayfront, a variety of restaurants, unique shopping and the Oregon Coast Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Whaler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Motel Newport
The Whaler Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing