We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”
Review of The Whaler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Whaler
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Stayed here on our trip down the Oregon coast. So very happy with this establishment. Stayed on the third floor and yes they are ocean views. The view was simply the best we experienced while visiting the OR. coast. The rooms are so comfortable and so romantic with fireplace and all. Highly recommend staying here you wont be sorry.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingMan37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2010

The Whaler Motel is the perfect place for a weekend at the Oregon Coast. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms have amazing ocean views, and are extremely well maintained. We enjoyed the cozy loveseat and flat screen TV, and got a chance to watch the sunset on our balcony overlooking the beautiful ocean and beach. There is direct access to a long sandy stretch of beach with tide pools full of ocean life. We slept great in the comfortable bed and quiet room, then enjoyed the continental breakfast in the morning. They also have a nice pool and exercise equipment. There are many good restaurants and cafe's within walking distance. We would definitely recommend the Whaler!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelOR123abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

We have stayed here twice on trips from California to Seattle, first in '05 with children, then in summer '09 by ourselves. It is a good, solid motel. Clean, with a great ocean view, and a deck. The indoor swimming pool and spa are always spic and span, really a pleasure to visit in the evenings. Beach access is convenient. The lively Nye Beach Community is right there with cafes, bookstores, art galleries, etc. Fixed price dinners at the nearby Sylvia Beach Hotel are a treat not to be missed, especially for anyone with any kind of literary bent.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Redwheelbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We've stayed here before, but now they have added balconies to the rooms. We were on the 3rd floor, overlooking the ocean and big, wide beach. We loved it. The rooms are nothing special, but clean and the location can't be beat. Just across the street is the beach access and there are great tidepools straight down from the hotel. The continental breakfast is nice. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mauidreamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We had just one night at the Whaler...everything was okay. Okay size room, old tv, okay view of the beach (paid a little more for the 3rd floor), okay bed and towels. It was fine for a night, but they could put a little more effort into the rooms' details that might impress. 3 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 808travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

My boyfriend and I celebrated our 5 year anniversary at this place and it was gorgeous! We reserved a Junior Suite with a King bed on the 3rd floor. Although it is across a residential street from the beach, there was nothing blocking our view because it was just a park across the street. Our room was incredibly spacious and even had a nice balcony! The indoor pool and hot tub, fitness room, unlimited access to popcorn and continental breakfast were great! With my AAA membership, the suite only cost us 104 a night. Overall it was a nice place with a great view for a reasonable price!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NurseOR2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We have stayed at The Whaler Motel 3 times now, all in single queen rooms on the 3rd floor.

Our 1st visit was June 25, 2008. We stayed 1 night in room 369 with our dog and paid $89.00 + tax with the pet fee. This was before they added the balconies to the rooms.

Our 2nd visit was September 10 & 11, 2009. We stayed 2 nights in room 368 and my parents were in room 367 – both pet-free rooms. We paid $85.00 + tax for the 1st night and $98.10 + tax for the 2nd night.

Our 3rd visit was September 18 & 19, 2009. We stayed 2 nights in room 362 with our dog and paid $108.10 + tax per night with the pet fee.

#############################

The single queen rooms are spacious – when we stay with our dog we have enough room for our 2 suitcases, a small cooler, our dog’s 4’ x 3’ bed, her food and water bowls and her dog toys without having to move any furniture or tripping over anything.
All 3 rooms have been clean, quiet and odor-free.
The shampoo and soap they provide is nice – my husband would love to use it here at home and he doesn’t care about soap or shampoo.

The single queen rooms all seem to be laid out the same and have a queen bed, 2 night stands with wall-mounted lamps above them, a clock radio, a large desk, and a table with 2 chairs.
The sink is outside the bathroom right across from the closet area and has a wall-mounted hair dryer.
The closet area has a shelf, an iron and ironing board and a folding luggage stand.
The balconies are large enough for 2 plastic chairs, a plastic table and a German Shepherd size dog to stretch out on. Most of the 3rd floor balconies don’t have a roof on them so you can’t sit out there when it’s raining. The sliding glass door doesn’t have a screen on it so we always wondered if we’d end up with seagulls in the room with us. We also ended up with moths, flies and some other bugs coming in through the open door.
The beds are fairly hard and we find them uncomfortable. The bottom sheet is a flat sheet instead of a fitted sheet so it always ends up wadded in a ball in the middle of the bed by the time we wake up in the morning so we end up sleeping on the bare mattress.

The pet-friendly rooms seem to be a little different than the pet-free rooms.
The 2 pet-friendly rooms we have stayed in have a small TV that sits on a 3-drawer dresser.
The mini-fridge is in the closet area so the luggage stand can’t be opened in the closet area.
The coffee maker, drinking glasses and ice bucket are on the sink and since the sink area is already small, it makes it very cluttered.
On our September 18 & 19 visit, the sink drained very slowly and would almost fill up just in the amount of time it took to wash our hands. The sink was older and had some rust around the drain. The toilet handle had to be held down in order to flush the toilet and it would make a very loud rumbling sound. The shower curtain wouldn’t stay against the tub and kept floating into the shower and up against us – we had this same problem when we stayed June 25, 2008.

The pet-free rooms were nicer and seemed to have been upgraded fairly recently.
They had a large TV in a TV cabinet that also held the coffee maker, ice bucket and mini-fridge.
The sink drained well and had no rust.
With the mini-fridge in the TV cabinet, the luggage stand was able to be opened in the closet.
The toilet didn’t need the handle held to flush it and it flushed quietly.
The shower curtain stayed where it should be instead of floating into the shower.

#############################

The motel has good beach access– right across the street and then down the path so no stairs.

Breakfast consists of bagels, bread, muffins, apples, 2 types of dry cereal, teas, orange juice, coffees, hot chocolate, milk, cream cheese, peanut butter and jelly.

Every time we have stayed, the staff members we have encountered have all been friendly and professional. Check-in has always been quick and the staff has been very knowledgeable about Newport.
We sign our credit card slips when we check in so we just have to drop the keys off at check-out.
Check out time is noon which is nice for when you want to spend several hours on the beach before getting ready to leave.

#############################

One thing they really need to add is a hose for washing sand off of dogs and people. We had to wash the sand off our dog in our shower 2 – 3 times a day so a lot of sand washed down the drain. Then it would take 5 minutes to wash all that sand down the drain.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
894 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler

Address: 155 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-3943
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#8 Family Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £73 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whaler offers 73 quiet,spacious, hotel rooms,each with private balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Beautiful heated indoor pool & spa and exercise facility. Easy beach access to one of the most scenic beaches on the Oregon coast. The Whaler is adjacent to the Newport Performing Arts Center, and only a short distance away from Yaquina Bay, the historic Newport bayfront, a variety of restaurants, unique shopping and the Oregon Coast Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your The Whaler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Motel Newport
The Whaler Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing