We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No doubt, the Whaler IS the place to stay in Newport”
Review of The Whaler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Whaler
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Unbelievable!!! After thinking the worse, we haven't been more surprised than ever. Now this is the place we will keep coming back to whenever we visit the Oregon coast again. We've stayed at the Intercontiental hotel in Monterey, CA, the Wailea hotels (Grand Wailea, Kea Lani) in Maui, Hi, which are rated very high, we will come here again in a heart beat. The rooms were very, very clean (enough to walk barefooted on the carpet, if you know what I mean) and seemed larger than they typical non-suite room. It also had a cove with a refrigerator and small counter top which worked fine. By sliding the balcony glass door you will get an open view of the beach/ocean and also easily hear the waves come in and out. If you can't sleep with the sliding glass door open, there is an adjacent window that you can open by turning the handle. to get the ocean air in. In face there is also one above the entry door that performs the same. We had a sunny day and a cool day. When it got warm, the room got warm with the sliding glass door open and the only thing that we couldn't do was control the temperature by reducing what we thought was the thermostat . Although I'm not too sure, they may not have air conditioning so verify this if you require cool temperatures before you book motel. Just closing the windows and doors on a cold day or night will keep everyone warm. We were in a room on the top floor, room 380 something, the newer addition, and we thought we were all by ourselves because it was very quiet during our stay, although there were people staying on both sides of us. We never heard a thing once the doors were closed. Just walk acroos the street and you are on the 1/8 miles walk onto the beach and ehat a clean and safe beach. Also you rarely hear cars come by on the street even with the door and windows open especially when on the 3rd floor.
The front desk were very friendly and helpful and answered all the questions we had.el
Also this motel have specifice rooms for people with pets. If you want a room that is dedicated for only humsn occupancy, ask for it, because they do have it. Also there are rooms that are non-smoking and non-pets. This is what we got.
We couldn't be any happier. Yes, it may not be look like the expensive hotels I mentioned above, but if you are looking for view, cleanliness, safe place, value, comfort, quiet, beachfront, and wonderful service (not in any particular order), the Whaler is the place for you. We stayed there for two days but could have been easily there a whole week. It was less than a mile from the Bay Front which is something like Fisherman's Whart of San Francisco and Monterey Bay. One tip: If you want good clam chowder, stay away from Mo's and Chowder House. However, the best place in Oregon for clam chowder is Salty's in Portland. We think it might be better than our favorite place - Pier Market on Pier 39 in San Francisco, Ca.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alohawailea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2010

Stayed here on our trip down the Oregon coast. So very happy with this establishment. Stayed on the third floor and yes they are ocean views. The view was simply the best we experienced while visiting the OR. coast. The rooms are so comfortable and so romantic with fireplace and all. Highly recommend staying here you wont be sorry.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingMan37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

The Whaler Motel is the perfect place for a weekend at the Oregon Coast. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms have amazing ocean views, and are extremely well maintained. We enjoyed the cozy loveseat and flat screen TV, and got a chance to watch the sunset on our balcony overlooking the beautiful ocean and beach. There is direct access to a long sandy stretch of beach with tide pools full of ocean life. We slept great in the comfortable bed and quiet room, then enjoyed the continental breakfast in the morning. They also have a nice pool and exercise equipment. There are many good restaurants and cafe's within walking distance. We would definitely recommend the Whaler!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelOR123abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

We have stayed here twice on trips from California to Seattle, first in '05 with children, then in summer '09 by ourselves. It is a good, solid motel. Clean, with a great ocean view, and a deck. The indoor swimming pool and spa are always spic and span, really a pleasure to visit in the evenings. Beach access is convenient. The lively Nye Beach Community is right there with cafes, bookstores, art galleries, etc. Fixed price dinners at the nearby Sylvia Beach Hotel are a treat not to be missed, especially for anyone with any kind of literary bent.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Redwheelbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We've stayed here before, but now they have added balconies to the rooms. We were on the 3rd floor, overlooking the ocean and big, wide beach. We loved it. The rooms are nothing special, but clean and the location can't be beat. Just across the street is the beach access and there are great tidepools straight down from the hotel. The continental breakfast is nice. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mauidreamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We had just one night at the Whaler...everything was okay. Okay size room, old tv, okay view of the beach (paid a little more for the 3rd floor), okay bed and towels. It was fine for a night, but they could put a little more effort into the rooms' details that might impress. 3 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 808travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

My boyfriend and I celebrated our 5 year anniversary at this place and it was gorgeous! We reserved a Junior Suite with a King bed on the 3rd floor. Although it is across a residential street from the beach, there was nothing blocking our view because it was just a park across the street. Our room was incredibly spacious and even had a nice balcony! The indoor pool and hot tub, fitness room, unlimited access to popcorn and continental breakfast were great! With my AAA membership, the suite only cost us 104 a night. Overall it was a nice place with a great view for a reasonable price!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NurseOR2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
0.4 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
931 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler

Address: 155 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-3943
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#8 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £69 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whaler offers 73 quiet,spacious, hotel rooms,each with private balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Beautiful heated indoor pool & spa and exercise facility. Easy beach access to one of the most scenic beaches on the Oregon coast. The Whaler is adjacent to the Newport Performing Arts Center, and only a short distance away from Yaquina Bay, the historic Newport bayfront, a variety of restaurants, unique shopping and the Oregon Coast Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Whaler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Motel Newport
The Whaler Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing