We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable and reasonably priced”
Review of The Whaler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Whaler
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable and reasonably priced”
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We got in late and left early but from what I could tell, this is a well maintained, clean, and pleasant motel. The pool was chilly, but so was the coastal evening air, so no fault there. Late night popcorn was a hit with the kids (girls 7 and 3) and late night coffee was a hit with mom and dad. Rooms were clean, staff was friendly and professional and all rooms had ocean views, FYI, my parents traveled with us and had an updated room (I.e. newer entertainment center, coffee tables,etc) but had a more obscured ocean view. We were not there for long and paid for the cheapest rooms available ( around $110 to $120 per night) on the ground floor. If you want a good ocean view, I’d suggest paying the extra $10 to $15 per night and getting a 2nd or 3rd floor room. Apart from that, a very pleasant 1 night stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nimes011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    165
    44
    10
    4
See reviews for
114
181
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
austin, tx
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Pros - Beachfront property with easy access to beach. Friendly staff. Private balconies with beautiful views of beach and light house. Quiet rooms with windows that open to let in sound of ocean at night. Clean bathroom and freshly washed linens and bed coverings. Mini-fridge. Decent shower and heater in the bathroom. We had a delicious dinner at Georgie's at the Hallmark Resort down the street.

Cons - Dust clearly visible in some areas of the bedroom. Very basic "seen better days" furnishings. Very little bathroom counter space.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbyAustin_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2010

The view of the ocean on the 3rd floor is beautiful, the rest of our experience was average. The rooms are dated and have a musty smell when you first walk in. Nothing special, but at least they were clean. The pool area was nice and clean, but there isn't a heater in the pool, so it was too chilly to really enjoy! Overall an OK place...probably would try the Hallmark next time...a friend of ours was staying there and the rooms were much nicer and had the same view.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jojobeans14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

The location in Newport can't be beat! There are several hotels on this street - Elizabeth St Inn, the Whaler, and Shilo Inn and Suites. I don't know how this compares with the other hotels. This seemed like a reasonable price (it's $10 more per floor as you go up from first to second to third). We were on the third floor with a king bed with balcony and a gorgeous view of the ocean outside the sliding glass door. There was a small window you could pop open to hear the ocean. You could walk to Nye beach from the hotel, which was really nice.

The room itself was unspectacular, but clean. Internet access by cable (no WIFI), but then again, why spend much time on the computer if you are right next to the ocean? There was a small frig in the room. The only thing that didn't seem to work well was the heater. (Yes, it was August and yes, we needed the heater). It appeared to be settable (temperature wise) but worked only as an "on-off" switch. So, when it got too hot in the middle of the night, I had to get up to turn it off. The premises had a pool and hot tub which we didn't get a chance to use, but looked very inviting.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willows, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Stayed in house #117. Bring your own laundry soap, etc. The breakfast is okay, no extras! The coffee is lighthouse style (blinkin near water) and the juice is instant powder. The beds are comfy, but they don't use proper fitted bottom sheets, just flat ones that don't stay tucked in, so that was a dissappointment. The house was reasonably clean. The bedrooms have small high windows, so you can't see the ocean unless you stand right by the window; and the windows don't latch, so any old booggerman could come in whenever. House #117 has quite an odor, bring a candle or something. There is a fireplace and wood is supplied, so you can be cozy in the evening. The beach access is great, and the children really enjoyed the pool in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane95988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Stayed here 3 nights with 4 teenagers and husband. We originally booked a 2 queen room with fold out couch, but when we made out the sofa bed the first night, we found it was a twin, so one of the kids slept on the floor. We did get extra blankets right away, but opted to not take the rollaway bed for an extra $15 per night. We felt the room was already overpriced. The room was large, TV was ancient. Great view of the ocean. The room was clean, but for $169 per night, we've stayed in very nice 2 and 3 room suites with full breakfast in other popular vacation spots. (Residence Inn, Best Western, Holiday Inn Express) For the 2nd and 3rd nights we rented one of the Whaler vacation homes for $275 per night. This is by far the better deal (my parents were also in town, so they chipped in and stayed with us). The house was clean with a flat screen TV, 3 queen beds and a queen sofa sleeper. The kitchen was stocked with dishes, but you are expected to supply your own coffee. When we asked for extra towels, we were told no, that we were to wash the ones in the house. Well, there are 8 people and 8 towels, what if I want an extra towel for my hair? For $275 a night, I would think an extra towel would be given without question. And the other reviews are correct about the towels, they are rough and tiny. During our stay we encountered 6 different people working in the lobby. 2 were friendly and helpful, the others were indifferent. As for the breakfast, it is served in the lobby and you take it back to your room. It consists of bagels, Costco muffins, apples, cheerios and rice krispies. When I booked this hotel, it was due to the great reviews and location. If we go to Newport again I would probably try one of the hotels across the street. Form dinner, Georgie's at the Hallmark is EXCELLENT! Great food and service. Also, the Chowder Bowl in Nye Beach had good food and excellent service.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idahogal73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

My husband and the two springers took tripadvisor's advice, and spent two nights at the Whaler during a family reunion in Newport. It's a very nice place--good bed, well-appointed little kitchenette, perfect location(even though it was 59 degrees with a cold north wind throughout the weekend), easy walk to everything in Nye Beach, and an easy drive to the Bayside part of town. Very reasonably priced, and if I had remembered, I would have suggested nicer towels as the only suggestion for improvement on the comment sheet. Perfect dog vacation!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arachne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,019 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.4 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler

Property: The Whaler
Address: 155 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-3943
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#8 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whaler offers 73 quiet,spacious, hotel rooms,each with private balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Beautiful heated indoor pool & spa and exercise facility. Easy beach access to one of the most scenic beaches on the Oregon coast. The Whaler is adjacent to the Newport Performing Arts Center, and only a short distance away from Yaquina Bay, the historic Newport bayfront, a variety of restaurants, unique shopping and the Oregon Coast Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Whaler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Motel Newport
The Whaler Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing