We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude waitress, food mediocre”

Mazatlan Restaurant
Ranked #73 of 109 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rude waitress, food mediocre”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

At here with family during stop along the coast. Food was mediocre at best, waitress was incredibly rude! It wasn't busy when we were there waitress was short with us, slapping plates down on the table, She seemed annoyed we were making her do her job!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBuginSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    7
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Pollo ala Crema fabulous, without the mushrooms! Great Mexican food for the Coast. Definitely will return

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dragonflygirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OREGON COAST
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We enjoyed the Service and Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Delighted to have a nice dinner with a friendly waitress to take care of us. There is no doubt you will get hot plates with hot, delicious entrees here. I enjoyed my seafood enchiladas and my husband had a special plate that he said was perfect.Noticed that all the staff we saw were working together and very efficient. Thank you very much!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonCoastIknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Decent mexican with good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

The burritos here are delicious and although it's part of a chain, they do a good job making mexican food with fresh ingredients. Members of my party also had the taco/enchilada combo plates and had plenty of food for the price with left overs to enjoy the next day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank snortimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Solid, not spectacular mexican fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Stopped in here on a recent trip with my father and uncle. Mid-week, so not a big crowd. We were seated promptly and our server was attentive.

Standard chips and salsa were brought out. The chips were warm and crisp and the salsa had good flavor, with a bit more heat than most other places I've eaten.

I ordered the chicken fajitas and they were brought out sizzling hot. Good portion size, fair amount of chicken and they had tomatoes in the vegetable mix in addition to the usual onions and peppers. This added a nice flavor.

My dad had the 3 ground beef tacos which he said were "fine" and my uncle's chimichanga lacked crispness.

One downside is that sodas cost $2 and there is no free refill.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yakivegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mazatlan Restaurant also viewed

Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Mazatlan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing