We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cyndi”
Review of Waves of Newport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waves of Newport
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Beware! No AC!!!! It was hard to sleep because the room was so hot! Rooms are less than clean, Not a great way to spend a vacation. This place could really use a remodel!! The Office does not open until 8 am so if your an early riser...No Coffee until 8 AM????? Great town, many better places to stay...:-((((((( Very Disappointed!!!!

Room Tip: There is no AC! My tip Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyndi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

We booked into this hotel having stayed many years ago. We checked into two rooms and when paying asked for the AAA discount only to be told that they don't offer AAA discounts until summer. We checked in on Friday June 21st, the first official day of summer and when challenged we were told that "their" summer starts in July.

We walked into smelly rooms with one toilet running (I adjusted the chain and flapper) and a room with the two beds that didn't have box covers which revealed large stains. There were stains in the carpet and on the chairs. We made a complaint to the desk and due to having a person with physical disabilities we couldn't take the upper floor room, nor could we simply leave at this point. Management offered a $10.00 discount which to me wasn't sufficient but it was a gesture and we took it - we stayed out for as long as possible to avoid the room, leaving the window open.

The noise was terrible. We could hear the tv next door and every footstep above. We could also hear the rush of water every time someone flushed their toilet or took a shower. We were woken at 1.30am by a young child screaming above us, which continued for some time and disturbed us enough to prevent a deep sleep thereafter.

The bathroom is very small and the shower head is very low even for 5'7". The water would turn ice-cold without warning therefore ruining any possibility of a nice relaxing shower.

The breakfast was simple; help yourself to toast, frozen waffles, fruit, boiled eggs etc.

The pool is a nice little feature and there is a sauna though we didn't use it. We also didn't use the hot tub/spa as there was a lot of foam on the surface.

Overall I can see that this is a hotel owned by a family that is trying to make it in a competitive industry. I would think it would be tough to financially keep up with all of the updates and remodels required. The owners seem to be nice people and were run off their feet at breakfast. When we voiced our displeasure at our stay the owner was apologetic, but even the apology wouldn't erase this memory thus we won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to see a room before checking in. I heard upper rooms were updated, though I didn't see one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Our corner room was clean, large with a comfortable bed. There is some view of the ocean but mostly the next door house. Lots of dogs around the area so if you are not a dog lover, be aware. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. Continental breakfast and hot coffee will get you started for a nice day at Nye Beach or walk up to Highway 101. Remember NW 7th to 9th Street does not go straight down to NW Coast St. They are blocked off by a nice patch of green park. So you have to drive down on 10th, 6th or 3rd street. Only 10th street was unpaved at this time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilonina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I had stayed here twice before over the last 10 years. Although I had preferred the motels closer to the beach, I use to come here when I wanted to save some money because the rates were much cheaper than the other motels. This time I chose it because it was only blocks from a bar some friends were performing at. What a huge disappointment. The room was like an oven when we walked in and there was NO AIR CONDITIONING ANYWHERE in the room. We left the one and only window that was adjustable and the room door wide open while we got settled in. We left the window wide open while we took a 45 minute walk on the beach and returned to a HOT, HOT room that even made our foreheads perspire. I brought this to the attention of the management who informed me that "None of the motels in Newport have air conditioning." It was hard to resist informing this woman how wrong she was. I've been going to the Oregon Coast for over 40 years and have stayed at numerous motels in Newport and Lincoln City and Waves of Newport was the ONLY MOTEL THAT DID NOT HAVE AIR CONDITIONING. We were given a small white filthy fan to use and instructed to leave our window open. Duh!!!! The room prices have increased so they are the same as the much nicer motels that are right on the beach with much better views and beach access. The room was small. Carpet badly stained. Bathroom very tiny and mold around the tub base and door was badly shredded on the bottom. I will NEVER STAY HERE again. There are so many much nicer motels on the coast with better views, much nicer rooms, with air condition, at the same price, and much nicer and helpful staff.

Room Tip: This was the only time that I rented a room on the top floor (to get a possible view of the ocean) s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Serendipity797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We paid a little extra to get a corner king room and it was pointless because the extra window looked right into someone else's room! Our motel room was on the 2nd floor, which gave us an ocean view, yet it wasn't as spectacular as some other local hotels which also have ocean views. The room was a little dated but the bed was comfortable. Noise level was also fine. Location is a plus; could walk to Nye Beach area in 5 minutes. Didn't try the breakfast or the pool. I would stay there again but won't bother with a corner room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frosty78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Good view but the screen had a hole about 4 inches in it and we were on the third floor with a two year old who could have fallen if not watched closely. We had a big room and it was very clean. An older motel but worth the money for the view and not a bad location either.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kltice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I read very mixed reviews of this motel, but we went ahead and booked it. Our room was great - clean, very quiet, no odors. The pool area was clean and attractive with towels available. Other reviewers complained about the breakfast, but I thought it was fine. Waffles, bagels, toast, 3 kinds of cereal, 2 kinds of juice, coffee, cocoa, tea, apples, bananas. If you want a fancy hot breakfast, go down the road to the Elizabeth Inn and pay an extra $30 or $40 a night. Waves isn't fancy, but it's close to the Nye Beach restaurants and shops and our room had a nice view, even though the desk clerk called it a "partial view". I think it's a mixed bag with some rooms updated and some not. Just ask for Room 343. We liked it.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor if you want a view. The elevator is creaky but it works and the stairs are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phkadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,097 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.7 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.0 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
894 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves of Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves of Newport

Address: 820 NW Coast St, Newport, OR 97365-3302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: £72 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Waves of Newport 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waves of Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Of Newport Hotel Newport
Waves Hotel Newport
Waves Motel Newport
Waves Of Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing