We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good cheap place to stay”
Review of Waves of Newport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waves of Newport
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A good cheap place to stay”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My husband and I have been to Newport many times over the years. We usually stay at The Waves Motel. It's a bargain with a partial ocean view, breakfast, and an indoor pool and hot tub. That said, our most recent stay in late January 2014 was a disappointment. The elevator in the north building has a salt-rusted door which screeches on opening and closing in a disturbing manner. It makes you want to use the stairs. The carpet in our room was not clean and housekeeping never cleaned the room on the 2nd day of our stay. This motel is not getting the care and cleaning it used to have. Parking close to your room is often a problem on weekend nights. There are a lot of small issues that add up to a poor experience with The Waves. Next June, we will stay somewhere else, as a result of the downhill slide of this motel. The staff is nice, the breakfast is adequate (not great), and the room amenities are just okay. It would not be fun for a long stay, better for one night. Note that the south building is 3 stories high and you must use the stairs. The north building has the elevator, but it needs servicing, so you might consider taking the stairs there as well.

Room Tip: The indoor pool and spa are great. Pack your swim suit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Writergal49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    63
    55
    22
    34
See reviews for
78
89
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed in the newer remodeled rooms on the top floor, with a wonderful view of the ocean. The bluff over looking the beach and waves is a beautiful spot for whale watching, and spying on the fun and frolic on the beach below. Bring a chair, there is no seating, but it's worth it.
Rooms have everything you need, WIFI is free and works well. The owners and staff are friendly and welcoming. Location is wonderful, very close to boutique shopping, galleries, restaurants, bars. The only thing I would recommend they change is the messy window of the laundry room which is visible from the driveway when you check in. Everything else is perfect!

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor for the best views, there is an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SusanPhoenix_Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

PROS:
+ Pet-friendly
+ Ocean view
+ Reasonable price ($78 per night)
+ Spacious room
+ Free WiFi
+ Cable TV, microwave, mini-fridge, and DVD player in room

CONS:
- Worn, aged furnishing
- Faint cigarette smell

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaakin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendleton, Oregon, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were very clean. Great ocean view. Great customer service! Very accommodating. Just a short drive or walk down to Nye beach. Nice swimming pool and hot tub. We will definitely stay again :-)

Room Tip: Stayed on 3rd floor stairs only also stayed on second floor in the elevator section. Great views in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somers Point, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had 3 rooms over the weekend. Although this is not a luxury resort, it was just perfect for us.
This is a sweet family run property. We had a 3rd floor corner room and it was a great unit, Nice views and quiet place. Room was clean and staff was very attentive. Any request was quickly granted. Information about the area is readily available.
Free breakfast varied but was just enough to get going in the morning.Nice Sun porch that we could all gather at.
I like to support small business so for us this place was just right!
We would definitely stay here again! Location is excellent to explore the coast.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a Corner Ocean View Room, it is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had a 3rd. Floor room with unbeatable views of the beach. This hotel was half the price of the one next door yet the room was big, clean and there was a pool and free breakfast.. staff were helpful, honest and funny! For the price it can' be beaten.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamEdwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We were only staying in Newport for one night so we wanted something basic and inexpensive, and this worked out well for us. The rooms are old, but it seemed clean enough. The location was good. Breakfast was mediocre.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RCD17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.6 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,043 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
845 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves of Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves of Newport

Property: Waves of Newport
Address: 820 NW Coast St, Newport, OR 97365-3302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Waves of Newport 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Waves of Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Of Newport Hotel Newport
Waves Hotel Newport
Waves Motel Newport
Waves Of Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing