We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Time”
Review of Waves of Newport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waves of Newport
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My son had paid on-line for the room with a balcony view. We thought. The view was from a closed window on the second floor. There was no close access from the hotel to the beach. The room was old and average. I don't feel that the room was worth the price we paid. The breakfast was unforgettable, and I say that because I can't remember what they offered. I will say that they have an indoor pool, hot tub, and sauna that most places don't have. That was the best part of our stay. We give them a excellent review for that one thing.

Room Tip: second floor on up gives better ocean view
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tray359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Waves of Newport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

I made my reservation on line. The place looked OK and the ratings were soso. All I can is this motel is long past it's prime. Everything is worn and tired. The outside needs paint. The door jambs are scarred. The elevator sounds like it is on its last legs.
I requested a room on the third floor, ocean front. The room is clean but the fixtures, rugs, furniture are showing their age.
The view is OK except for the power pole with a transformer right outside my window.
My suggestion is to spend the extra $ and find a nicer place to stay.

Room Tip: Select another place to stay
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The online picture looked great but is nothing like it! The walls are paper thin. We were woke up at 6am by a crying baby on one side and a dog barking all morning on the other side! You can hear people

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjmdcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in April. The room was clean and spacious.We were disappointed that the beach access was 3 blocks away. We requested a room on the 3rd floor and we had a nice view of the ocean. The bed was not very comfy, but for 1 night, it was ok. The wi-fi worked well. The hotel was busy, but we never had issues with any noises from other guests. We did not eat the breakfast, because we brought our own food. This hotel was fine for 1 night. It needs to be updated, but overall our experience was okay.

Room Tip: If you want an oceanview room, request the 3rd floor.
Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank djbtravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights due to whale watching trips scheduled or would have left after the first night. When we called to make reservations asked clerk on duty about HOT Breakfast and was told that they had a really nice hot breakfast. Well frozen waffles you put in a toaster is not hot breakfast. 3 cold cereals, onion bagels and English muffins does not constitute a really nice hot breakfast. With 2 kids breakfast to start the day is very important and we had to go out for breakfast each morning. Second morning went down at 8:15 to get cream cheese for bagels that we purchased at local store and they said they were out for the day and the breakfast had only been open 15 minutes. If you run out of something go to the store and replace it. When we asked at front desk their attitude was oh well we are out so deal with it after all it is spring break. Knowing it is spring break would make a good manager supply the place with a little extra if they cared whether you the customer was happy. We would never stay here again and would never recommend this place because of the attitude of the front desk. When we went to check out they did not say thank you or how was your stay just took the key and turned around to put it away. Figured they really didn't want to know how our stay was they might have to change something to make it a little like it is advertised. Housekeeping was very good. They did their job and had a smile for you whenever they saw you. Asked for extra pillows and had them in minutes.

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs get a 3rd floor room. Only way to have a view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 942vj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was our first stay at the Waves Motel. It is a little older, not perfect, but clean. It's a 3 block walk to beach access, downhill, to the quaint older area of town. We got a pretty standard looking hotel room with two queen beds, bathroom and a good view of the ocean. The TV worked and had a DVD player, small microwave & mini fridge, as advertised, as well as plenty of towels for our 3 person family. The best part was the newer indoor pool house across the parking lot, perfect for families with younger children. The pool is 3-5 feet deep and the hot tub is 3 feet deep. They do supply towels in the pool house, but they are the smaller bath towels. The continental breakfast had several carb options (eggo waffles, bagels, cereal, etc), but I was happy to see hard boiled eggs available, as well. We did go right around 8am, when the breakfast bar opened. Overall I would recommend it for a 1-2 night stay. Beds were fine. The room had a small corner table with two chairs and a desk with a chair. There were stains on the chair fabric, but like I said, good deal, not exceptional.

Room Tip: There are elevators in the newer buildings but if you need one, request your room be near it otherwi...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NWSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

When we first walked into the office, it made us nervous about our stay to come. It was old, cramped, and smelled of cigarettes. Our website we reserved on, stated check-in was at noon. On the motels website, it stated 3pm. We arrived at 2:45 and our room wasn't ready yet. They told us to "walk around" for 30 min. This was fustrating with an infant & young kiddo in tow, who were both cranky from our long drive.
The room was OKAY. Outdated, small tv, remote didn't work, uncomfortable beds, and you can hear the people in the rooms next to you and above you. It stated partial view, but the main view was a building. The shower was not good. I am 5'3" and the shower head height was okay, but for my 6' husband-NO! He had to duck down to get any water. The hot water took 2 minutes to reach our room, and then it would continually fluctuate from lukewarm to scalding. Horrible for a kiddo. Room/Maid service was Great! We stayed two nights and put our tag on the door for them to clean/refresh the room, and it was cleaned and restocked when we got back 3 hours later!
Continental breakfast was a major disappointment. Frozen waffles, English muffins, bagels, hard boiled eggs, three cereal choices. They could have invested a few more dollars and made it awesome. Coffee was good. Extremely limited seating.
The pool, hot tub and sauna were the best part!!! New and updated. Just wish they had done the same for the eating area and rooms.

This motel has great potential to be awesome, if they invested more.

Room Tip: Pick an end room, so there is less noise. Pick 3rd floor, so you will get a good view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandD M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.6 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,056 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
872 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,857 reviews
1.5 mi away
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
#13 of 24 in Newport
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves of Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves of Newport

Address: 820 NW Coast St, Newport, OR 97365-3302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: £78 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Waves of Newport 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Waves of Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Of Newport Hotel Newport
Waves Hotel Newport
Waves Motel Newport
Waves Of Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing