We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zoned Out Server”

Rogue Ales Bayfront Public House
Ranked #21 of 111 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Description: Rogue Ales Public House, originally named the Bayfront Brewery, was established in May of 1989. Rogue brewed its Ales within the Bayfront Brewery until 1992, when "Howard", the 15 barrel brew system was carried across the Newport Bay to the current location. The old brewery was converted into a poolroom which the locals call the Crustacean Stacean. Outside seating and 35 taps
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
240 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Zoned Out Server”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stopped at Rogue for lunch. Chowder was good, but cold in the middle, waited 20 minutes for the server to come back to heat it up. The onion rings were disappointing. Expensive at $8.50 for a small basket, they were left nearly untouched. The Reuben sandwich was the best thing we ordered. Very tasty and a nice size. Our server seemed to be zoned out when she actually came to the table. She had trouble remembering which beer my son ordered, asked 3 times before she finally brought his drink. She offered to refill my long empty water glass when she brought the bill. We wanted to inquire about some of the merchandise available at the front of the store, but no one ever came to the counter to help us, server had disappeared the minute we paid. Not nearly as good as it used to be :-(

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    185
    117
    43
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Limited Wine”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We have visited Rogue a number of times over the years and have watched it decline.

First they removed the video lottery. We like the distilled spirits but they limit other brands other than theirs. They hsve a limited wine selection, I guess they have missed that trend. The quality of the food has declined. I had the tacos and the meat was luke warm.

The service was okay, our waiter however was a bit condescending. When I asked for Chardonnay he informed us that they are a brewery, as in the name, and distillery, they carry a very limited wine selection.

The feel of the placed has changed, this was our last visit to the Rogue Brewery

Helpful?
Thank Pamela-and-Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
“They had me at Beer”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was our first time visiting the brewhouse and it won't be our last. We did not take the tour this time but we will next.

We stopped just to get a beer and ended up tasting some yummy brews and having some fabulous food.

The service was excellent, very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SScott1035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Suprisingly great seafood!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

You have to try the Ceviche. It had excellent flavor, fresh crab, shrimp and tuna. The perfect amount of jalapeno for flavor and a little kick. It's the best I've ever had. The restaurant was very busy so the food came out a little slower than some people liked. However the service was excellent, we were well taken care of with very friendly staff. The rest of our dinners were excellent, the Kobe burger was fantastic.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
246 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Rogue Pub”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The food here is delicious. I had the macaroni and cheese made from Tillamook cheese. The atmosphere is fun. The service was very good. You get plenty of food and the prices are not bad.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rogue Ales Bayfront Public House also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Rogue Ales Bayfront Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing