We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The feshest roasted Oysteers in the world!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mo's Restaurant

Mo's Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 109 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The feshest roasted Oysteers in the world!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The freshest, largest, west coast oysters that were grilled to perfection, that I have ever tasted!!!!! Accompanied by a simple cabbage salad, the oysters tasted of a briny sea and were just great! Skip the clam chowder and order the oysters. Service was slow but the staff was nice and friendly

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    214
    177
    90
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Heard great things but it was just mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Said they were known for their clam chowder but it was a little bland and my daughters hamburger looked so gross. I would say the food was just ok. The restaurant atmosphere is not much to speak of either.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aimee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, NV
Level Contributor
186 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great Clam Chowder!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stopped in as we were walking thru old town Newport and enjoyed a bowl of their famous clam chowder....one of the best we've ever had! We also enjoyed some Halibut fish and chips....nice atmosphere, clean restaurant, friendly staff and moderately priced - would absolutely recommend!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beave8920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food is Just OK.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were seated immediately. Not very comfortable seating. Every seat has a nice view of the bay. We ordered clam chowder and fish and chips. The clam chowder needed more seasoning, a little bland, good but not great. The fish and chips were a little bland and had too much breading. Service was very slow. They forgot about us and we finally asked for our food. The server was very apologetic and then she returned immediately with our food. She was very busy, so we were understanding. Not sure I would go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravel9009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texarkana, Arkansas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average...food was good but nothing special.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband is a huge clam chowder lover, thus the reason for our visit. I liked it, he thought it was good but nothing special. The restaurant was clean, the waitress was friendly but very busy!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug_71854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mo's Restaurant also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Mo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing