We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best clam chowder”
Review of Mo's Annex

Mo's Annex
Ranked #25 of 110 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“best clam chowder”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

There not lieing when they say worlds best clam chowder. We liked it so much we ate two night s in a row. The price is good for fresh seafood and your on the pier by the ocean. Service was amazing

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank montanagirl1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    77
    35
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun to watch the fish come in and be cleaned on the dock.”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This review is from August, 2013, when I brought a couple of teens in for a birthday meal. We sat in the window overlooking the docks which they enjoyed. Many big fish came in that day, so we enjoyed our time for that alone as we had someone from outside the area along who found this rather unique. Food was good, some basic chowder and sandwiches. Dessert was delicious. Service was mediocre.

I'm writing this review in part because we ate at the Mo's restaurant across the street today and found that the food and service was better in this location, even worth missing out on the fish docks unless visitors are along who would like having that experience and the water view, which does often include seals.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oregonbasedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
583 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Great clam chowder and slumgullion”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Great service - fast & friendly, great food at a reasonable price, neat as a pin. What more can you ask for? This is the kind of place I will go back to again and again.

Mo's has lots of locations. This is the one in old Newport right on the water.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OutdoorBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Re-Review”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Last December I wrote a review about how disappointed I was in Mo's. Having grown up eating there, the food and service had gone downhill for quite awhile. I sent an email to them describing my bad experience. Ms. Macantee answered my email and then sent me a $25 gift certificate and a request to try it again. Well as with all gift certificates I get, I usually lose them. This was no exception. Anyway, I have now gone back 4-5 times and couldn't be happier. Food seems to back up to the old standards and so is the service. If you have given up on the place or any of the Mo's on the Oregon coast, I would give them another try. I'm sure glad we did.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cusinario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food, decor, not so exciting”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Been here three times in the last couple months. Love the food and prices...chowder is YUM, fish tacos very good, their house cabbage salad is interesting and delicious. No complaints from any friends on anything we have eaten. Decor is out of the 60s, diner style...maybe its part of the personality. Service is always excellent, which will bring me back again. They have some super yummy desserts, we go there just for the berry crisp! If you visit the coast, you really have to check out Mo's. :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mo's Annex also viewed

Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Mo's Annex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing