We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ambiance plus creative and well-prepared food”
Review of Zach's Bistro

Zach's Bistro
Ranked #20 of 112 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kodiak
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent ambiance plus creative and well-prepared food”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had not read any reviews about Zach's, and stopped here on a late weekend night because it was open and seemed promising for a more than average bite of dinner. As a party of 4 well-travelled and dined individuals, we were very impressed with the creative menu, the food presentation and the taste! The clam chowder was one of the best, the crab cakes were full of crab and flavor and the salads fresh (I had never eaten heritage spinach before). The desserts were a perfect finish to a well-presented and timed dinner. We are so happy we came and recommend this restaurant highly!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oceanKodiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    21
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“DIning with Friends....Enjoy Fabulous Fresh Cuisine”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Dine in a small unique setting with antique furniture by visiting Zach's Bistro. The menu offered a wonderful variety of creative fresh entrees. The Oregon wine selection for 1/2 bottles was excellent. As usual, the king salmon was delicious. Crab cakes were very tasty, and the creamy chowder used fresh ingredients without being too rich. Also, if you still have room for dessert, be sure to order! Creme brûlée was excellent. Homemade french vanilla ice cream topped with your favorite fresh berries or homemade chocolate sauce was savored by our party. However, the chocolate tart was the voted the favorite. When in Newport, find Zach's to enjoy a delightful meal that will not disappoint anyone.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelfan527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We had a great breakfast here; game sausage themed menu. We ate on the "patio," sunny nook off of the main dining area. Service was good, if a bit slow.

My husband had the restaurant's own original Bloody Mary, which was a bit weird. Mimosas are just what you'd expect.

But we enjoyed our food and the ambiance of the restaurant. We will return to try out the "themed Thursdays," for dinner; a different cuisine each month.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Meh... Wildly slow service. Average food.”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Well... Somethings never change. This location used to be the old "Panache" location, and although the interior is quite nice ( antique tables ) the food is still just average. I give the new owner a lot of credit for trying really hard, but we were there over Valentines weekend, and he was wildly understaffed. My wife and I waited more than 45 minutes to be served. The food was average, and was nothing more that I could do with a hotplate and a few simple ingredients.

In all fairness, we will give thee folks a second chance, because they were busy and obviously understaffed. But I hope they can impress us next time.. otherwise it will be permanently off the list.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stopped at Zach's for an early supper and were thrilled with the ambience, service, food quality, and wine menu. This cafe is an elegant alternative for lunch or dinner or brunch. The food ingredients were fresh and flavorful. The presentation was lovely. Zach's minds the attention to detail and you get an unforgetable, happy dining expereince as a result. Love this place!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Writergal49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zach's Bistro also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Zach's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing