We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All worries were washed away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Victorian
Ranked #5 of 7 Newport B&B and Inns
jackson, wy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All worries were washed away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

My wife and I looked at many places - decided to come here for the third floor suite. It was booked and we were talked into the cottage on the property. Are we ever happy the suite was booked. It is a cottage filled with plants and books and antiques - feels like your own place while you are staying. The food is incredible and having a kitchen to cook our own meals was also a plus. The ocean is a half a block away - you can see it from the front porch and living room. We sat and sipped wine and listened to Mozart and watched the waves come in. Great place to loose all your worries and stress. So happy we came here!!!

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tornportraits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    5
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
32
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2009

The Bed and Breakfast is comfortably furnished with antiques, giving the home an old world feel. Eileen and Terry the owners are friendly and really make you feel welcome. We stayed in the suite on the 3rd floor. The sitting area was comfortable there is door leading out to a small balcony where you can see the ocean. The bathroom has a jacuzzi tub and a shower, there was plenty of room for my husband and I to maneuver about in the morning. The king size bed was great and we slept soundly listening to the surf in the distance. Great food and fantastic service. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jattfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

The Grand Victorian B&B is probably the finest place to stay along the Oregon Coast. When you arrive , Eileen and Terry greet you as dear friends, such wonderful hospitality. We had a beautiful room with a view of the Pacific and with the window just opened a little we were able to enjoy the sound of the breaking surf less than a block away. The interior is done with some beautiful antique Victorian era furnishings. Breakfast is served in the dining room surrounded by some old family antiques. Eileen served us a wonderful cheese tray and tea upon our arrival and then the next morning she prepared a delicious full English breakfast. We lived in England for ten years and this was as good as the best the Brits serve. The home is exceptionally clean, the bed was super comfortable and the bathroom a Victorian -modern - delight. We hope to return next summer. It is just the right place for a family or a person on a business trip who does not want to have to find a restaurant the next morning before his work. The Chowder Bowl, a short walk away, serves the best clam chowder and fish dinners we have had on the Oregon coast. These two establishments are a the best reason to visit Newport along the two great historical lighthouses.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nagaeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

We had a fantastic stay in the suite, which is the entire top floor--very private for a bed and breakfast. The suite includes a king-size bed, sitting area, walk-in-closet, and large private bath with two sinks, jacuzzi tub and large shower. We had a beautiful view of the ocean from our bathroom window and balcony.
The place is very clean--guests are even asked to remove their shoes when entering.
The breakfasts were delicious and filling. We loved the farm-fresh eggs and organic produce.
Our innkeepers were also very good at recommending local restaurants and attractions. The Grand Victorian is within walking distance of all sorts of great little shops and restaurants in the Nye Beach area, and very close to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enjoyingthejourney5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stillwater, minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2008

The Innkeepers were great people with gracious and generous hearts; the breakfast was huge and delicious; The innkeepers also provide you with a choice of hors doeuvres and dessert; their recommendations for lunch and dinner were great; and Eileen sent us on our way with bottles of water and a bag of homemade cookies.

We had the middle priced room, on the second floor in the back with the ocean view. It was kindly offered to us after Eileen determined it was late enough in the day to warrant that she wasn’t likely to rent it and we could have it as a free upgrade. That was very nice too. But unfortunately the bed was very uncomfortable for both my wife and I. Though my wife is more particular I usually can sleep on most beds without a fuss but this one was something else.

A peek of the third floor room was incredible: spacious, king size bed, Victorian parlor area within the room, large bath with a Jacuzzi tub with an ocean view.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattludt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2006

we had a great stay at the grand victorian. The home is beautiful and close to the beach. The hostess was a bundle of energy, she had great appetizers on our arrival and served a delicious breakfast. She was ver knowledgeable on local information.

  • Liked — charm of the home
  • Disliked — na
  • Tips/Secrets — plan ahead
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jackmartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2006

The Grand Victorian has much to reommend it. It is a lovely property a few blocks from Nye Beach in Newport. The owners are friendly, competent and accomodating, serving appetizers (shrimp cocktail, smoked salmon, etc.) when you arrive; home baked desserts every evening, and one of the largest breakfasts of any B & B we've experienced. Several of the rooms we saw there were just lovely, however the room we rented, the Sir Charles Room had quite a bit of street noise and needs redecorating (the comforter on the bed looks old and tired, and clashes with a large painting on the wall.) If you can avoid this room and go for one of the others, you will have a great experience!

  • Liked — The enthusiasm of the owners as new B and B people
  • Disliked — The decorating in the Sir Charles Room
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid this room and take one of the others
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jhgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.4 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Victorian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Victorian

Property: The Grand Victorian
Address: 105 NW Coast St, Newport, OR 97365-3758
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Grand Victorian Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing