We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Breakfast”
Review of Shilo Restaurant

Shilo Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Shilo Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 115 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$34
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: There is nothing better than the combination of great food, excellent service and convenience! The Shilo Restaurant and full service bar are located across from the Hotel Lobby. We serve a variety of Northwest favorites along with a wide-range selection of classic American dishes your whole family will enjoy. Walk-ins are always welcome, but feel free to make a reservation.
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Nothing fancy, but I like my breakfast that way. I had bacon, eggs, and a biscuit. My husband had the biscuits and gravy and enjoyed it as well.

Thank BWoo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear BW00084,

Thank you for commenting on your recent visit to our beautiful ocean view cafe. I sincerely appreciate your taking time to provide valuable feedback. I am happy to see that we took good care of you during your visit and that you appreciated our breakfast selection. We hope to see you again in the future.

Lisa Archer
Director of Food and Beverage
Shilo Inn
538 SW Elizabeth ST
Newport OR 97365

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 274 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Checked into Shilo after a very long day on the road Mike at the front desk checked me in, he was a very pleasantly happy and cheerful person. Dinned in the restaurant for dinner and cocktails April was my server, service was efficient and flawless. Thank you to all that treated me like I was right at home

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank derrick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Derrick D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. I’m very happy to know that our service meets your approval and it is for guests like you that make us strive toward excellent service and delicious food. Again … Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Lisa Archer
Director of Food and Beverage
Shilo Inn
538 SW Elizabeth ST
Newport OR 97365

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I've had the pleasure of dining here several times. Being a hotel restaurant I think it tends to get overlooked by town vacationers unless they are staying at the Shilo Inn next door, but this place really deserves a personality of its own. I vote to rename it to SHILOUETTES, a dining experience with a great view! :) Really, the unobstructed ocean view with the large windows is a major plus. Combine that with the wonderful and warm personalities of the staff (kudos to Tarra and Bruce for making every visit memorable), and a menu with something for everyone with fair prices, and you have yourself a dining gem of Newport. There's also beach access stairs right next to the building which is convenient for an after dinner stroll. I definitely recommend this place, and will be back again and again! :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Amy S,

Thank you for the review and your frequent visits. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed Tarra and Bruce. They are definitely two lovely, caring people that strive for guest satisfaction. We enjoy our view and are really glad you had the opportunity to walk the gorgeous beach in front of the restaurant.

Thank you again for the kind review and your patronage. We will look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Newport.

Lisa Archer
Director of Food and Beverage
Shilo Inn
538 SW Elizabeth ST
Newport OR 97365

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at the Shilo Inn and were given vouchers for $3 off our breakfast and their restaurant. We had a table by the window to enjoy the fabulous view. I think the decor of the restaurant may have been a bit ordinary but to be honest with a view like the one we had, we hardly noticed. I had the crab and shrimp omelet and it was delicious. My sister had eggs benedict and said it was very good - not the best she's ever had but good. Our server Sandra was very friendly and took good care of us! Overall our experience here was great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bellesgaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Bellegasa,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your breakfast with us. Sandra is a joy to work with and a favorite with our guests. I will make sure she sees your praise.
The view here is phenomenal, and the changes in the weather this time of year creates an ever changing landscape. I enjoy it everyday, and hope you will return soon. The winter storms are fabulous.

Sincerely,

Lisa Archer
Director of Food and Beverage
Shilo Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Whilst travelling in America I came across this amazing restaurant!
It was recommended to me by some locals, and it didn't disappoint.

The inside was nice, but to be honest I spent most of my time looking out the window, the restaurant has a stunning view.
I had the Parm Crusted Halibut, and it was SO good! I'm not even that into fish, but that was simply delicious! I'd travel back just for that meal.

My server was April (I remember because my niece is called that), she was really friendly and recommended the Halibut. I never felt rushed and was able to sit back enjoy the food and the view.
If I'm back in that part of the world, I'd certainly go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank GWScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear GWScotland,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed both the food and April’s service. Hopefully you will have the opportunity to return to our part of the world!

Lisa Archer
Director of Food and Beverage
Shilo Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shilo Restaurant also viewed

Newport, Oregon Coast
 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Shilo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing