We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shilo Restaurant

Shilo Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 108 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, View
Dining options: After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: There is nothing better than the combination of great food, excellent service and convenience! The Shilo Restaurant and full service bar are located across from the Hotel Lobby. We serve a variety of Northwest favorites along with a wide-range selection of classic American dishes your whole family will enjoy. Walk-ins are always welcome, but feel free to make a reservation.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Lovely view of the ocean to dine by. Tasty meal. Friendly staff. The meal was hampered by slow service. Since it wasn't busy I'm not sure why it took FOREVER to get my food, but it did. I will try again next time I'm in town just to see if it was just a bad day for my server...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BusinessKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
BusinessKelly,

Thank you for commenting on our view, tasty meal and friendly staff. We greatly apologize for the delay in your meal service and promise your next visit will exceed you expectations. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank You,

Lisa Archer
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    84
    38
    11
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sequim, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“View to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

The wall of windows on the Pacific Ocean and the sunsets is unparalled anywhere. The food was delicious and the lemon drop was exquisite. Our waitress Chelsea was lovely and attentive. All entities came together for two wonderful beautiful evenings and we will return every evening until the end of our vacation. It has become our favorite location in Newport. A must do!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Assistant Director of Restaurant Operations at Shilo Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Shari H,

We are so happy to hear you had such an enjoyable experienced during your recent visit to our Newport Restaurant. While we can’t take credit for the amazing view, we are so glad you enjoyed it! Your kind words about the food, drinks and service are greatly appreciated. I will be sure to thank Chelsea for her excellent service and the entire Newport team for their commitment to excellence!

Again, thank you for your feedback and taking the time to write this review. We look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future!

Thank you,

Laura Acton
Assistant Director
Restaurant Operations
503-440-9675
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Oregon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thanksgiving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

I took my family to the Shilo for the Thanksgiving buffet. It was wonderful! Great spread, and the carver on the line was very classy! Our server was Saundra, and she was top notch! Very friendly, great smile! Can't wait for the next buffet!

Helpful?
1 Thank 12stringmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
12stringmama,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your Thanksgiving dining experience. Offering a great view and exceptional service is our goal with every guest and it is rewarding to hear your valued feedback. I will definitely make sure Saundra and Matt see your lovely compliments. Thank you again for dining with us and I look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Lisa Archer
Director of Food and Beverage
Shilo Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GREAT BREAKFAST”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

been coming here for about 3 years they have a daily special which we have had but the real treat is the waiter the only draw back is the only go tell 11:00am besure if in Newport to take the time and try the food oh by the way the view is the best!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandral342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Sandral 342,

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on our wonderful staff, our beautiful view and our tasty food. I know our hours have changed and some of our guests miss our staying open later, but we will extend our hours for the summer.

Lisa Archer
Director of Food and Beverage
Shilo Inn
538 SW Elizabeth ST
Newport OR 97365
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
1 review
“Excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I have eaten here twice, and this is now our go-to restaurant when we visit Newport. We are among many with food allergies and the wait staff and kitchen not only do their best to accommodate us they go out of their way to ensure the food we eat is safe.

The food isn't fancy, but knowing there's a restaurant we can trust is a huge relief.

The staff is wonderful and the view is stunning. Can't beat an early morning breakfast here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank O D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear OD,

Thank you for joining us for breakfast during your time in Newport. It is great to hear that you came more than once. It is very important to us to accommodate any food allergies our guests may have. Thank you for the great review and I will be sure to pass your compliments on to our staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Lisa Archer
Director of Food and Beverage
Shilo Inn
538 SW Elizabeth ST
Newport OR 97365
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shilo Restaurant also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Shilo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing