We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising Find”
Review of Anchor Pier Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anchor Pier Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Newport B&B and Inns
SeaTac, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Surprising Find”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

So, we are traveling the coast and deciding where to stay each night depending on where we are. Stop in Newport to get lunch, pick up a freeby brochure about Newport and see an ad for the Anchor Pier Lodge
,. Look on tripadvisor and see it gets rave reviews, but someone mentioned getting resers 6 months before. I call and, yes, they have a room. It is the one with no bay view but a view of the neighborhood. OK, sounds okay for $95 and depending on the few Tripadvisor reviews I saw.

We drive down the touristy Bay Blvd and using Google Map we drive by and still don't see the hotel. The picture in the brochure shows a building with windows and what looks like a hill with greenery behind it. What we finally saw was a tourist shop with a red awning and above it a banner with Anchor Pier on it. Oh, yeah, by this time I had already reserved the room with the understanding that their were no refunds for cancellations without 2 weeks notice.

My husband immediately said, I am not impressed. We find parking on the street down from the building. Walk around looking for something that says Anchor Pier, go into the tourist shop and find out that it is also the check in desk!

After finally getting into the room, we were very happy to find that it was a lovely room, nicely decorated, large, with a high, comfy bed. We wer on the street side with a view of the "Historic Barge Inn Tavern." But what the hell, it was entertaining.

So, it would have been nice to be on the Bay side but we were able to see the tavern bring in a trailer with a BBQ and crab cookers. Excited that it might be a crab feed, we headed over. It was an oyster fest instead, but it was still good and cheap!

The biggest complaint, while it didn't make me wish we were elsewhere, was the fact that the room needed to be dusted, Big Time. I am sure during the winter/spring months this room doesn't get rented often, but, give me a break. I was able to run my finger on the furniture for an inch or so and get a big coating of dust on my finger! Shame, shame.

Overall, happy with everything for a last minute, seat of your pants, decision!

Room Tip: Try to get the bay view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

What a place! After camping on the coast for years we finally had a chance to stay here. We made reservations 6 months in advance. The room was as god as any we have stayed in anywhere. The room was clean and the furnishings were awsome. The staff were very nice and accomodating. I will be back the next time we will be back in Newport.

Room Tip: The bar accross the street serves an awsome hamburger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oldestpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed for two nights. Our room had a balcony that opened to a beautiful harbor view with lovely sea lions. Tasha and the rest of the crew were outstanding and friendly Happy 25th to the Rogue Nation and I hope the staff enjoyed the goodies we left.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

What a hidden jem. After staying in Newport several times i must say what a score. We stayed in the "surferdude room" and loved it. the ambiance is amazing. Sea lions boats wow, all added to the experience.
Thank you crew for an amazing stay at a wonderful place. I would have no hesitation recommending this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Echo1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Newport is a quaint seaside town. It has two canneries. Tuna was the catch of the day along with crabs. We arrived early so our room wasn't quite ready but that was ok. We walked up and down Bay Blvd and did a little shopping. We were not accustomed to the fishy smells coming from the canneries but we got used to it soon enough. We stayed in the Surfer Dude room. It was really nice. The bathroom sink sits on top of a surf board. It was unique. The room was large and had a king bed and whirlpool tub overlooking the pier. Our balcony overlooked the Marine Discovery Tour boat. The boat tour was fun except the ocean was quite choppy that day so we didn't see any whales. Nye Beach is a sister city only 5 minutes away that had nice shops and restaurants as well. We strolled in the park by the Yaquina Bay lighthouse and enjoyed some beautiful sunsets under the Newport bridge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manofintegrity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baghdad, Iraq
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Was visiting Newport with my new fiance and stumbled on this little gem late in the afternoon. Needed to a place to stay and didn't want to have to drive after a meal and a couple of ales. So booked in to the Anchor Pier. The girl at reception was ever so helpful and couldn't stress o us enough about the sea lion noise that may keep us awake at night. Earplugs were supplied The viw from our room was magnificent. Above the wharf with excellent views of the harbor and everyday life that revolves around Newport's fishing industry. Bars and diners right across the road. Everything we needed was readily on hand. Did mention the earplugs for the sea lions? We go the surfer room and it was o for orsom. After meal at nearby Mo's, we retired to bed and yes the sea lions did keep us awake. I didn't bother me as I was just stoked about being there a I had just moved to Oregon from New Zealand. Anyway, morning comes and me and my girl were laughing about he noise and I lent over to run the spa bath and discovered a small window semi hidden by a plant. It ad a bit of a breeze blowing through so decided to close it. All this time the sound of the sea lions, fishing boats etc were filling the room. As soon as the window was closed, you could have heard a pin drop. Open it again and it sounded like the whole world was in your room. A lesson learnt that kept coming back to haunt me on the drive back to Medford thanks to my girl. All that side, Anchor Pier was just what were after. Totally loved it.

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing the water. Don't forget the earplugs or the closing the small window by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doyleskinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitecourt, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We were lucky to stumble upon the Anchor Pier lodge on Trip Advisor when we pulled into Newport and needed a place to stay. What an amazing view! The rooms are brilliantly decorated! We stayed in the Captain's room the first night, and the Ocean's Edge the second night when we decided to extend our stay. Both were gorgeous and clean, with comfy beds. The rooms were a little warm, and take note that the sea lions outside the balcony door don't stop barking for more than 30 seconds at a time 24 hours a day. But the rooms come equipped with "white noise" sound machines to help drown out the barking (which starts out to be adorable and turns into a major annoyance by the second day). The staff were absolutely delightful to deal with and we would stay here again in a heartbeat. Loved the location, only a 30 minute walk across the bridge to the aquarium, and past the Rogue Brewery. Also within walking distance are the docks, which were interesting to stroll at night, and many pubs and restaurants. Easy access to the highway.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WndrwmnDiver O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorPierTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Anchor Pier Lodge, responded to this review, 9 January 2017
Thanks so very much for your review! We love to showcase our authentic slice of the real Oregon Coast, with some major pampering... flickering fireplaces, soaking tubs & decks with panoramic views! You're right - we share the neighborhood with a sometimes boisterous herd of male Sea Lions (except from June to Mid-August when they head for the females in Cali!). Our team gets pumped to share the "best" - sea life cruises, local seafood to hiking trail maps. Hope to see you back, this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
2.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.6 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.8 mi away
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
#13 of 24 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Pier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Pier Lodge

Property: Anchor Pier Lodge
Address: 345 SW Bay Blvd, Newport, OR 97365-4509
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal themed suites welcome you with luxury linens and the most comfortable pillow top mattresses we could find! Enjoy fireplaces; spa tubs; spacious balconies; organic coffee & bathing products - all in a non-smoking, squeaky clean atmosphere of relaxation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anchor Pier Hotel Newport
Anchor Pier Lodge Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing