We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Very Best Italian Food!”

Green Gables Italian Cafe
Ranked #79 of 111 Restaurants in Newport
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Woodland, Washington, United States
1 review
“The Very Best Italian Food!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My husband and I found this little cafe' on the last evening of our short stay in Newport. If we had found it earlier we would have eaten every meal thereafter right there.
The ambiance is that of an authentic Italian eatery with an added feel of a comfortable coffee shop. The owners and staff are very pleasant and the food is absolutely outstanding!
We completely enjoyed the meatballs with polenta as an appetizer and the sausage and spinach cannelloni as our entree. I ordered the ranch jalapeño salad dressing and it was delicious. The bread, also, was very satisfying.
As soon as we arrived home from Newport, being so satisfied, we decided to write a review, which is something we don't usually do. In first reading the previous reviews I couldn't help notice the negative ones. I am completely appalled that anyone could be so rude as to give the negative reviews that were given to this wonderful little restaurant. There is not a negative thing about this place and I cannot fathom that these negative things really happened. If they did, as no one is perfect, I do believe that the kind owners that we met would have made it right.
The prices were great for that good of a meal. If you want a cheap meal go to a fast food place.
Please don't allow any negative reviews from rude people rob you of the wonderful experience and good food that Green Gables Italian Cafe' has to offer. YAY to the hard working women who made it happen and thank you, girls for the most wonderful Italian dinner ever!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hope M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    4
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The evening we stopped in, the food was so good and portions very generous. The topper was that they had a duo playing and singing and made us feel that at the moment we were as close as we could get to New Orleans. They were very good and made the evening just that much more fun.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ushie_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Eat in a B&B,used book store, bakery and Italian cafe at the same time”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stumbled on this find the last time we were in Newport. On Wednesdays they have all the spaghetti you can eat for $6.50 including salad and garlic bread. Meatballs are 2 for $4.50. It is some the best spaghetti We have had ever eaten. We each had 1 meatball which are the best meatballs we have eaten. They are worth paying extra.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMinnville, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

very good food. The canelloni, lasagna, fresh bread, and diner salads with house vinegrette were amazing and fresh. The coffee and tiramasu were also top notch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah Cameron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Who Burned the Sauce?”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The staff here is friendly and the atmosphere underground and eclectic. We were told by a staff member while grocery shopping "it's much better than Olive Garden". Having heard not so pleasant things about it in the past we decided to give it a try. I ordered spaghetti. The sauce was actually burned - like it had been reheated over and over. My husband got lasagna and said it was like chewing leather. Didn't take a doggie bag and couldn't wait to get out of there. The owner may be a New York City Italian but she needs to learn to cook.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank molokaimama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Gables Italian Cafe also viewed

Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Green Gables Italian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing