We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tops on the mid-coast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
“Tops on the mid-coast”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We live in Corvallis and love our occasional mini-vacations up and down the coast. Over the decades, we found most B&B's more than satisfactory, but Ocean House and its new owners - Dawn and Craig - are the absolute tops. The rooms are all surprisingly unique, both in architecture and in decor. We especially the liked the spacious and comfortable sitting area and views, the comfortable bed and the truly gourmet breakfast that greeted us in the morning. Instead of trying out new places, we plan on coming to Ocean House and nowhere else in the future.

Room Tip: All had incredible views and if our bed was typical, the bed was more than comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    22
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
225
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Graeagle, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stumbled upon this B&B when driving around Newport. We arrived, unannounced, and the owner immediately invited us in and offered us accommodations. He also took the time to give us a tour of the house, and we can only describe the rooms as incredibly beautiful. The rooms at the top of the house appear to have nice ocean views, not really what we would describe as ocean-front, but looking over a stunning garden and trees for a great partial ocean view. The owners identified that they were new to the B&B, and we noticed a few growing pains (we fully expect the B&B and the hosts to just get better). Only disappointment was not the B&B but the beach...we took a beautiful walk down to the beach to find that we could only access a very small strip of land. We could look across the rapidly flowing stream to see miles of beautiful beach but the only way to access that was to drive into Newport.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimnCaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanhousebb, Owner at Ocean House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
We are very happy when we have made our guests satisfied with their stay. Unfortunatly, when Mother Nature has other plans, we can accomodate only so much and then we offer alternate plans. The beaches of Oregon are gorgous but left completely natural so that means when there are coastal flows from the mountains they find their way to the ocean unobstructed. Luckily this is seasonal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springfield or
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed at the Ocean House once again, in December of 2011, and were thrilled that the new innkeepers were even more accommodating and friendly than the last. Every room is unique with its own charm. This time we stayed in the Sea Rose room, our favorite, so far. We think it has the best view along with the most wonderful sun room that was so cozy, especially while watching the amazing sunset over the ocean and late at night spotting the crab boats at sea. We are looking forward to another stay in the Sea Rose, hopefully, during a big storm to really enjoy the glassed in area.

Our breakfast was simply as good as it gets, with a perfectly prepared Crab Benedict. (It pays to go during crabbing season.) And the always available wine and fresh-baked cookies are terrific. We are hoping the new innkeepers have the recipe for the wonderful Ranger Cookies we enjoyed their in the past.

We have always hesitated to stay in B & B type inns because we really like our privacy. The Ocean House gives you as much privacy as you like along with a lovely living room where we enjoyed curling up in comfy leather furniture in front of the fireplace and beautiful Christmas tree. I could really see this as a great place for friends and family to stay.

We are already planning our next stay there…

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We found this B&B on the internet. The mid-week winter special was a great deal so we decided we'd reserve a room for 2 nights. After reserving the room with the owner and holding it with a credit card, we received a call from him that he'd made a mistake. The room he'd given us was already taken as were the other 2 rooms with the best value (probably a new owner's honest mistake). He felt bad, apologized and was very gracious in offering us an upgrade to a much larger room with a better view, king bed and jacuzzi tub for the same price as the one we orginally wanted. We had a wonderful 2 night stay with a delicious gourmet breakfast each morning. The accomodations were very comfortable including fluffy, soft, white towels, spa robe, piped in music to our room, complimentary wine, coffee, tea and just out of the oven homebaked cookies upon our arrival. We'd highly recommend it for individuals or for a couples romantic get-away. They don't accept pets and it's not suitable for children. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
2.7 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,018 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
2.1 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,710 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agate Beach Motel
Agate Beach Motel
#1 of 24 in Newport
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ocean House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4920 NW Woody Way, Newport, OR 97365-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean House Bed & Breakfast in Newport Oregon offers spectacular ocean views of the Oregon coast from every room. Each guest room features a fireplace and private bath (Three rooms have two person whirlpool tubs; one room has a standard whirlpool tub). A short walk takes you through our gardens to miles of beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean House Hotel Newport
Ocean House b&b
Ocean House Bed And Breakfast Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing