We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Sanctuary”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Welcoming, friendly hosts, and excellent breakfasts. The rooms are private & quiet, clean & modern, and the bed & breakfast provides great views of the ocean. In room gas fireplaces are cozy, a warming touch, and the living room welcomes guests to linger and visit. The outdoor patio is a good spot for photo taking and ocean watching. Great cookies, too!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marilynns_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed in the Windswept room - comfortable, clean, and beautiful view from our bedroom window. We kept the windows open at night and could hear the ocean, fantastic. The wine and fresh baked cookies were always a treat after an adventurous day out. The breakfast was outstanding, presented with class and very tasty! The last morning my husband was trying to figure out a way to stay "just one more day"! We stayed Thursday-Sunday in March. Next time we will make a point of visiting during whale migration, however, we did see a mama whale and her baby while on a whale watching adventure! The awe of God's work is incredible!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just_1_More_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed one night in the Pacific Breezes room and could not have found a better location for me and my girlfriend. Both of us were blown away by the ocean views and the pristine and nearly deserted beach a mere 100 ft from our doorstep. Also thought Dawn and Craig were great hosts who gave us great suggestions for where to eat in Newport and for what to see/do when driving up the coast to Seaside, OR.

Definitely looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NotSoLocalYokel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Ocean House May 2013. The location is on the north end of Newport with a glorious view of the ocean from all sitting areas and our room. This was our first visit to Oregon and the Ocean House was a fabulous choice to experience the beauty and power of the ocean as well as allow day trips to sights along the coast. The freshly prepared gourmet breakfasts were delicious - and the other guests were such a delight to talk to - one evening we stayed up talking to another couple around the living room fireplace. We purchased the S'mores package and utilized the new firepit for our special treat - the goodies were presented so wonderfully in a basket with fire supplies and skewers - it made for a romantic review of times past! Dawn and Craig were so helpful and accommodating in so many ways: information on the recent history of the area and the house, recommendations for dining that were exactly as they described and allowed us to make appropriate choices, slickers and umbrellas for rainy days, excellent complimentary wine, special arrangements for an excellently prepared breakfast when we needed to make an early start to our day.
We stayed in The SandCastle room and the cool weather allowed us to use the fireplace in the room each evening and morning - with a cup of early coffee prepared prior to breakfast, or a glass of wine in the evening. The fine quality bed linens in the very comfortable four poster bed were wonderful. We recommend the Ocean House for an excellent B&B experience !!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Two couples spent a super overnight at Ocean House at the end of April 2013. The location was amazing - views of the pacific, the quiet side of Newport, steps down to the beach. The breakfast and coffee were delicious. The bed linens were high quality as was the decor and room decor of the B&B. Craig gave us tips on places for dinner - Local Ocean was just as good as he reported. We plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The Ocean House has the perfect location on the north end of Newport with great views of the Pacific Ocean. The owners were wonderful and the breakfast was scrumptious. This is the place to stay when you want a place in Newport.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck_Gloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Our stay at Ocean House was marvelous - the perfect venue for a romantic retreat. There was only one other couple in the house during our mid-week stay in early April, so we had the house pretty much to ourselves.

The home is located a ways off the main highway at the end of a private drive, with no traffic and very little road noise from the highway. It is a peaceful setting with beautiful garden paths to wander freely, and a couple of small decks - one with a firepit - for enjoying the sights and sounds of the ocean view. Private access to the beach below allowed us to take a leisurely stroll along the shore, without getting in the car.

Our room, The Sandcastle, was spacious, with cozy wingback chairs for reading by the fireplace, an oh, so comfortalble four poster bed, and a private balcony with table, chairs and an ocean view. The large bathroom included a shower, a two-person Jacuzzi tub, and spa robes.

The entire home was tastefully and simply decorated - not with the gaudy Victorian furnishings often found in B&B's. The hospitality was outstanding. The owners were warm and friendly; there if needed, but otherwise, transparent. There were two common areas - a small, cozy sitting room with large window view of the ocean and a large living room with sofas around a fireplace; a wall of windows opening to a large patio (chairs included) overlooking the garden, trees and ocean below; a window seat alcove with table for enjoying a morning cup of coffee, and a spotting scope and binoculars for surveying the ocean view. A convenient parking garage was easily accessed through a private entrance off the dining area.

Breakfast was served, promptly, in an intimate nook, again with a view of the ocean. The meals were homecooked and excellent both days of our stay. In addition to breakfast, there was complimentary wine available to enjoy, at our leisure as well as an assortment of hot drinks, sodas, popcorn, and homemade cookies.. There was a small refrigerator on the floor near our room and a microwave oven in the eating area for our use.

Though the house is well kept and clean, it could benefit from a little TLC. The balcony off our room was in need of a good washing and a new coat of paint. Attention to this type of detail could transform an excellent B&B into extraordinary! Never-the-less, we will certainly stay at the Ocean House on our next trip up the Oregon coast.

Room Tip: Although our room was at the side of the house, away from the ocean view, we could see the ocean out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
2.7 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,078 reviews
2.1 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
884 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,900 reviews
9.9 mi away
Inn at Arch Rock
Inn at Arch Rock
#3 of 7 in Depoe Bay
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4920 NW Woody Way, Newport, OR 97365-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £121 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean House Bed & Breakfast in Newport Oregon offers spectacular ocean views of the Oregon coast from every room. Each guest room features a fireplace and private bath (Three rooms have two person whirlpool tubs; one room has a standard whirlpool tub). A short walk takes you through our gardens to miles of beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean House b&b
Ocean House Hotel Newport
Ocean House Bed And Breakfast Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing