We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Coastal Retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The Ocean House exceeded our expectations and then some and it was everything that their web site advertised. We stayed in the White Caps room which has a gorgeous view of the front garden and ocean. We moved to the Far East room due to availability which is quiet and private and is located in another wing of the house. Dawn and Craig do a fantastic job from the outstanding hospitality to delicious breakfasts to providing excellent recommendations to local restaurants and attractions. We stayed here four nights and had a different breakfast each morning and enjoyed our coffee in the front garden overlooking the ocean. What a great way to start your day! Thank you Dawn and Craig for making our vacation so special. Until our next visit....K&R

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious with comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishSteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanhousebb, Owner at Ocean House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

It is so nice to hear that so many of you enjoy our retreat. We consistently try to improve our meals with fresh ingredients; our rooms with new cleaning methods and comfort; and our building and grounds with constant upkeep. Thank you all for your support as we upgrade this fabulous get away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

We were looking forward to staying at the Ocean House B&B in Newport, Oregon, and although our expectations were high, the Ocean House actually exceeded them. Our room was named "White Caps," and in addition to being large and accommodating, it provided us with a great view of the Pacific Ocean. The first night we stayed at the Ocean House was on the cool side, and we enjoyed flicking a switch and starting the fireplace in our room. There was a nice deck behind the Ocean House were we could relax and enjoy looking out over the Pacific, and a wooden staircase led down to the beach. Parking spaces were provided behind the B&B so I felt good about parking the car on the property. Breakfast was especially good the second morning when Craig served us Eggs Benedict. The owners also had complimentary red and white wine available for their guests, and the usual amenities such as early morning coffee.

Room Tip: We splurged and stayed in "White Caps," which probably was the best room at the Ocean Hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

First the pluses:
The views are incredible. A different type of view from each room through a few high coastal pines 60 to 80 feet above the beach- that adds interest to the expansive beach- the gardens offer more diverse views and the full panorama from the fire pit deck- The rooms were well sized, plenty of space in front of the fireplace and a full glass front view of the ocean.
We left feeling we had developed a friendship with the owners, Dawn and Craig, they are open and honest and strive to put out the best product, make it as pleasurable as possible for the guests and want to continue to upgrade the property.
The stream that has been mentioned is 6 inches deep, not very fast and traversing it each morning to walk the beach led to a lot of laughter between my wife and me. It is a actually something you will find endearing when you leave.
As mentioned, plenty of choices on coffee, free wine, cookies in the afternoon and very fresh, well rounded breakfasts. We loved our room, plenty of space, and the common areas were comfortable and inviting.
The minus: We had to leave. We will schedule another trip to Oregon just to stay at this incredible B&B!

Room Tip: The room with the sunroom! Great views, can open all the awning windows for the sounds of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The property really is as beautiful as the website photos. It is located 80 feet above the beach and is secluded enough to help you forget that tacky Route 101 awaits 1/10 mile from its entrance. The owners ( Craig and Dawn) were very accommodating. We'd give the inn five stars if it weren't for the breakfasts. Thumbs up to the Bananas a la Creme, thumbs down to the scrambled eggs and lemon poppy seed pancakes (they were chewy and lukewarm). My partner thought the Eggs Benedict were passable. Thanks to the hosts for making a special granola and fruit breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdm8360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

What a wonderful location on the Oregon Coast.
Arrived a little early and availed ourselves of touring the gardens and beach.
Stunning views all around!
Had the Pacific Breezes room just off the sitting room, very comfortable and had it's own verandah.
Only problem being when other visitors returned in the evening it was a little noisy.
Dawn and Craig are wonderful hosts and did everything to make our stay comfortable.
Gave great recommendations for dinner and routes further south for our trip down the coast.
Will recommend and visit again when in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Ocean House B&B and our room had a spectacular view. It was clean and had all the amenities that you could possibly think of. Dawn and Craig are very thoughtful and even had snacks and wine for the guest to have while visiting. We had to leave very early in the morning and would not be able to enjoy the wonderful breakfast that Dawn offered us. Instead she made us a egg breakfast sandwich to go! You will enjoy this wonderful vacation spot which is right on the beach!

Room Tip: Plan to stay longer! Once we got to there we wished we had more time to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarrieJernigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay. A little north of town, but convenient to the lighthouse and to the sights north. Very well thought through in every detail. Good parking (even with bikes on the roof), and just a short walk down to the ocean. Breakfasts were unique and quite tasty. The room was clean, comfortable and had a nice selection of reading material. Local and regional wines were also available for a nightcap. Fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glennzippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
2.7 mi away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
2.1 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
897 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,812 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,952 reviews
9.9 mi away
Inn at Arch Rock
Inn at Arch Rock
#3 of 7 in Depoe Bay
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4920 NW Woody Way, Newport, OR 97365-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: £119 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean House Bed & Breakfast in Newport Oregon offers spectacular ocean views of the Oregon coast from every room. Each guest room features a fireplace and private bath (Three rooms have two person whirlpool tubs; one room has a standard whirlpool tub). A short walk takes you through our gardens to miles of beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean House Hotel Newport
Ocean House b&b
Ocean House Bed And Breakfast Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing