We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we could have stayed longer.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Merrimack, NH
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer.”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Husband and i only stayed one night as we were seeing the coast and then to the airport. Not the easiest access to the beach, but it is right there! Walked for hours. Took their advice for seafood dinner on the wharf! Great! Another guest asked the onwer to build a fire in the pit on the deck. When we got back from dinner, just added a few more logs and had our own private fire in the fog! Had requested a picnic to take with us the next day. They were a little put out to have to put into baggies and plastic containers, but was just what we needed. Snacked at Cape Lookout further north. Great hosts, really comfy bed and pillows, good breakfasy, wine open all night! Mo and George

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhadamsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    21
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
221
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I was very impressed with the Ocean House Bed & Breakfast. Not only was this B&B right on the beach but is so well-kept, modern and has king-size tempur-pedic beds. AND they have wine for the taking in the “lounge” along with fresh home-made cookies baked from scratch each day. This B&B is very well-priced for what is included and the pristine location. It’s about 3-miles from the center of Newport. I’m not sure how I lucked-out getting the last available room on a Saturday night but for that I am thankful. Thank you Craig and Dawn! I'll definitly be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Like other reviewers we regret not staying longer. Ocean House is lovely, just steps from the beach, and convenient to every attraction in Newport. Our second floor room was spacious and modern, with beautiful appointments, including a large master bath and fireplace. Our windows looked out to the beach, which is accessible via a private path owned by the B&B. The mostly native garden leading to the path is beautiful, and has a private lookout where one can lounge, sip wine and enjoy the ocean views. Breakfasts are gourmet and filling. Host Craig will see to your every need. He's a hoot to talk with. Craig suggested several restaurants and attractions, which were all wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at Ocean House, and our only regret was that our schedule did not permit us to stay more than one night. The location of the B&B, high on a cliff overlooking the ocean and the headland on which a lighthouse is situated, could not be more beautiful. There is a lovely, well-tended garden just in back of the house where you can sit and enjoy the view and stairs that lead down to the beach. The windows of the B&B's large common room bring the outdoors into the building. The room we stayed in was large, comfortable, spotlessly clean, and well-appointed. What made the visit special, however, was the welcoming and friendly attitude of the proprietress, who did everything she could to make our stay a pleasant one. We recommend Ocean House without reservation to anyone travellling in the vicinity.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
218 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at the Ocean House while visiting Newport for my husband's birthday. We stayed in the Whitecaps room and the view was absolutely amazing. I loved sleeping with the windows open and hearing the sound of the ocean. It has a huge tub, if you enjoy baths. The property is in a great spot but beware, those visiting from out of town, there is very often fog in the mornings so you might not get great views until the sun burns it off. They have great outdoor seating to sip on coffee while you read the paper or a good book. You can also walk down a path and set of stairs to get to the shore, if you'd like a morning stroll or jog on the beach. I'd definitely recommend doing that!!!

Their breakfast was the best breakfast I have ever been served at a B&B and I've stayed at quite a few. The other guests were all very friendly and it made for an enjoyable experience. I'd stay here again if I were driving through. They also offered a military discount, which was a welcome surprise.

Room Tip: For good views, white cap is an excellent choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Ocean House B & B. The entire experience was delightful. The beach view was lovely, and the gardens were lovely - we had a great picnic on one of the decks overlooking the ocean. The breakfasts were fantastic - plentiful and delicious. Craig made great recommendations for daily excursions as well as local restaurants. Having the ocean a short walk down the hill was really nice - we could take long walks very easily. Everything that we needed was available including beach towels, flashlights, raincoats and umbrellas! The rooms are lovely and clean and bathrooms nice as well. We would definitely recommend this B & B to anyone looking for a place to stay in the Newport area.

Room Tip: Be sure to choose a room with a beach view - it was fantastic to wake up to see the ocean.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling containers available! They have some sort of Green award - and seem very concerned about keeping things "green".
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoobooRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I wish every place I stay at was this nice with such great service. We stayed in the cheapest room and it had a lot of space, a great view, and an extremely comfortable bed. The breakfast was wonderful and the company was interesting. You won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
1.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
2.1 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
2.7 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 5 in Depoe Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ocean House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4920 NW Woody Way, Newport, OR 97365-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean House Bed & Breakfast in Newport Oregon offers spectacular ocean views of the Oregon coast from every room. Each guest room features a fireplace and private bath (Three rooms have two person whirlpool tubs; one room has a standard whirlpool tub). A short walk takes you through our gardens to miles of beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean House b&b
Ocean House Hotel Newport
Ocean House Bed And Breakfast Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing