We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even Better Than It Was Before”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Washington, USA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Even Better Than It Was Before”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We have stayed at the Ocean House Bed & Breakfast several times before over the years, and have always enjoyed our stay here. However, since Dawn and Craig have taken over, Ocean House has become EVEN BETTER.

Now the whole house feels warmer, more welcoming. Moving in some of their personal furnishings has helped create that warmth. All the upgrades Dawn and Craig have done are absolutely beautiful. We especially loved the beautiful, new, glassed in deck with the built in fire pit. You can watch the ocean at night without freezing to death now.

We make sure to stay in a different room every time we visit. This time we chose the Sandcastle which is very spacious with its own deck. The bed was wonderful. We did not want to get up except there was no way we were going to skip breakfast. We've never been disappointed no matter which room we've chosen.

The breakfasts Dawn prepared were stupendous! The Crème Brulee French Toast was to die for. (I desperately want the recipe.) The other thing we really appreciated was being asked how we liked our eggs benedict. I like my hard, while my husband likes his the traditional way. Dawn was able to accommodate me without a problem, and her eggs benedict were the best I've ever had.

It was especially hard to leave this time. And we know that our little secret B&B will no longer be the best kept secret on the coast. That's ok though, because Dawn and Craig deserve it because they work very hard each and every day here and it shows. We just hope we can get a room next time!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful. Just pick a theme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen_Angie4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    23
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
230
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

As my wife and I have progressed on our retirement "Great Western Adventure" we spent the night at The Ocean House Bed and Breakfast. This B&B is landscaped beautifully and sits about 80' above the ocean giving you fantastic views - it is just a short walk down the stairs right to the beach. We stayed in the "Windswept" room which gave us a large "picture window" view of the ocean and beach. The host Craig and Dawn were very nice, and we were given a complete tour of this B&B before shown our beautiful room. They offer free soft drinks and wine, cookies, popcorn, to enhance your pleasure while sitting in the room or on one of the beautiful decks. As of this writing we have not experienced the breakfast yet, but if everything is as what we have experienced so far I am sure it will be great. The only little complaint we had is we wish they would serve breakfast earlier than 9:00am. If you are traveling (and have miles to cover) it gives you too late of a start.
We would however highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: The "Windswept" gives you excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanhousebb, Owner at Ocean House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We thank all of our guests for the great responses and enjoyment of our Inn. We have always had a policy for our guests to request what ever they need. This includes early breakfast. We have done many of them for the guests on the go. We cannot help if we do not know. Happy your stay was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zillah, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My wife and I stayed only one night at the Ocean House B&B, but only because that's all the time we had. It is truly a beautiful place with wonderful rooms, overlooking the beach. The only problem was on the day we were there it was too foggy to really see the ocean. We had a great halibut dinner at Georgie's in town, highly recommended also.

Room Tip: I'm sure most of the rooms have a good view, but we were in the Sea Rose room with a great sitti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrimack, NH
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Husband and i only stayed one night as we were seeing the coast and then to the airport. Not the easiest access to the beach, but it is right there! Walked for hours. Took their advice for seafood dinner on the wharf! Great! Another guest asked the onwer to build a fire in the pit on the deck. When we got back from dinner, just added a few more logs and had our own private fire in the fog! Had requested a picnic to take with us the next day. They were a little put out to have to put into baggies and plastic containers, but was just what we needed. Snacked at Cape Lookout further north. Great hosts, really comfy bed and pillows, good breakfasy, wine open all night! Mo and George

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhadamsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I was very impressed with the Ocean House Bed & Breakfast. Not only was this B&B right on the beach but is so well-kept, modern and has king-size tempur-pedic beds. AND they have wine for the taking in the “lounge” along with fresh home-made cookies baked from scratch each day. This B&B is very well-priced for what is included and the pristine location. It’s about 3-miles from the center of Newport. I’m not sure how I lucked-out getting the last available room on a Saturday night but for that I am thankful. Thank you Craig and Dawn! I'll definitly be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Like other reviewers we regret not staying longer. Ocean House is lovely, just steps from the beach, and convenient to every attraction in Newport. Our second floor room was spacious and modern, with beautiful appointments, including a large master bath and fireplace. Our windows looked out to the beach, which is accessible via a private path owned by the B&B. The mostly native garden leading to the path is beautiful, and has a private lookout where one can lounge, sip wine and enjoy the ocean views. Breakfasts are gourmet and filling. Host Craig will see to your every need. He's a hoot to talk with. Craig suggested several restaurants and attractions, which were all wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at Ocean House, and our only regret was that our schedule did not permit us to stay more than one night. The location of the B&B, high on a cliff overlooking the ocean and the headland on which a lighthouse is situated, could not be more beautiful. There is a lovely, well-tended garden just in back of the house where you can sit and enjoy the view and stairs that lead down to the beach. The windows of the B&B's large common room bring the outdoors into the building. The room we stayed in was large, comfortable, spotlessly clean, and well-appointed. What made the visit special, however, was the welcoming and friendly attitude of the proprietress, who did everything she could to make our stay a pleasant one. We recommend Ocean House without reservation to anyone travellling in the vicinity.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
2.7 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,045 reviews
2.1 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
848 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,804 reviews
9.9 mi away
Inn at Arch Rock
Inn at Arch Rock
#2 of 7 in Depoe Bay
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ocean House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4920 NW Woody Way, Newport, OR 97365-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean House Bed & Breakfast in Newport Oregon offers spectacular ocean views of the Oregon coast from every room. Each guest room features a fireplace and private bath (Three rooms have two person whirlpool tubs; one room has a standard whirlpool tub). A short walk takes you through our gardens to miles of beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean House Hotel Newport
Ocean House b&b
Ocean House Bed And Breakfast Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing