We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting! And then charged us for a room that we never used!”
Review of Sylvia Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sylvia Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Looked great on line. We're not overly discriminating when it comes to accommodation, but unless you're a hobo or used to sleeping in a halfway house, stay away from the Sylvia Beach.

Arrived with our three children in early July, and the first thing that we noticed when parking outside were the cracked and filthy windows - more reminiscent of an inner city tenement building than a charming hotel. Alarm bells were going off before even entering the lobby.

Once inside, the odour of mildew and decay was overpowering. The six foot tall cat scratching post at the top of the first floor stairs caused further concern, and once we were in the worn and dirty rooms, the decision was quick and easy - might have slept there after a night of binge drinking when we were in university, but would never ask our kids to sleep there. Doors didn't lock, and the sinister cat that used the monstrous cat scratching post had yet to be sighted.

Fled for the Holiday Inn Express, and the kids summed it up once we were safely in the car - "Thank You!".

Saddest part - politely explained that the rooms weren't what had been described or depicted on line, and got home to discover that the hotel has tried to charge us $350 for rooms that we never stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank StrathFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Fell in love with it online and was prepared to be delighted! Lobby was disorganized with boxes of produced stacked up and things were messy . Desk staff was not professional. Balcony off lobby was not accessible as it brings a strong breeze into the gift shop and blows away the merchandise. Dinner took 2 hours and 45 min.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momma1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I'm glad to have stayed at this hotel for one night. We stayed at the Shakespeare Room which is on the second floor (no lift) and one has to stand really close to the window to see the ocean. The whole feel of the hotel is that of somebody's book loving spinster aunt... Lots of thrift store chatskis associated with literary figures. Our room was smallish but adequate, queen bed was comfortable. No Tv, no wifi. Breakfast included in the price of the room was delicious and filling. Many ocean front lodgings on the Coast have better rooms at the same price range. Unique to this hotel is the dining arrangement-- you can dine alone or you can share a table with other guests. As this hotel attracts the literary types, conversation is interesting. I quite enjoyed my dining companions. What are the odds of meeting a stranger who can follow a reference to the Lost Generation? The food was delish and reasonably priced. Service was a bit harried. In short, there are better valued lodgings elsewhere, but if you are the book type, you'll love the guests and the quirkiness of this place. Or you can just come for dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poggibonzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have been coming to the Sylvia Beach for over twenty years and love returning to its charm every time. The updates over the last few years are lovely as well. If you are looking for TV, Internet and room service, this isn't the place, but if you are looking for a charming, sweet, quiet retreat on a wonderful beach, look no further. Every room is unique, so take your time browsing. I prefer the rooms on the third floor for good views and ease of access to the coffee in the morning and the hot wine in the evening. F. Scott is our favorite best seller, end of the hall, large and view of the ocean from the bed. And on a splurge, love Twain as a classic, bathtub, wood burning fireplace, private deck. Staff is always friendly, breakfast always has many choices, dinner always entertaining. Be prepared to talk to your fellow guests, as all tables seat 8 people and dinner is served family style. Just be forewarned that once you find this little gem, you will want to return. Again. And again. And again. Hope I am able to keep coming for the next twenty years.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Don't let the "No TV, no WIFI, no phones" stop you from giving the Sylvia Beach a try. Each room here is designed after a famous author. We stayed in the Agatha Christie room, with adirondack chairs facing the ocean. In the five years we have been married, I think this is the only night we have been "unplugged." We played Scrabble and it was fun even though Tom won all three games (don't tell anyone!). This is an older hotel that has been maintained to reflect its history, so don't expect modern facilities. It is interesting and comfortable - I could have slept all day! The staff is awesome and the shared-table meals made for a chance to get to know people we would never have met otherwise - something Tom and I really enjoy doing! This was a wonderful experience and was on my bucket list. Now going back for another stay is on the list!

Room Tip: Ask to face the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomJoHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My youngest daughter and I spend one April weekend every year at Sylvia Beach Hotel, enjoying the quiet surroundings and inspiring views. The hotel staff is awesome, intent on making the guests' stay the very best. Its not for everyone, since there are no TV's, room phones or Wi-Fi. Every room is styled after a different author, and updated every so often. We just stayed in the new Steinbeck room as we work our way through all the authors. Leave little kids and pets with grandma, and hide out at Sylvia Beach Hotel. Oh, and the breakfasts are sublime!

Room Tip: There's no elevator, and the old building has steep stairs. There are nice rooms available on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ava W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We first saw this 100 year old hotel on a previous visit to Newport several years ago and took the time then to explore, thinking we might want to stay here sometime in the future. We had a very enjoyable stay here. The rooms are named and decorated for a literary author. We had the Mark Twain room for two nights, with an amazing view, overlooking the Pacific Ocean, where we sat and watched the waves crash into the beach. Other rooms were Dr. Seuss, J.K. Rowling, and Jules Vern etc. Our room had a wood burning fireplace which we took advantage of our 2nd night. The third floor is called the library, complete with wood burning fireplace, sofas and chairs that can be set at the windows to read your book or to watch the waves on a stormy afternoon and of course a selection of books. Coffee & tea are provided in an adjoining room and breakfast was included each morning. Room rates are not cheap, but the overall experience justifies the cost in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ocean view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank E N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,078 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
884 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Beach Hotel

Address: 267 N.W. Cliff St, Newport, OR 97365
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £38 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely bed and breakfast where each room is designed after a certain author. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Sylvia Beach
Sylvia Beach Newport
Sylvia Beach Hotel Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing