We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good week, but further "disconnected" than planned”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My wife and I spent a week in a 1 bedroom suite with a view overlooking the boats in the harbor in a tourist "off-week" - a week in mid-March. I'll divide this up between the good, the okay, and the bad. I finish up with thoughts on the area.
THE GOOD
It's apparent the owners are upgrading the place and I was pleased with the upgrade. It felt much like many of the newer vacation rentals we've stayed in previously. They were in the process of upgrading other rooms while we were there. In March, heat is a big deal, and the electric fireplace did an excellent job of taking off the late winter chill. The view of the harbor is very pretty. The bed was large and comfortable, and even though the bedroom was on the parking lot side of the building, was quiet until about 7:30 or 8.
THE OKAY
We ate in the restaurant the first night we were there, and the food was very good. We were the only ones in the place (can you say "off-season?") so the service was attentive. A visit on our last night was down a notch. The pool area is indoors and very popular with the kids. That can be good news or bad news depending on if you're traveling with kids. Two heated spas are open to the sky and sitting in a hot tub in a light sprinkle is wonderful. Watch out for the hand rails to the spas, they wobbled.Because of the season, we went to the pool dressed and changed in the changing room. There is no storage for your clothes or valuables. I think there are some places in the pool area, but they are not monitored. The exercise room had only paper towels for cleaning off equipment. They were disinfectant towels, so that helped things a bit.
THE BAD
The wireless internet connection was... sad. While the signal was adequate, the download rate was straight out of the 1990's... early 1990's. Additionally, the hotel is in a wireless telephone "challenged" area. We traveled with the intent of doing a little work in the morning before going off to play. We ended up spending time at Starbucks. We're used to vacation rentals that supply numerous barbecues. This place had one, and it was dirty. We avoided it, but others were all too happy to use it. On a nice day, the grill is a great place to hang out, but since we were there in late winter, the grill area was mostly wet and windy. I'm sure those traveling in August will have a different experience.
THE AREA
Our biggest challenge was finding enough days to eat at all the great places. Local Ocean Seafoods was always crowded, even when other restaurants along the bay were vacant. Fresh seafood was abundant all along the bay area. The hotel describes itself as within walking distance of these restaurants. That's stretching things a bit.

Room Tip: Building C is on the harbor and close to the spa, pool and exercise room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 60878Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey V, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

60878Jack,

Thank you for reviewing our property, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for bringing the cleanliness of the BBQs I have passed this on to our Housekeeping Dept. so other guests do not experience this problem in the future. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Newport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

My wife and I stayed at Embardadero in a 1 bedroom suite the 3rd week of March 2013. We are Vacation Internationale owners. We had a great stay, and would return to this resort anytime. Even though the VI check-in is off-site - it was no problem, and the VI and Embardadero staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the location of the resort too - being an easy walk into historic newport, to beaches, and the Yaquina Bay lighthouse. Resort amenities were also great - with pool, hot tub, and crabbing dock.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey V, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Andrew P,

Than you for your feedback, we appreciate your business and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We anxiously await your return to the Embarcadero in Newport! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Checked into my hotel. Went to my room and found that is resembled that of a halfway house or rescue mission. The furnishings were beyond old. Meaning the couch had holes (VERY LARGE HOLES), the lamp had holes (not to mention it was circa 1960) The bed linens were stiff and the comforter was clumpy like it had been around for a long long time. Its not like you sleep with them anyhow, but still, for 90 bucks a night you would think the quality would be higher. Along with the couch and lamp having holes in them, the carpet which was a light blue, had bleach stains, it looked like they tried to "cover up" the bleach stains and actually sprayed bleach around the room to make it look "ty-dye-ish". The furniture itself was a bunch of Goodwill rejections. The dresser and "tv stand" (not really a tv stand, but being used as one) had the finish worn off so much that I got a splinter when I slid my hand across the top of the dresser. The bathroom was old, but tolerable except for the grout peeling off and showing the mold behind it - yuk. After driving 2 1/2 hours with my 3 year old to get to this hotel I decided to try the pool and have some fun since the room was so disappointing. Yea right..... there were no towels, there were 2 teenagers sitting on each others laps giggling, so I am sure the hot tub was then out of commission (well at least in my book), so, I went to the lobby to ask for some pool towels. The guy at the desk with coke bottle glasses said, "that is all we have", I told him there were only 2 towels in the room, could I have some extra room towels and he said they did not have anymore. WTF!!!!!!!!!! I then told the clerk that I wanted to cancel my reservation that I was disappointed with my room and with the service (and this all happened within 15-20 minutes of check-in). He told me "OK, if you are not satisfied", I asked if he had charged my card and he raised his hands up and rubbed/washed them together and said that he did not, come to find out they already pre-authorized my card and it will now take 3-5 business days to remove. I am not much of a complainer, but I worked really hard to pay for this trip and my 3 year old that was very much looking forward to this trip as well. What a terrible experience. I can't believe this place is open and that people are actually going to stay here! Word of advice, DONT DO IT! For the price you pay, you can absolutely find a better, cleaner, friendlier, less teenage porn type hotel. Like we did after leaving this place. The Hallmark, while under construction was only 20 bucks more, clean and sanitary, quiet and the staff was friendly and very kind to my little one. Moral of this story is SAVE YOUR MONEY, SAVE YOUR HYGENE, SAVE YOUR NERVES and go SOMEWHERE ELSE!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. You will get a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 3Jobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey V, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear 3jobes,

I appreciate you taking the time to review our property. I am extremely sorry for the condition of your room. I have personally toured the unit in response to your comments and we are working hard to upgrade this unit. I do apologize, I would like to mention we are now under new management and units in the condition you described have no place in our hotel. Please contact me directly at 541-265-8138 or at Jeffrey@embarcadero-resort.com I would like to make this right for you. What you experienced during your stay is inexcusable and not up to our usual standards. I look forward to hearing from you and having the opportunity to correct this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

This is an older fairly well kept resort in Newport, Oregon. Good location and it is close to the bay front area. Rooms are good, comfortable with fairly good kitchens. The views are of the bay and not the ocean which is somewhat of drawback, but that worked for us. The weather was terrific and as we had sunshine all day and very little wind. We enjoyed our stay and would go back again.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are quieter and you can hear people walking above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jimbab66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey V, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Jimbab66,

Thank you for the review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy the gorgeous bay view from your view. As you pointed out, one of the advantages of staying at a bay view resort versus an oceanfront resort is the lack of wind we experience here. We appreciate your business and we eagerly look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Upon arrival at the Embarcadero we were told we needed to check-in at an offsite location. Once we found the office, we were an hour early and could not check in until 4:00. We proceeded to the grocery store for our supplies for the five day stay. The five day stay consisted of pouring rain and cooler temperatures. The room had a really nice view of the bay and the bridge. The windows needed to be replaced there was some condensation between the panes which didn't allow for a clear view. The rooms were clean and well stocked and some updates had been done. My only complaints were the steep and slippery stairs to get to the unit and the office informed us we had WiFi but we couldn't ever get a connection.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tesstamonial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey V, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Tesstamonial,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. I am sorry about the weather during your stay, but we do have an amazing view for storm watching, as I am sure you found. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We booked a room in December and was told we were "upgraded to a new room". The room was very tiny but it had that new smell about it. The bed had new bedding that was so slipery you slid off when trying to sit on the bed. The bed was so high we had to get a chair for a boost up. The t.v. was in an awkward place and the picture was snowy. The teeny kitchen was well stocked and nicely decorated. The view was partly blocked by the other condos but was nice.

Room Tip: maybe a larger room would have been nicer. We stayed in the L section. Try to stay in the ones close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vickey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey V, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Vicky S,

Thank you for reviewing our resort. I am sorry for the inconvenience of the new product in many of our recently remodeled rooms. We do appreciate the feedback. I will make sure to pass on to the owner your concerns with the bed height and the quality of the TV picture. I would like to mention that we do have 1 bedroom suites on site that are far more spacious than the loft room I suspect you stayed in. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

The Embarcadero's condo units are owned by a variety of entities, which (I believe) affects the quality of the unit and overall experience. Hubby and I stayed in a refurbished timeshare unit under the Vacation Internationale (VI) umbrella. Nicely done tilework, kitchen/bath cabinetry and fixtures. Not all was good, however. The BR lacked a dresser. The bed was creaky and felt like it was old. The pillows were lumpy and wimpy. The kitchen did not have some basic utensils. A few windows had not been upgraded, and were opaque with constantly dripping condensation, and had moss growing on the outside.

A main problem for us was the disconnect with the resort's onsite front desk. VI guests have to check in/out at a strip mall location .8 miles from the resort. The VI staff said they were there because they believed they could provide better service to guests. But they only work business hours. So when I discovered that half the lightbulbs in the kitchen were burned out, and that we were missing a pillow, the onsite resort front desk said I would have to wait until the next day and talk to VI offsite. Not what I call good customer service!

Some reviewers have complained about the fact that the Embarcadero isn't oceanfront. Very true, so it is a bit more than a mile to get to a beach. But the Embarcadero's view of the Bay is really nice, especially with sunsets framed by the iconic bridge. Every unit in the resort has a great view of the bay.

We happened to be in the unit with the same number as the local area code, so we kept getting phone calls from people who didn't realize that they had to dial 9 to get an outside line. Unplugging the phone took care of that annoying problem.

Thanksgiving week at the resort came with the "bonus" of a major storm, with high winds and buckets of rain. But it was also sunny and calm on the beach on Thanksgiving Day. So it's hard to know the best time of the year to go. It's quite peaceful, though, no matter when you're there.

Room Tip: They all have great views of the bay. Choices are dictated by the entity renting out the unit. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ForReality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey V, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

ForReality,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I have discussed your concerns with Vacation Internationale's General Manager and it appears we have corrected the issues in response to your comments. We appreciate the feedback and the opportunity to ensure future guests do not share the same concerns. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.3 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,099 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
894 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarcadero Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarcadero Resort Hotel

Address: 1000 SE Bay Blvd, Newport, OR 97365-4201
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: £92 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Embarcadero Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Yaquina Bay in Newport Oregon - every well appointed guestroom has a Million Dollar view of beautiful Yaquina Bay. Full Service Hotel - with Restaurant, Lounge, Indoor Salt Water Pool and Spa, Crab Boat Dock and Boat Rentals, 4000 Square Feet of flexible Meeting Space with Full Service Catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Embarcadero Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embarcadero Resort Newport
Embarcadero Hotel Newport
Embarcadero Newport Oregon
Embarcadero Resort Hotel Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing