We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room Assignment Is Everything” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embarcadero Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
128 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Room Assignment Is Everything”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We love the Embarcadero - less this time than the last, but we will still go back. The difference is in the room assignments. The Embarcadero is being remodeled room by room. If you get a new room that is great - a worn room, not so great, and old room - oof.
This time we got a worn room in section H. It was still comfortable, but not as nice as one of the newer rooms right on the bay. The view in H is also not as nice.
The cleaning staff is also different based on the room. Ours was ok at best. Turns out they get paid by the room so there is an incentive to go quickly and not spend time on the fine details. This is really too bad. Also turns out that the comforters are not changed every time the linens are - ours had hair on it from the last guest, or perhaps last several guests. When we moved a living area chair there was popcorn on the floor - who knows how long that had been there.
When you stay in a vacation rental you expect to do some cleaning and such yourself during your stay, just not on the first night. Once we touched it up it was very comfortable.
The pool was warm and the hot tubs were not too hot.
The location is perfect for local access and for day-tripping.
This is a nice, comfortable place to stay - just hope for one of the newer rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey V, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear Robert S,

We appreciate your feedback and continued patronage, it is unfortunate that some of our unit owners have hired outside cleaning personnel to maintain their guest rooms, our units are each owned by different owners and some choose to outsource their cleaning to companies that pay their employees by the room. This is not the Embarcadero's policy, our housekeeping staff are caring professionals who work diligently to ensure each and every room is given the time and attention necessary to meet our standards. I strongly encourage you to contact the resort directly next time you wish to visit at 541-265-8521 or feel free to email me directly at Jeff@Embarcadero-resort.com. Thank you for taking the time to review our resort, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    155
    84
    59
    47
See reviews for
156
222
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed in the Sunset by the bay unit. It was a 1 bedroom unit with a Murphy bed and a hideabed in the Living Room. It was a nicely updated unit with very nice furniture and decorating. We were right on the bay with wonderful views. This unit had a flat screen TV in Living and in the Bedroom and a fireplace and also a jetted tub in the bathroom. It had a full kitchen that was stocked with most items you would need for your stay. Beds were very comfortable including the Murphy Bed( we did not use the hideabed). The bed in the Bedroom did have a low footboard and our friends said they ran into it quite a few times with their knees. Some muffled noise from the unit above us, but it wasn't too bad. We noticed a few small items missing from the room and put them on a list and the cleaning staff made sure theses things were taken care of. I do have to state that most the units we saw had quite a few stairs getting to the entry doors. A little more work for anyone having physical challenges with stairs. They did have quite a few rules, but this was a condo resort. Front Desk staff were very helpful. They do have an onsite restaraunt, but we didn't use it. They also have private boat docks and private fish/crab cleaning areas with ares for crab cooking. We didn't use these either since we used the charter fishing services for this. I'm sure all units are different since some are privately owned but we were very impressed with this unit. Right on the bayfront and close to all activities on the bayfront. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey V, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Hello Laura P,

I am happy to hear you had such wonderful experience at our resort. We appreciate the kind feedback and are thrilled to hear you were able to enjoy some of our many on-site amenities. I am glad our dedicated staff were able to quickly resolve the issue of the items missing in your room, this is the level of service we pride ourselves in. Again, thank you for being our guest and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

It had been 15 years since we have been to the Embarcadero and boy were we disappointed! We had a basic room that wasn't actually bad in size, but in repair. Very worn furniture, bed skirt that sagged to the floor and made it look dumpy, hole in the down comforter (it had very little down left in it), stained carpet and no curtain on the glass door to the deck. They did come to replace the door curtain, but it was missing two slats! No ice bucket, iron or iron board either. The deck had old, worn furniture, but usable. In addition, we had to air out the room since it was very musty! Will not be back!

Room Tip: Make sure you see the room before you sign on the dotted line! Don't let them put you above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey V, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear Loanne H,

I am sorry to hear about your stay. I would like to apologize for the condition of your room and I would like to let you know that the resort is now under new management. We are working tirelessly to resolve such issues, however, I would like to get more details in regards to your stay, please feel free to call me directly at 541-265-8138 or via email at Jeff@embarcadero-resort.com We appreciate the opportunity to improve our standards and with the help of valued reviews, such as yours, we are working hard to resolve issues you experienced. I hope you will give us another chance in the future. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport hotels

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

So I'll caveat this by saying we stayed here for the marathon. Since they have the packet pickup here and the finish line is here, that pretty much sealed it for us.

If you weren't staying there for the marathon, then the location might be a problem for you. Unlike many of the other places (Shilo, Whalers), the Embarcadero is on the bay, and is a 5 minute drive from the beach. You are however a short walk to the bars, restaurants and tacky souvenir shops that line the bay.

The resort is a 'condominum' style resort, meaning they'll likely differ in some respects. Our unit (531) was in the middle level and at the end. Bedroom, bathroom, kitchette, dining area and a lounge. The balcony and view were excellent. The unit itself was pleasant enough. It was certainly a bit dated (the TV in the bedroom had wood trim!), but it was comfortable and functional, with all the amenities - except a plug for the bath!

There was a recreation center and I did go and use the pool and hot-tub. The pool is actually a decent size (3ft-6ft) and there are 2 outdoor (yet screened) hot tubs to enjoy. There's also separate sauna's (although women's was out of order) and a separate gym area (that I didn't use).

In the reception area there's the Bridges restaurant and lounge. I'll review that elsewhere, but it's just to point out there is somewhere to eat/drink without walking the 5 minutes into 'town'.

Cost us $129/night which was a little pricey, but it was marathon weekend. For the space we got and the facilities, I thought that was pretty good.........although next time I think I'd prefer to stay at the beach end of town.

Room Tip: Try to get mid or upper level as the lower level units can get shaded (and don't have as nice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hod01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey V, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear Hod01,

Thank you for the review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, our resort is a condominium style resort and each unit has a different owner, as a result some of our owners have not had the opportunity to update their units, thus the dated television. In response to your review I will be contacting the owner of that particular unit and discussing the plans for their upgrade. I would also like to mention that we have plenty of units that have already been remodeled. I am happy to hear you were able enjoy some of our many amenities, in addition to those noted in your review we also have a crabbing dock and boat rentals. We appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you again for the 2014 Newport Marathon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Our annual trip down Oregon Coast and we went backto the hotel as the location is great - nice bayview and the room. We asked for the same room as last year and it was not available at first but then it became available. Another room that we saw first needed updating, very tired looking furniture. Rooms are owned by different owners so I guess it depends on the owner. We were very happy to have the same room as last year and write on the guest book- others loved it too. Thank you for taking good care of the room even though it was an economy studio, it felft very special.

Room Tip: If you don't like one room, ask for another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey V, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear Sylvia356,

I am thrilled our staff were able to get you into your favorite room and you had such a wonderful experience, it is a pleasure to be able to provide the level of service that will keep guests such as you coming back year after year. I appreciate your review and will pass your comments onto our staff. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

First the bad. Room needed work. This was supposed to be a premium room, it was not. Large pieces of ceiling coming off. Towel rack falls apart if touched. toilet seat broke. The good would be the view of the bay, the private crabbing dock and kitchen was well equipped. I have stayed here many times, but this might be my last.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WyomingLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey V, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear WyomingLou,

We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy our crab dock and appreciate our beautiful bay-view. I am sorry to hear about the condition of your room during your stay with us, please be assured this is not the regular standards we hold our units to. I would like to discuss your stay with you in person so I can remedy this situation. Please feel free to contact me directly at 541-265-8138 or at Jeffrey@embarcadero-resort.com. We appreciate your candid feedback, it is with reviews such as this that we can continue to raise our standards and create a positive experience for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We just returned from our stay at the Embarcadero in Newport and it was wonderful. I did read many negative reviews about this place before hand, but almost all were folks that had stayed in one of the "economy" rooms. We stayed in one of the "specialty" rooms, called the "Sunset on the Bay". It was extremely nice. Very well kept and clean. It had a great full kitchen (with dishwasher), living room with flat screen TV (and DVD player!), and a separate bedroom which also had a TV. It was nicely decorated with wood and tile floors. Fantastic view of the bay out the back deck. The carpet in the bedroom was amazingly thick and soft. I actually slept pretty well since the bed was comfortable. The tub is nice and deep with bubble jets if you want to soak. It even has its own WiFi for that room that was great. The folks at the front desk were helpful and nice. The housekeeping was fantastic. The room is kept spotless and we got all fresh towels without asking. They even did our dishes! We even lucked out on the weather. It's hard to get a nice sunny day in April on the coast! It was worth the $229 per night. We will definately stay here if we want to spend a weekend in Newport again.

Room Tip: Do choose the specialty rooms. It's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neenoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey V, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Neenoid,

Thank you so much for your kind words. The Sunset On The Bay Specialty Suite is one of my favorite rooms as well. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed the many amenities we offer. The complimentary Wi-Fi is available to all of our hotel guests and incredible service is what we strive for on a daily basis. next time you visit I hope you make time to take one of our boats out on the bay or crab off of our private crab dock. We even offer a complimentary crab cooker for your convenience. Thank you again for the review and we sincerely look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
1.3 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
1.2 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarcadero Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarcadero Resort Hotel

Property: Embarcadero Resort Hotel
Address: 1000 SE Bay Blvd, Newport, OR 97365-4201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Embarcadero Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Yaquina Bay in Newport Oregon - every well appointed guestroom has a Million Dollar view of beautiful Yaquina Bay. Full Service Hotel - with Restaurant, Lounge, Indoor Salt Water Pool and Spa, Crab Boat Dock and Boat Rentals, 4000 Square Feet of flexible Meeting Space with Full Service Catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Embarcadero Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embarcadero Resort Newport
Embarcadero Hotel Newport
Embarcadero Newport Oregon
Embarcadero Resort Hotel Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing