We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but room was not satisfactory”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Newport
sacramento, ca
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice location but room was not satisfactory”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed one night at the Embarcadero Resort Hotel and reserved a bay front room. The resort is located on Yaquina Bay in Newport, Oregon. We arrived and were greeted promptly at the reception desk. We had reserved for two nights but we found out late in the day that we had to return home the next day and they changed our reservation to one night.

We went to our room which was on the first floor of a building facing the bay. We walked in and at first glance loved the room with a porch that had seats and a great bay view..also it did not experience the strong winds in the afternoon that we had encountered. However we quickly found out some issues: finding the controls for lighting is a little challenging; the overhead fan did not work and there is no A/C; there is no overhead fan in the bedroom; and the bathroom is not overly big. We asked someone to check the fan and we were told that the part for the repair is on order. So, why did they rent out the room when the only means for ventilation other than windows is to leave the porch door and bedroom window wide open. A staff member brought in a fan, and it had one speed, was very noisy and vibrated...we shut it down.

We did not request a change in room because we had to leave the early the next day and it we figured we could survive one night. However, I would not return to this resort again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    162
    84
    59
    49
See reviews for
158
226
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have a big family - 2 parents w/5 kids (one being a baby needing her own space) - so we need a roomy place for us all to stay. The town house was perfect - big balconies on both floors w/beautiful view of the bay. Small issues, will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shiloh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I visited celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. I made the reservations far in advance, but we were moved into a room with only a double bed. Also, we had NO TV! Two large flat screens, one in living room and one in bedroom, but NO RECEPTION! When I called the front desk for assistance, I was told the cable was out and that we could rent movies from the lobby. I then spoke with the manager, who said they were in the process of switching cable companies and didn't get enough boxes for all the rooms and ours was one that didn't get a box, so we were "out of luck". When I pressed the issue, he told me that he had already "upgraded" our room because someone else had requested the room we originally booked, so he was already losing money. He neglected to address the fact that his "upgrade" did not supply the queen bed that we had reserved. He finally offered a 15% discount on our stay. Upstairs, there was a very noisy family with children that ran up and down the stairs and across the floors 'til the wee hours, so we got very little sleep. The view did not make up for everything else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights. When i got here I was told I got moved from bay view to bay front which meant you get to stare at the docks and office from your room and we are charging you more for that room even though we forced you to move. I didn't know that it was a managed rental property. Meaning people owned the condos and had the property rent them. One of those we will let the owners know it needs to be fixed places. Our unit was bare with an old mattress, a toilet that barely flushed and a tub that took half the day to drain, no curtain in the bathroom they figured a tree you could see through was enough. Room was always hot even with all the windows and patio door open. The box fan in the room was missing the control knob and covered in dust. We couldn't see the tv from the bed and had to move the couch just to watch tv. Cable box sat on the floor, cables all over and the built in DVD play was a joke to get to work.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Howard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport hotels

Tigard
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

When I stayed here the carpet was dark from stairs to the room. Bed was not that comfortable, I guess wont be staying here again and no blinds while taking a bath. Please clean this up and make sure it is clean for the next guests!



  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Policeman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Why is it so hard to stay at Embarcadero? Why do we have our keys deactivated and have to go to the front desk to have them reset? Why do we have to ask for towels and room service? Why is it after we ask for such all we have is a stack of towels dropped off? Why is it we have a room that doesn't lock for privacy form the adjoining suite?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I was on the lowest level, which was great being right on the water. However, it was about 3:00 a.m. when the people in the unit above arrived and that was the end of my sleep that night! Had a blast dancing in the lounge to fabulous entertainer!


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Micki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.2 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.3 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
823 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarcadero Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarcadero Resort Hotel

Property: Embarcadero Resort Hotel
Address: 1000 SE Bay Blvd, Newport, OR 97365-4201
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Embarcadero Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Yaquina Bay in Newport Oregon - every well appointed guestroom has a Million Dollar view of beautiful Yaquina Bay. Full Service Hotel - with Restaurant, Lounge, Indoor Salt Water Pool and Spa, Crab Boat Dock and Boat Rentals, 4000 Square Feet of flexible Meeting Space with Full Service Catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embarcadero Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embarcadero Resort Newport
Embarcadero Hotel Newport
Embarcadero Newport Oregon
Embarcadero Resort Hotel Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing