We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it and will definitely be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hallmark Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hallmark Resort
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it and will definitely be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

My husband and I stopped in Newport for an evening as part of our 1st Anniversary coast trip. Since Hallmark was top rated on TA, we decided to book a night here. When my husband called, he mentioned we were celebrating our anniversary.

When we arrived, check-in went smoothly and we headed to our room. About 10 min later, there was a knock on the door. It was the hotel staff delivering a bottle of champagne to congratulate us on our anniversary!! We also noticed later there was a bottle with a note inside. It was another congratulatory note signed by the manager. What an amazing touch to make us feel special during our day!!

The room was very nice. The bed was really comfortable. I slept like a baby, and I don't typically sleep well away from home. The view of the ocean was SPECTACULAR!! There is beach access right from the hotel.

The only thing I wish the hotel had: screens on their doors. Other reviewers mentioned this as well. We were on the top floor, so weren't too worried about security, but I just feel better having some sort of screen.

This was our favorite hotel during our entire coast weekend. We will definitely be back and really want to check out their cannon beach location too! Highly recommend this. The amazing attention to detail to make us feel special on our anniversary really went above and beyond what we experienced at other hotels!

Room Tip: Go for the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
lposh – First of all Happy Anniversary. We are honored that we could be a part of it. I also want to thank you for the extensive review. I will be sure to pass all of your comments on to our staff as they will be thrilled to hear them. Thank you again for your review and stay with us.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,136
    372
    74
    37
    11
See reviews for
486
814
44
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We pulled into the Hallmark without a reservation, as we were driving down the coast on the way to a Ducks game. The staff was very welcoming, and the made sure we were taken care of. they took time to tell us about Newport, and where we might want to go that evening. The room itself was clean and well appointed, and the patio view of the pacific was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treyjewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
treyjewels – I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass your appreciation on to the front desk and housekeeping departments as well. They will be very happy to have been recognized for their efforts. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseburg, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Overall we were pleased with our stay at the Hallmark Resort. We rented a room with a partial view and we were told at check-in that we would be able to see the lighthouse from our room. We arrived in the room and found that we could see the ocean, but the portion of the beach with the lighthouse was blocked by the neighboring building. That was a small disappointment in our stay that was quickly overshadowed by all that there is to do in Newport. We really enjoyed this coastal town.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TallTravelers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
TallTravellers_11 – Please accept my apology for the misinformation you were given at check-in. I have personally talked with our desk staff and reminded them that the partial view rooms do not have a view of the lighthouse. I am relieved to hear that you were still able to enjoy your visit with us and had a good experience overall. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Newport.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed here 1 night on a trip up the Oregon coast. The room was large and like every room in the hotel, had a great view of the ocean. Try to get a room on the top floor. Our room was on the lower level and was a bit noisy. Had dinner at the on-site restaurant and the food was good.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor, it is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sacramento_CADave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Sacramento_CAdave – I appreciate your taking the time to write a review of your stay. It’s great to hear that it was enjoyable and that you were able to take in the exceptional view of the ocean. I do apologize for the noise during your stay. The summer is quite busy and you are correct, a higher floor typically provides a bit more of a quiet experience. I was also glad to hear that you enjoyed dining at Georgie’s. We hope to see you again the next time your travel to the Oregon Coast.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Our room (and it looks like all of them) faced the ocean, great for watching the sun set. The room was large with 2 tvs, dvd player and a kitchenette. The kitchenette was great, but we had to ask for dishwasher soap and we didn't see a tea towel during our stay. The room doesn't have a/c, which is fine for the climate, but the drapes were attached so you couldn't get breeze from the window without the entire set of drapes open. (with kids we didn't want to leave the balcony door open). Overall a great place and would recommend - except NOT the on-site restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Cowtowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
The_Cowtowners – I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are correct in that all of our rooms do boast an ocean view. As we get ready to do some additional renovations this fall/winter we will certainly take your comments about the drapes into consideration when looking at designs. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

PS – I addressed your restaurant concerns on the restaurant review page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

I have seen my fair share of motel rooms in my life and this room at the Hallmark resort on the beach in Newport, Oregon was definitely one of the better places to stay. My room was one of the older (not remodeled) rooms but it was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Had I made reservations more then a day earlier I would have been able to get one of the newer remodeled rooms but I can't say if it could have been any nicer then my room. Two flat screen tv's, jetted two person tub, balcony and deck overlooking the beautiful Oregon beach. Don't forget to sample some of the best beach food at Georgie's next door. I have eaten there many times before and it has always been absolutely perfect. This was my first time staying at the Hallmark resort but it won't be my last.

Room Tip: Fills quickly, make reservations early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MotorcycleFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

This is an excellent value. The hotel is beach front with easy access to a very nice beach. Many shops close by including French bakery for breakfast goodies, and the Rogue River brewery close by lunch and dinner. The limited edition room we had was very spacious and very well laid out.

Room Tip: The limited edition rooms are very worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 030612nn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
There/here – First let me thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor, they are very much appreciated. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of the Limited Edition rooms and our central location. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Newport.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.3 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.8 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
24.1 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Resort

Property: Hallmark Resort
Address: 744 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-5109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hallmark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of the Pacific ocean, the Hallmark Resort, Newport, offers spectacular oceanfront views from every room. Watch the fishing fleet return to Yaquina Bay as the lighthouse keeps watch to the north. The sunsets are amazing. The Hallmark Resort is full-service, offering oceanfront dining at Georgie's Beachside Grill. After a day of exploring, relax in the indoor recreation center with heated pool, sauna, and swirl spa. We offer a variety of room styles including staterooms with king bed and in-room spa. Families choose an oceanfront stateroom with 2 queen beds complete with mini-galley, fireplace and living area. Free WI-FI in all guestrooms and all rooms have a spacious walk out balcony or patio. We are pet friendly. Flexible meeting spaces will accommodate up to 200. Our oceanfront beach party area comes complete with wedding walk and bonfire pit. Let the tradition begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hallmark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Newport
Hallmark Resort Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing