We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!”
Review of Hallmark Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Resort
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed one night in a jacuzzi room. It was a last minute change in plans. Well stocked kitchenette. Friendly staff. Beautiful view. We would come back and stay again. Good value for the money. Comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Beth W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I’m glad that your last minute plans worked out for the best. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,861)
There are newer reviews for Hallmark Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,496 - 1,502 of 1,863 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

This hotel resort is a great place to stay. Fireplace/Balcony made it such a wonderful experience. The sunsets were awesome! Front desk etc... were very friendly. Rooms very spacious. Beds and pillows comfortable as well. We loved this place walk to beach was easy. If we visit Newport again we will stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRANKLYN96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

FRANKLYN96,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear you were able to enjoy some of the AMAZING sunsets we have been experiencing. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Newport.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

Great ocean access from back patio. We were able to open our padio door and walk out to the beach.
Room is a bit out dated and the towels are old and rough
The fireplace was a nice touch and there are top windows you can leave open at night to hear the ocean waves

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notthegps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

notthegps,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You will be happy to know that we will be doing a major renovation in 2013 to address the majority of the dated items in the rooms. I will be sure to pass your comments about the towels on to housekeeping, it sounds like the ones that were placed in your room were overdue for “retirement”.

Thank you again for the review.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

If I could rate this Hallmark in Newport, Oregon higher I most certainly would! We stayed in room # 552 and it was wonderful. The view - stunning! The beds - very comfy! The staff - far beyond helpful & friendly! Fireplace - worked perfect and was very cozy. This spacious room had everything you could need - kitchette with sink, refrigerator and dishwasher + all utensils + plus couch, table and chairs facing the ocean as well as a lovely balcony. Loved it so much we decided to stay an additional night and take a different route to airport. Great decision! The ONLY problem was LEAVING. It is a perfect place and would love to stay there forever! Highly recommend to all! Did not use spa or breakfast, so cannot rate that.

Room Tip: Room 552 is on top floor - full ocean view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seabound60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

seabound60,

Thank you for the fantastic review. I am thrilled to hear that our Limited Edition room perfectly met your needs during your stay. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We had planned to stay in Bandon but when the weather turned bad, we headed up the coast. No plans and no reservations.

I called Hallmark Resort from Waldport (the town 20 minutes to the south) and asked if they had any rooms for a family of three and a dog. When we arrived, they were very accommodating. We needed a pet friendly room, and we wanted a good view, and a nice balcony. They had the perfect room for us. They put us in one of their three-queen loft suites. It was a really nice room with two queens in the main part of the room, and a third queen bed in a loft area. It was nice to put the teenager upstairs and not have to worry about waking him in the morning.

Everything was very clean. Usually on the coast, hotel rooms have some sand in the carpet or bathroom floor but there was none of that here. The hotel has a cruise ship theme to it which was fun and different. We were able to rent movies and they had games and puzzles for guests to borrow.

The view was amazing, I had never seen sunsets quite like that. It was the perfect setting for the suprise proposal that was waiting for me. Every girl dreams of the perfect wedding proposal and while Hallmark Inn didn't have anything to do with the actual proposal, their location did provide the most amazing backdrop for the most perfect evening. I couldn't have asked for anything better.

Hallmark Resort in Newport is now part of a yearly tradition and we hope to spend many more years celebrating our family with Hallmark Resort.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Kari B,

Congratulations! We are honored to have played a small part in your great weekend. I also wanted to thank you for sharing your great photos. Again congratulations and we look forward to seeing you at least annually for your engagement anniversary.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

PS – When you do come back for your anniversary let us know and we will be sure there is a complimentary gift waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed in a limited edition spa king room, and it was well worth it! We had a balcony that looked out on the ocean and we could see the Yaquina lighthouse, it was incredible. Working fireplace, very comfortable bed and a HUGE jacuzzi tub. The kitchenette had everything, plates, utensils, even a dishwasher. The room was very well decorated, very clean and well appointed. Honestly, from the outside and lobby areas, it may seem like you are stepping a little bit back in time, which was a bit of a concern for me, but the room was very modern with two flat panel TVs. The beach access is directly behind the hotel, and there is ample shopping nearby. Great place to stay and relax on the coast!

Room Tip: be sure to reserve the Limited Edition Spa King rooms for maximum comfort and maximum relaxation!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bored72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

bored72,

Thank you for the great review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your Limited Edition room. They are definitely our nicest rooms and I am glad you found them to be a good value. You will also be happy to hear we will be addressing the “dated” look in the lobby with our renovations in 2013.

Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We were on a road trip from San Francisco to Portland and rang the hotel around 5pm on a Thursday evening to ask for same night availability after seeing it was listed as #1 on TripAdvisor. The staff on the phone were very helpful and gave us a rate of $129 for the night so we booked immediately. The hotel was very easy to find, had lots of parking, a great onsite restaurant called Georgie's which overlooked the ocean and had a great selection of dinner and breakfast options. There was a separate section with a bar so a nice place just to enjoy a glass of wine if you're not eating.
We had a room on the 2nd floor which was comfortable and spotless but is memorable due to the view. Absolutely amazing. Each room has a private balcony or patio that overlooks the beach and ocean. Sitting on the patio chairs, hearing the waves, having a glass of wine watching a magnificent sunset was just heaven. There was a small window next to the patio doors that we kept open so we could hear the waves at night.

There were steps down to the beach from the back of the hotel just a few yards away from our balcony. The beach is flat, large and very clean. Wonderful for running or walking and almost deserted.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. We stayed in a number of hotels/motels, often at rates of $159-$179 during the trip and this was leaps above in value and service. We'll be back in the summer when the outdoor fire pits are going and the nights are longer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

ejr1,

Thank you for detailed review of your stay. It is great to hear that with all your travels we were able to help create a great experience for you. You also picked the perfect time to come as we had some great sunsets in September.

Again, thank you for the review and we hope to see you again the next time you head up the coast.


Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,059 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
872 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.3 mi away
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
#13 of 24 in Newport
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Resort

Address: 744 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-5109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £113 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hallmark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of the Pacific ocean, the Hallmark Resort, Newport, offers spectacular oceanfront views from every room. Watch the fishing fleet return to Yaquina Bay as the lighthouse keeps watch to the north. The sunsets are amazing. The Hallmark Resort is full-service, offering oceanfront dining at Georgie's Beachside Grill. After a day of exploring, relax in the indoor recreation center with heated pool, sauna, and swirl spa. We offer a variety of room styles including staterooms with king bed and in-room spa. Families choose an oceanfront stateroom with 2 queen beds complete with mini-galley, fireplace and living area. Free WI-FI in all guestrooms and all rooms have a spacious walk out balcony or patio. We are pet friendly. Flexible meeting spaces will accommodate up to 200. Our oceanfront beach party area comes complete with wedding walk and bonfire pit. Let the tradition begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Newport
Hallmark Resort Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing