We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest staff and wonderful rooms.”
Review of Hallmark Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hallmark Resort
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We love staying at the Hallmark. The rooms are fresh and cozy. They really make our dog feel welcome. The food is great and room service is prompt. I even had to cancel one day before a stay and they didnt charge me, maybe because they know we rescheduled as soon as I'm well;) Always a really great time.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

breathethebeautifulyoga,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Hallmark. It is great to hear that you and your dog feel welcome here. We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,899)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,297 - 1,303 of 1,899 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

The Hallmark Resort instantly became a family favorite. We stayed in a 2 bed queen room overlooking the ocean from the second floor. The room was very spacious with a full wall of windows overlooking the ocean. Seating for 2 with a small table in front of the window made viewing simply fabulous. The balcony was large with comfortable chairs to relax on as well, providing an uninterrupted view. The pool and hot tub area were nothing remarkable. The hot tub was quite cool but the front desk person addressed it immediately when advised of this matter.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klfreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

kfreeman,

It is great to hear you enjoyed your balcony and view! My apologies for the hot tub temperature but I am glad to hear the desk team took care of it immediately. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

One of the best beds/mattress we have experienced on several trips to the Oregon coast and to California. The only drawback, if your room is north of the lobby, there is only the one elevator and it's a long walk north to the rooms. Also, many hotel/motels offer some sort of breakfast, this Hallmark does not. Yes, there is a restaurant next door and it offers good food reasonably priced. One might expect a $2 coupon, free beverage or some incentive to visit that restaurant.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer a wonderful view, but there is a good view from all rooms. There is a nice gas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Hazel S,

Thank you for the great review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let us know the next time you are coming and we will be sure to get you a room closer to an elevator. Thank you again for the review.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Reserved a room, the Admiral Suite, a month in advance for our anniversary. It had been years since we had been somewhere. Well, we got there, and I was sick with tonsillitis. The view was so wonderful, the staff was great and it was a good place to be sick. The bed was huge, the in room jetted tub was a Godsend. It was clean and oh so quiet. Unfortunately we had to leave a day early as I needed a doctor, and thankfully the front desk let us leave and did not charge us for the third night that we had reserved. We are looking forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Michael D,

I am sorry to hear that you weren’t feeling well during your visit. I am glad that the jetted tub and view provided some relief to your being sick while you were here. We wish you a quick recovery and will be looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We've traveled around the world and stayed in some great hotels. But I can honestly say we've never had a favorite hotel until we went to this one. Amazing facility. They have everything you could possibly need, they've thought of everything to make it special and they aren't afraid to throw in some extras to make your stay memorable. What's not to love? We had a room on the top floor that had a jacuzzi, king bed, kitchenette, sitting area and fireplace overlooking the ocean. Add to that room service. If we never wanted to leave our room we wouldn't have to. Although the weather turned out to be a rainy 2 days we were very content to sit on the balcony or inside depending on the rain. We were celebrating our anniversary with a quiet getaway and the Hallmark turned out to be the perfect place to do that. Being in Newport just makes it that much better since there's alot to do here. All this time the Hallmark Resort has been just a half days drive for us and we never knew it existed. But we do now and we will be returning. We now have a favorite hotel when we want to get away in a hurry.

Room Tip: Take the top floor. The hotel has elevators and every floor has a laundry room along with ice / ven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PV8850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

PV8850,

We are thrilled to be your new favorite hotel! Thank you for that honor. I will be sure to share your review with our staff as I know they will greatly enjoy it as well. Thank you for the review and we will be looking forward to your return trip.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Hallmark is one of those coastal hotels that has been on the ocean-front for ages and is always getting a facelift. The rooms are small but super clean and really comfortable. Furnishings and bedding is updated and everything is in good condition.

I believe every room here is ocean view or partial and we could have spend hours on the porch or even in our two comfy chairs looking out onto the Pacific. Room came with a micro and fridge too for left over food finds that are everywhere in Newport.

My fiance and I hopped over to the coast for a weekend away and some relaxation. The Hallmark was a great pit stop but our only problem was that we really wanted a relaxing hot tub to close out our evening...what we got was far from relaxing. The pool area is a large enclosed space with the hot tub and pool right next to each other. Kids are hopping in and out of both, splashing around, and the floor is completely drenched with few dry places to put your stuff. We told the front desk as we were checking out and they were nothing but apologetic that we didn't get our relaxing hot tub, which was very sweet. Of course the amount of pool patrons is ever changing and that shouldn't sway your decision about the Hallmark but it was something to factor in.

The lobby is beautiful and overall we would stay at this resort again!

Room Tip: Every room is ocean view or partial, always nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank osuaphi8256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

osuaphi8256,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very sorry that things were unruly at the pool while you were here. I have mentioned this to our staff so that they can keep a closer eye on this.
For future reference we do have much larger rooms with a two-person in-room jetted tub. This might give you the space and privacy that was lacking on your last visit. Feel free to let me know the next time you will be coming to visit and I will be sure you get one of the King Spa rooms.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
ric@hallmarkinns.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have stayed here numerous times and it is always such a great place to stay. We usually choose either a Limited Edition King Spa Room or one of the Admiral Suites.

Excellent views and beach access, clean, well-appointed rooms, great service. They always go above and beyond.

They have THE MOST COMFORTABLE BEDS I have ever slept in.

Georgies Restaurant is much better than it used to be, but we usually go to the waterfront for fresh seafood. The Garlic and Crab Chowder at Local Seafood is amazing.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are best. Admiral Suite is nice because the extra room and the full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katwmn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

katwmn 1,

Thank you for your repeat visits to Hallmark. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and approved of the remodel. Thank you for the review and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Newport.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,077 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
882 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.3 mi away
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
#13 of 24 in Newport
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Resort

Address: 744 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-5109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range: £115 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hallmark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of the Pacific ocean, the Hallmark Resort, Newport, offers spectacular oceanfront views from every room. Watch the fishing fleet return to Yaquina Bay as the lighthouse keeps watch to the north. The sunsets are amazing. The Hallmark Resort is full-service, offering oceanfront dining at Georgie's Beachside Grill. After a day of exploring, relax in the indoor recreation center with heated pool, sauna, and swirl spa. We offer a variety of room styles including staterooms with king bed and in-room spa. Families choose an oceanfront stateroom with 2 queen beds complete with mini-galley, fireplace and living area. Free WI-FI in all guestrooms and all rooms have a spacious walk out balcony or patio. We are pet friendly. Flexible meeting spaces will accommodate up to 200. Our oceanfront beach party area comes complete with wedding walk and bonfire pit. Let the tradition begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Newport
Hallmark Resort Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing