We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent though expensive”
Review of Hallmark Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hallmark Resort
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newport
british columbia, canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“excellent though expensive”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Positives: Well equipped king size room with fireplace, Jacuzzi tub, fridge, microwave with a perfect beachfront view plus friendly staff.Sleep to sound of ocean. Negatives: balcony is not private (should add translucent screens), cost for off season midweek of $250 seemed high, no breakfast facility. There were many empty rooms so would visit again this time of year if could get a better price! If not, there are many other options at Cannon Beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
georanger, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Hallmark. If you ever make it down to Newport please come try the Hallmark Resort Newport and our wonderful on-site restaurant Georgie’s Beachside Grill! We know that there are many options of where to stay when visiting the coast and hope that you will continue to choose Hallmark Resorts in Cannon Beach and Newport, Oregon for your future visits!

Sincerely,

Amanda Maddox
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,166
    377
    74
    37
    11
See reviews for
490
832
44
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A friend of mine and I recently got a suite for her birthday. We are both single moms and needed a night off! The jacuzzi in the room was awesome. The bed was...dreamy! We relaxed by the fire, sipped a bit of the champagne (which was chilling on ice with glasses at the ready when we walked in), and ate pizza while my friend got to watch the sun set over the ocean for the first time. They even left her a birthday present; a delightful "letter in a bottle", and it was in a wine bottle! I have never seen a place be so thoughtful and fun! It was a wonderful experience for a couple of old friends to hide away from the kids (if only for a few brief hours), and be treated like queens. I would HIGHLY recommend a "pamper the girls" self-spa day at the beautiful Hallmark resort!

Room Tip: The first floor is partially sub-terrainian. There is an elevator, but if you want to be on the grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Robin C, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your girl’s weekend at the Hallmark. I am so pleased that we were able to make your friend’s Birthday one to remember! We hope to see you again next year, if not sooner!

Sincerely,

Amanda Maddox
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Time
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We decided to visit Newport for spring break. When we made the reservation, the weather forecast was good. Unfortunately, it changed and we had some terrible weather. We pulled up in a driving rain after many hours on the road. We were greeted by friendly front desk staff and a very clean room. We chose one of the updated rooms and it was perfect for us. It had a fireplace (essential for a cold and rainy weekend) and a separate seating area. The view of the beach was spectacular and we even braved the weather to visit the beach a few times. We also loved the tiny screened window that allowed us to enjoy the sounds of the beach without bringing in too much of the cold wind. We even slept with that tiny window open each night; what a joy to wake up to the sound of waves. I can't wait to visit again when the weather is better!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betsyray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
betsyray, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay regardless of the weather and we hope that the sun is shining for your next visit.

Sincerely,

Amanda Maddox
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We've been here quite a few times; during our recent stay we were pleased to see a lot of remodeling had been done since our last visit. The room looked great and was very clean and comfortable. The staff was exceptional, very friendly and accommodating to any request. Great views and beach access. And Georgie's Beachside Grill on the property is an excellent restaurant, with pricing to value on the food right on the mark. Over the years of staying here we can always count on something delicious, whether breakfast or a nice dinner. A rather small restaurant but great atmosphere for a 'fancy' dinner, leave the flip flops in your room! And, although it is small and they don't do reservations, if you call in advance they will call you in your room when your table is ready. I love visiting Newport, and our family would never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, Front Office Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
lopper, Thank you so much for your review and your loyalty to the Hallmark Resort and Georgie’s Beachside Grill. We cannot express enough how wonderful it is for us to see familiar faces coming back to stay with us. We truly value your business and will continue to provide exceptional service.
Amanda Maddox
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had a wonderful view of the ocean and the room was very clean and comfortable. We were able to access the beach area easily. The Hotel Staff were very cordial, friendly and helpful. Our room rate was very reasonable. We actually expected to pay a higher rate. We definitely will return. We ate at the restaurant connect to the hotel (Georgie's) and it was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, Front Office Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Larry M, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I am so pleased that our staff, accommodations and restaurant has you definitely wanting to return. We look forward to your next visit!
Amanda Maddox
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

An illness in the family had us seeking emergency accomodations on the last weekend of spring break. The very kind staff at the hotel found us the (perhaps only) set of rooms in the city that would house the kids, the dog and 2 adult for a reasonable cost. The view is lovely, the pool is nicer than average and the (tiny) room had everything we needed. But the most notable eature was the kind and accomodating attitude of the staff which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubiskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, Front Office Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
rubiskies, Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay with us. I am so glad that we had the accommodations available to fit the needs of your family at the last minute! We do hope that you will come and visit us agian on your next trip to Newport!
Amanda Maddox
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chemult, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had the opportunity to stay at the Hallmark while we were in Newport for a conference. The room was very clean and comfortable with a wonderful view of the ocean. We were not expecting the fireplace which was a nice surprise. The staff was helpful when we needed something. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdrdrr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
mdrdrr,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.3 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.8 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
24.1 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Resort

Property: Hallmark Resort
Address: 744 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-5109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hallmark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of the Pacific ocean, the Hallmark Resort, Newport, offers spectacular oceanfront views from every room. Watch the fishing fleet return to Yaquina Bay as the lighthouse keeps watch to the north. The sunsets are amazing. The Hallmark Resort is full-service, offering oceanfront dining at Georgie's Beachside Grill. After a day of exploring, relax in the indoor recreation center with heated pool, sauna, and swirl spa. We offer a variety of room styles including staterooms with king bed and in-room spa. Families choose an oceanfront stateroom with 2 queen beds complete with mini-galley, fireplace and living area. Free WI-FI in all guestrooms and all rooms have a spacious walk out balcony or patio. We are pet friendly. Flexible meeting spaces will accommodate up to 200. Our oceanfront beach party area comes complete with wedding walk and bonfire pit. Let the tradition begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hallmark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Newport
Hallmark Resort Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing