We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nice rooms, "everything" within walking distance”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hallmark Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hallmark Resort
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Portland, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location, nice rooms, "everything" within walking distance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

In short, this is a place I'd return to. Very friendly staff, nice and up-to-date rooms. Nice and relatively large pool. This is a "pet friendly" hotel which means that although the cleaning staff does a great job, you will find plenty of dog hair embedded in the carpet. Both Nye Beach (with its restaurant) and the Bay are within reasonable walking distance (half a mile or so). Be aware that there's a very long/steep staircase to get to the beach. Might be daunting for some.

Room Tip: If you're not particularly interested in watching/smelling dogs doing their business 24/7, you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mthoodskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
mthoodskier, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Hallmark Resort. We are so glad that you were happy with the service that you received and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will certainly address the issue regarding the pet hair with our Executive Housekeeper and I apologize that our desk staff did not inform you of the alternate beach access point that does not require stairs. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Amanda Maddox
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,136
    372
    74
    37
    11
See reviews for
486
814
44
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

So happy with the quality of this hotel and the outstanding service at the beach. The property was in like new condition and it's an excellent setting right on an awesome beach that you can walk all the way down to the breakwater going into Yaquina Bay. Georgie's next door has great food and, again, wonderful service - so impressive!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi_Rne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Bobbi-Rne, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Hallmark Resort. We are so glad that you were happy with the service that you received and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit !

Sincerely,

Amanda Maddox
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Every room is ocean view. We stayed two nights and loved it. Newport at first is touristy and junky. Then we discovered the Bay front area. Best scenery and food. Walked around, saw sea lions, ate seafood that was literally just brought in in a cooler.
You can even walk from the hotel to a lighthouse.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dteach1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
dteach, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay in Newport at the Hallmark Resort. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a great time experiencing all that we have to offer in our beautiful town! We hope that you will visit us again soon when you feel the need for great seafood, scenery and a bit of relaxation!

Sincerely,

Amanda Maddox
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonney Lake, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hallmark Newport, OR. 4/24/14 to 4/28/14 for my wife's birthday. The weather report said rain the whole time, but we had really good weather sandwiched between storms that rolled through. We were greeted very promptly with warm smiles when we arrived. I was most impressed with the cleanliness of the grounds. Our room was fantastic with everything we asked for. If you're looking for a great view from the rooms and restaurant, this is your place. Not a bad set to be found in the restaurant Georgie's Beachside Grill, and food to match. Very comfortable beds and comforters. You could tell they had done a wonderful job remodeling, great color schemes. Lots of times when you travel and find a good hotel the restaurant doesn't live up to the standards of the hotel, but this definitely wasn't the case. I give Georgie's 5 stars with excellent food with great service and friendly staff. Shout out to Tami for making us feel special. We had dinner there three nights out of four and four breakfasts. The claims were so good we ordered them every night. I also loved the blackened sea scallops I had them twice and my wife had them once. Tami even gave my wife a free dessert for her birthday even though we had to leave the next day on her birthday. Tami seemed very sincere about loving to work there. I'm an ex chef and my wife is a server at a nice waterfront restaurant near Seattle, so we do know what good food and service is, and greatly appreciate both. We will definitely be back. Thanks again for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: all good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Donald H,

Thank you for the wonderful review. It is great to hear such positive comments about the hotel, restaurant and Tami from people in the industry. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Newport.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spanaway, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We've stayed at the Hallmark Resort in Newport, Oregon many times, but each visit seems to bring some new reason to enjoy the resort. This time it was a refurbished room. Very pleasing accommodations, and an excellent and comfortable bed. The front desk staff never fail to address you by name and with a smile. It's a simple thing, to smile at those who afford you your reason for employment, yet they do it here consistently and yet it doesn't seem forced or contrived. The grounds are neat and immaculate and the pool areas was, as always, clean and enjoyable. There are many hotels in the Newport area which can lead to confusion, but for us the choices are limited to one - and every time we drive away knowing we got far more than our money's worth.

Room Tip: Ask for the north end of the hotel; farther away from the traffic of the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilsonChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
WilsonChip,

Thank you for the great review and your repeat visits to Hallmark. We are honored to be your “one choice” for hotels in Newport. Thank you again for the review and we will be looking forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mulino, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We had the king with the jacuzzi tub and kitchenette. There is so much room in these that it felt more like we were renting a small house vs. a hotel room. It was very comfortable. I laughed when I read that another guest wrote that they wrote down the manufacturer of the pillows. I caught my wife taking a picture of the tag for the very same reason. Very comfortable bed and pillows. I had a pleasant surprise when we went down to rent a few DVDs. I was expecting them to be outrageously expensive (like most hotels charge for in room movies), but they were free. You can borrow 2 at a time. The sliding doors have a small "port window" of sorts so that you can open it up and listen to the ocean without leaving the patio door open all night. A small feature, but I absolutely loved it and it really added to the enjoyment of our stay. The staff was all very friendly and the restaurant next door had the best halibut that I've ever had. You can definitely find cheaper rates around (per square foot, it's probably the same), but for what you get here, it is worth a few extra bucks. The views from the balcony are wonderful.

The ONLY two negatives that we had were that there is a nightlight built into the bathroom outlet that you cannot turn off and it is bright. We had to pile towels on it so we could fall asleep. It produced a good amount of heat, but not enough for me to worry about the towels catching fire. The other issue was that the door that separates the room next to us from ours. We had a very rowdy (loud) group of women next door on our second night and there is no insulation from it with that door. At night, light was coming through it as well and I had to throw down towels in front of it so we could try and fall back asleep.

Overall, we will definitely be back!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alleygator77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Alleygator77,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I will be sure to have our maintenance department check into the adjoining door and overly bright night light. Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel was super. We had a king spa suite. The bed was so comfortable. We loved the pillows so much we wrote down the manufacturer. Kitchenette was stocked. Good size fridge. Dishwasher. Microwave. Big baloney with two chairs and little table. The spa tub was plenty of room for two larger people. Little toiletries were very nice. Would highly recommend. Oh and every lamp had plug ins on it instead of having to find a wall outlet. Brilliant!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Amber S, I am so glad that you enjoyed your room and your stay with us. Thank you for your review and for mentioning some perks about the room that most people wouldn’t think to mention. We will look forward to your next visit and will continue to make Hallmark Resort and Georgie’s Beachside Grill the places you want you to visit!
Sincerely,

Amanda Maddox
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.3 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.8 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
24.1 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Resort

Property: Hallmark Resort
Address: 744 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-5109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hallmark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of the Pacific ocean, the Hallmark Resort, Newport, offers spectacular oceanfront views from every room. Watch the fishing fleet return to Yaquina Bay as the lighthouse keeps watch to the north. The sunsets are amazing. The Hallmark Resort is full-service, offering oceanfront dining at Georgie's Beachside Grill. After a day of exploring, relax in the indoor recreation center with heated pool, sauna, and swirl spa. We offer a variety of room styles including staterooms with king bed and in-room spa. Families choose an oceanfront stateroom with 2 queen beds complete with mini-galley, fireplace and living area. Free WI-FI in all guestrooms and all rooms have a spacious walk out balcony or patio. We are pet friendly. Flexible meeting spaces will accommodate up to 200. Our oceanfront beach party area comes complete with wedding walk and bonfire pit. Let the tradition begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hallmark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Newport
Hallmark Resort Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing