We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This motel resort "GETS IT!!"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hallmark Resort
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This motel resort "GETS IT!!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Wow!!! A fabulous location on a large wide breach! But that is just the start. We arrived a little later but were just awestruck with the beauty of the proximity to the beach and the view as we watched the sunset from our balcony. We then started to look over the room and accommodations.

The motel is large and is old enough to have been upgraded at least once. We have never found such a thorough and complete upgrade including a triple panel patio door with a small window to get the ocean sound if you don't want to have the entire door open. The covered balcony has clean glass under the railings for great visibility and to shield you from the wind. While the bath area is an older plan, everything has been replaced. Granite higher level vanity sink top, taller comfort level toilets, tiled floor and base, upscale shampoos and lotions. We had a comfortable queen bed with quality bedding. Two smaller scale upholstered wrap around chairs were positioned to look out at the beach. All walls were updated with quality wall coverings. Everything was clean, clean, clean.

Then the surprise. When we booked, the hotel had offered a s'mores special. We had utilized it as it offered a better rate and had forgotten about it. There in our room was a small burlap sack filled with wood, fire starter, and two sticks for roasting the marshmallows in the beach pail next to the wood. The pail also contained Hershey's chocolate bars, graham crackers, and a lighter for a fire on the beach. We looked out again and sure enough, we noticed several fires up and down the beach.
This hotel team is obviously as talented at marketing as they are in operations.

The Hallmark Resort owners also own Georgie's restaurant next door. After a quick check on Trip Advisor, we knew that was were we would enjoy breakfast after a walk on the beach. Georgie's is as well operated as the hotel is, featuring a great view, staff, and breakfast selections.

The final little touch was a window washing station near the check out area where you can remove the ocean mist from you car windows.

All of this for a very affordable price. Our only regret was just booking for one night. Newport certainly offers a lot of great sights and things to do.

This is probably the best located AND operated motel resort we have found in our travels. Everyday travelers deserve a place like this. Motel operations 101 could and should be taught here!



Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank jcw40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
jcw40,

Thank you so much for the extensive review! I am sure that the readers on TripAdvisor will find it extremely helpful (as indicated by the number of helpful votes you have already received!).

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the S’mores package. It definitely proved to be our most popular package ever. So much so that we now offer the full “kit” for purchase in the gift shop. The best part is the fire-in-a-bag part of the kit is purchased from a local non-profit.

Thank you again for the great review. We hope to see you again the next time you make it to the Oregon Coast.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,109
    367
    72
    36
    11
See reviews for
466
804
42
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Creek, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

to start off with the carpet in the room was torn up and for the price the room was in very poor condition.
My biggest complaint was the employees. I was there with a group of Veterans that were getting together after 40 years and there was not one person that thanked any of them for there servers to our county. That to me was the biggest reason I will never stay there again and will most likely let a lot of people know about it. I do not know how the vets felt but I was very upset about it, these men served our country and some of them had there friends killed right in front of them, so I feel a thank you would have been a nice thing.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
P M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am sorry to hear that the carpet in your room was snagged. I will be sure that maintenance gets into that room right away to fix that.

In regards to you comment about “not one person that thanked any of them…”, that is simply not true. I personally talked with and thanked a couple of people in the group in passing and I know that many of our staff members did the same. The organizer of your group seemed very pleased with our handling of the reunion as well. I am however sorry that no one specifically thanked you for your service. Since your review is anonymous and I can’t do it in person, please allow me to thank you both personally and on behalf of Hallmark for your years of service to our country. Again, please accept my apology for not thanking you directly while you were here.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
131 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I recently stayed here and loved it. My room was very comfy with great amenities, but the best part was the view. I had a balcony with a full ocean view. It was great to just sit on the balcony and watch the water. The beach is also just literally steps away...no long walks or crossing roads to get to it. Although Newport is a bustling town, you don't notice it when you are at this resort. It was very peaceful and quiet. The staff was very friendly and always helpful. I also highly recommend their restaurant. I ordered room service from them and it was a delicious meal. This is also a great location on the coast because there are so many things to do close-by (Whale-watching, aquarium, scenic drives, etc). They are also pet-friendly, and I saw many guests out on the beach with their dogs who seemed to be enjoying it just as much as the humans. My only regret is that I was only here for two days; I hope to return and stay longer!

Room Tip: Be sure to request a high floor with full ocean view blacony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LHWIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
LHWIndiana,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is great to hear that you had such a great time while visiting Newport. Please give us a call when you are ready to make that extended trip, we will be looking forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had a event at the Hallmark in Newport, Oregon - and we had a few setbacks with the people we rented equipment from and that alone could have ruined my nieces party and the staff here were so accommodating and helpful that we can do nothing but show our gratitude and post for them THIS IS THE PLACE TO THROW YOUR EVENT/FUNCTION..... And Becky she is the most Awesome genuine and so helpful kinda person - if it's important to you it's felt as important to her. We want her to know how much we appreciated her and if you go here ask for her.. Can't remember last name but Becky I know for sure!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Melissa S,

Thank you for the fantastic review of the resort and of Beki. She was very excited to see your review and I know she was happy to help “save the day” when the rental company dropped the ball. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again the next time you are in Newport.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband, son and I stayed here last weekend and were very happy with our experience. Everyone at the front desk was very friendly and helpful and even greeted my son with a beach bucket filled with beach toys (we didn't bring ours since we traveled from the east coast so this was great). Our room, like almost all of the rooms it seems, directly faced the ocean. It was wonderful to just sit out there and watch the waves. The hotel also had a crib (pack and play) that we could use which was very helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Breakfast is not included but there is an affordable restaurant on site with very large (too large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrieland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Carrieland,

Thank you for the great review. I am happy to hear that your family enjoyed the view, the restaurant and the beach toys. Again my thanks for the review and we hope to see you again the next time your travel coast-to-coast.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Good hotel. All rooms have a nice view. Always a good stay. Pool is good. Food is good at Georgie's. Salt water taffy in the lobby! Sometimes there's a wedding going on and the place can be quite busy but its not too in-your-face. Good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Mike T,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your visits to Georgie’s. We hope that we will see you again on your next trip to Newport.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tualatin
Level Contributor
253 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We normally stay in a "Limited Edition" top end room, but this being in season and looking to save money (like more than 50% less) we opted for the "Partial View Queen" room, deciding to take our chances.

Turns out it was great. We lost: panoramic view of ocean, king-size bed, fireplace (in June), kitchenette (which we never use) and spa. What we didn't lose -- room is same quality furnishings -- a great shower head, roomy sink, comfy bed, strong wifi, good TV (with access to connect my computer), large desk with good chair. Its got a patio area and we could see the ocean, and by stepping out see the lighthouse in the distance. Even the same scented soaps. And as a bonus -- neighboring room only on one side (above) so the room was very quiet. Close walk to parking (yet can't hear cars). Unfortunate long walk to Georgies, though.

So if you don't need that great view and can get by with a smaller room, ask for the Partial View and save. (I probably shouldn't say this because it probably won't be available next time we want it!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank almyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
almyt,

Thank you for the extensive review of your “partial view” room. I’m sure the other readers on TripAdvisor will greatly appreciate the information. Thank you for your frequent stays and reviews. We will be looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.3 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
20.7 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Resort

Property: Hallmark Resort
Address: 744 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-5109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hallmark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of the Pacific ocean, the Hallmark Resort, Newport, offers spectacular oceanfront views from every room. Watch the fishing fleet return to Yaquina Bay as the lighthouse keeps watch to the north. The sunsets are amazing. The Hallmark Resort is full-service, offering oceanfront dining at Georgie's Beachside Grill. After a day of exploring, relax in the indoor recreation center with heated pool, sauna, and swirl spa. We offer a variety of room styles including staterooms with king bed and in-room spa. Families choose an oceanfront stateroom with 2 queen beds complete with mini-galley, fireplace and living area. Free WI-FI in all guestrooms and all rooms have a spacious walk out balcony or patio. We are pet friendly. Flexible meeting spaces will accommodate up to 200. Our oceanfront beach party area comes complete with wedding walk and bonfire pit. Let the tradition begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hallmark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Newport
Hallmark Resort Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing