We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for families”
Review of Hallmark Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hallmark Resort
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Redding, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel for families”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

My family and I just stayed at the hotel. Very clean hotel and the staff was quite friendly. Good hotel for kids and dogs. It was nice to be right on the beach, playground and pool area were fun, the kids got complimentary beach pails when we arrived, and the hotel sold s'mores package complete with all the firewood that you would need. It was a little bit of a run down neighborhood immediately surrounding the hotel, but you are very close to the Nye beach area, the harbor, and the aquarium area. We really enjoyed eating at Nana's Irish pub and the chowder house in Nye Beach and the breakfast was awesome at the coffee house in the harbor. The kite shop was fun to go to and the beach at the hotel was great for flying kites. The walk down to the beach did get old with our kids (2 and 6), but most places seemed to have a steep walk in the area. Georgios (the hotel restaurant) was also great to eat at and offered a lot of choices for the kids.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaMaddox, Front Office Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
sopinion, Thank you for your recent review about your stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, our convenient location and were able to explore Newport! Our restaurant Georgie’s Beachside Grill is a great restaurant for the whole family and the kids always enjoy the treasure box. Hopefully we will see you again on your next trip to Oregon.
Sincerely,

Amanda Maddox
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,165
    377
    74
    37
    11
See reviews for
490
832
44
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho City, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I have stayed here before. The hotel is very well kept. The walkways, elevators, common areas and rooms are very clean. Looks like a brand new motel. The beds and pillows are VERY comfy. The service is great too! We seriously plan our trip around staying at the Hallmark in Newport. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the place.I believe all rooms have been updated and i think all have an ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Becky G,

Thank you for the review and for making Hallmark a main destination for your vacation. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the renovations, service and cleanliness of the hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed Aug 2nd for 3 nights. King Bed suite. Fireplace and hot tub.
Great balcony looking out over the ocean. King size bed was amazing.
Can't say enough good things. Wish would could have stayed longer.
Used hot tub several times. I love getting out of the hot tub and then sitting out on the balcony with the cool ocean breezes!

Room Tip: Higher floors offer better views. Get a room with a balcony it's worth the extra cost. Note...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spiczdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
spiczdw,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that it was an enjoyable one. We wished you could have been with us longer as well. Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you again for an extended stay.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
ric@hallmarkinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipomo
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We traveled with our kids from California to Oregon. Our first stop was Ashland and then we decided to head to the Oregon coast. Many friends recommended Newport/ Lincoln City beach areas. Our booking at the Hallmark was a last minute reservation. The staff on the phone was very accommodating and assured me that the ocean front room that I reserved for my family of four would be great and ready /waiting for our arrival. Check-in was great, the kids each got a beach bucket and ball and all was well. Upon entering our room, the kids immediately needed to use the restroom, my daughter came out screaming that there was water all over the floor. We called the front desk, maintenance was sent in while we went up to grab dinner as it was getting pretty late. My husband went to check with front desk on the room situation, near the end of our dinner. Not sure exactly what went on, but my husband came back and told me how kind the staff/manager were about the whole situation and that they had moved us to a very nice room for the night, but we would have to change rooms again the next day. I was not too thrilled about all the moves, especially with kids! However, the rooms that we moved to both nights were exceptional! The first nights move, we are all FINALLY in bed and the smoke detector starts to beep!!!! Maintenance again!! But it was fixed quickly and we all eventually got to sleep.
The manager comped one night for us and gave us the upgraded rooms as well as two breakfast vouchers. Yes, there were ALOT of inconveniences, but the staff handled everything very professionally and did all the right things to make a situation that could have been really horrible into a situation that was not so bad.
The beach /area is beautiful!, but during our stay it was EXTREMELY windy!!
The restaurant next door, Georgie's , also had excellent friendly staff and the food was very good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank run4rfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
run4rfun,

Wow, that was a rocky start. I am very sorry you had to endure all of those disruptions during you stay. It is great to hear that the staff rose to the occasion and took care of the issues as they arose. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and please feel free to contact me directly the next time you are coming to Newport and I will do what I can to ensure smooth sailing.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
ric@hallmarkinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellflower, CA, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

What a great hotel with a great view. The king room with the jacuzzi is the only way to go. The room has a nice kitchenette area was great. The room design was centered around the view. All rooms are ocean view. Georgie's restaurant is great and they also have room service. This is the only hotel we will stay in on our next trip to the area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Stephen J,

Thank you for the great review! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your King Spa room, the view and room service from Georgie’s. We are honored to have earned the “Best hotel in Newport” designation from you. We will be looking forward to your next trip to Newport.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My husband and I have been coming to the Hallmark for 10 years now. The first time we stayed, we took a chance on it when coming back up the coast from California. We'd stayed in Cannon Beach and Seaside before and found them more and more expensive and more commercialized. The staff at the hallmark is great! The rooms at the Hallmark are good sized and even nicer now that they've been updated. The beds are sooo comfortable and the bathrooms spotless. The galley kitchens are convenient if you want to bring in food and have dinner out at night. Lots of good restaurants close by in Nye Beach or down on the old bay front. Georgie's at the Hallmark is a favorite restaurant and their room service is excellent if you choose to order to your room. Right now I'm dreaming of sitting on an oceanfront balcony listening to the waves and sipping a glass of wine after a nice long stroll down to the jetty and back! Hopefully we'll see you again soon!

Room Tip: Upper floors of South building are quieter and having stunning views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Rasgal,

Thank you for the detailed review and 10 years of visits to Hallmark. I am thrilled to hear that they have all been great experiences. We hope to see you again soon as well.

Sweet ocean dreams,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My hubby and I went here for our honeymoon and we couldn't be happier with our decision. the staff was wonderful and very helpful. When we walked into our room there was sparkling cider on ice and a "message in a bottle" waiting for us on the table. Our bed was super big and comfy, there was 2 TV's in the room, a nice kitchen, big bathroom, and a relaxing 2 person jacuzzi tub!
Our room offered the most beautiful view of the pacific ocean, so relaxing and peaceful.

We ordered room service a couple time and it was delicious. So nice to have that option for special occasions like this. We loved staying here and are definitely planning our next trip here for our 1 year anniversary!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nreetz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RicRabourn, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
nreetz13,

First of all congratulations! Thank you for choosing Hallmark to spend your honeymoon. It is great to hear that we were able to contribute to your “honeymoon dream”. We will be looking forward to celebrating your 1st anniversary with you!

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.3 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.8 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
24.1 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Resort

Property: Hallmark Resort
Address: 744 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-5109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hallmark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of the Pacific ocean, the Hallmark Resort, Newport, offers spectacular oceanfront views from every room. Watch the fishing fleet return to Yaquina Bay as the lighthouse keeps watch to the north. The sunsets are amazing. The Hallmark Resort is full-service, offering oceanfront dining at Georgie's Beachside Grill. After a day of exploring, relax in the indoor recreation center with heated pool, sauna, and swirl spa. We offer a variety of room styles including staterooms with king bed and in-room spa. Families choose an oceanfront stateroom with 2 queen beds complete with mini-galley, fireplace and living area. Free WI-FI in all guestrooms and all rooms have a spacious walk out balcony or patio. We are pet friendly. Flexible meeting spaces will accommodate up to 200. Our oceanfront beach party area comes complete with wedding walk and bonfire pit. Let the tradition begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hallmark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Newport
Hallmark Resort Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing