We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fish in the Coos Bay area”

Captain's Choice Family Fish House
Ranked #3 of 55 Restaurants in North Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
North Bend, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Fish in the Coos Bay area”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is a great, informal family restraunt about 4 blocks from HWY 101 in downtown North Bend. Great service ,friendly people and great food. We have never left here hungry. The chowder is better then anything on the coast and I have tried most from Seattle to San Francisco. Homemade with a cream base -this is worth the visit by itself .Top notch !

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Len M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    82
    28
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Not for sea food lovers”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Mediocre quality. We were brought in by a local radio that stressed the bargain aspect and that might be the greatest draw. Could be a step above fast food or good stop for family with little children. Clean but sterile chain coffee shop atmosphere. Actually has an interesting but not great view of Coos Bay in the distance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 651Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic !”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is the place to go for really good seafood. I brought a friend for his birthday and he ordered the bowl of clam chowder. He loved it so much that I gave him gift certificates for his birthday so he could enjoy many more through out the year. My sister loves the crab melt sandwiches and I believe their fish tacos are the best I have ever had. The servers are always friendly. I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reedsport, Oregon, United States
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Are We Invisible?”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We showed up about 20 minutes until 8PM. (Patrons seat themselves at Captain's Choice.) A server brought menus and we ordered water, which was delivered, then we waited. A man working there said hello, then proceeded to put table settings on empty tables. He may not have been serving, we don't know. We waited until 7:58 PM and I asked my husband if we should just go.
We drove home to Reedsport and had a meal at Ocean Garden Chinese/American Restaurant.
I am not sure what happened tonight.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

If you want great seafood...go here! The atmosphere is average but the food is great. The service is great too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 751LaurieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain's Choice Family Fish House also viewed

Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
 
North Bend, Oregon Coast
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
 
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
North Bend, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Captain's Choice Family Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing