We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“underwhelmed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grounds Cafe

The Grounds Cafe
Ranked #14 of 54 Restaurants in North Bend
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Grounds Cafe has been serving the community inside Books By The Bay for over fifteen years and has been owned and operated by Chef Kristin since 2014. The Menu features delicious bakery treats as well as hearty soups, sandwiches and hot paninis. Family run, and served with a smile you won't be disappointed by the welcoming atmosphere!
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
431 reviews
412 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“underwhelmed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

had croissant turkey sandwich with a bowl of mushroom lobster soup. sandwich was pre-made and wrapped in saran wrap. they ask you what you want on it and unwrap it and add the condiments. a croissant left wrapped in saran wrap turns soft in a few minutes and totally limp to soggy in a half hour. Ours were cold, small and soggy. The soup was tasty (no hint of lobster). they probably should have put the thickener (roux) in the blender instead of the mushrooms as there was lumps of it throughout the soup. The soup came with a roll and a pat of butter. The roll was hot out of the microwave and totally ruined. I didn't eat it. Scones looked good but after a soggy croissant and microwaved roll we were afraid to try them. Cannot figure out what the other reviewers see that we missed, unless it is a personal friendship sort of thing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank eremitic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    4
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coos Bay
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Grounds to smile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

On the Corner of Sherman Ave (Hwy 101) and California Street in North Bend there used to be
an Interstate Bank. That red brick building now houses the Grounds Cafe and Books by the
Bay. What could possibly be better than to have a good meal surrounded by books ?!
Frank, the Irish owner, is also a good cook, and he wears his kilt with style. His soups are
some of the customers' favorites and the rolls very good. Our favorites are chicken salad
pitas, or paninis and beef lasagna followed by a piece of chocolate mousse tort. You can
also reserve a table for High Tea with finger sandwiches and all the trimmings. We can hope
that next St. Patrick's Day Fank will again make Irish Stew ! The Grounds Cafe is a little Pearl !

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trude B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best soups in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Tucked away in the back of a book store, The Grouds is a favorite place for meetings over a light lunch or coffee. The owner/chef is Irish and makes a killer Irish stew an a number of other excellent dishes but his true claim to fame are his soups. I've enjoyed several over the years but his cream of mushroom is simply a gift from Heaven. Very limited menu and it changes every day but the food is always outstanding and they serve excellent coffee

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The soup Nazi lives here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Frank is the soup Nazi! His soups are incredible. I mean, really incredible. From his cream of mushroom to his spicy chicken curry, they are wonderful. This man makes amazing soup!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank kantor1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We found this place by accident. Anytime we take a trip I always check out the used book store in search of new reading material. This wondeful treasure is located insde the local used book store. The food is wonderful and the atmosphere is very relaxing. It was a great place to enjoying a coffee and grab a delicious lunch while catching up on some work.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grounds Cafe also viewed

North Bend, Oregon Coast
North Bend, Oregon Coast
 
North Bend, Oregon Coast
North Bend, Oregon Coast
 

Been to The Grounds Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing