We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible booking system and inconsiderate owner”
Review of Ocean Front Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oceanside
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Front Cabins
Marysville, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Horrible booking system and inconsiderate owner”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Went there a few years ago and it was fine. Booked two cabins for a trip in March 2014, for us and family coming from out of state, and called to confirm our reservation 2 weeks ahead of scheduled. We were advised that we only have ONE cabin reserved, a tiny one, not suitable for 4 people and that the other cabin we were supposed to have has been reserved now by someone else. Owner advised he is not responsible for the mistake (more accurately, that we LIED about booking two rooms because they charged a booking fee for one) and it is not his responsibility to make it right. Cancelled our reservation, now waiting to see if they actually refund the booking fee. Owner has not discovered the internet, no way to book on line and they do not send email confirmations. We would have seen THEIR error right away had they sent a confirmation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leniford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    13
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My husband & I went there in Feb 2013 for a weekend. Very cozy, clean. Nothing fancy but a very nice retreat. We live in Astoria and drove down & stopped at Nehalem bay Winery and bought wine to take, stopped at Tillamook Cheese and got cheese and crackers..We cozied up in the evenings & watched old movies with our Wine, cheese and crackers. Perfect get a away :) Staff was great. Office was closed when we arrived on Friday evening and they had left the key for us at the cabin door. Oceanside is very small and not touristy at all. Beautiful view of the ocean at your front door. We cooked breakfast and ate it on our stoop. Drove in to Lincoln City and shopped antiques. Did I say Perfect weekend getaway? IN fact we are going there again in a couple weeks :))

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin 21 and it was smaller but just fine for us. We are staying in cabin 22 with a ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmyLou_1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acworth, GA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

After many years of friends having satisfactory experiences, first test of customer service dealing with a problem completely failed. My friends have recommended this place for years. I stayed with them in the same cabin before. This time we walked into a horrific burnt burner smell, borderline toxic. We immediately opened all the windows for hours. Never closed them in fact. We also left our front door open for a while. The smell would not dissipate. The first night it was too late to complain as the office was closed. We traveled nine miles to get a natural citrus air spray which helped, but the burnt burner smell continued to remain. Even the bedding smelt of it. Curtains and carpet too. But then a further problem! The shower liner was GROSS! Moldy and hairs stuck to the bottom! The shower I was wanting to take was out of the question. First thing in the morning I discussed with the manager the problems. She said that someone had "burned a hole in a pan" before we arrived! She said she had opened the windows (they were closed when we arrived) and didn't want to spray anything in case we were "allergic"... All I can say is, that if management of a hotel does not have protocol for severe odor issues; or protocol to ensure the burners on the stove are properly cleaned and maintained, then they have no business running the place. There are many odor absorbing methods for commercial establishments and they were obviously clueless about how to handle it. It ruined the two nights trying to sleep. I asked management to request a partial credit or refund from the owner, as the condition of our room was not satisfactory. Also, the burners on the stove were not all functional and we were paying to use the stove! The owner sent the message that we could check-out by 11 a.m. and not stay the second night! Well I had no choice but to stay there, as I was due at the airport the next morning. I was shocked at the complete lack of customer service at the first problem we had encountered since staying there, and recommending the place to all our friends; and being repeat customers. I will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Layton, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the smallest cabin (room #23) had a microwave and a small fridge. It had a great view of the ocean which you could hear if your window was open. The room was a little small but not to bad for just the 2 of us. The beach was just a short walk down the hill and the cabins seemed very central for exploring the three capes scenic loop and of course getting Tillamook ice cream!

Room Tip: #23 was small but just fine. Next time I would get one of the cabins with a covered porch in case of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed two nights in the largest cabin with the kitchen. Although it was the largest the bedroom was a bit small. Clean and well kept up. Friendly staff.

The location had it's good and bad points. We could sit and see the beach from our cabin. Walking to the beach was a matter of crossing a small marking lot. You'll be hard pressed to find a place closer to the beach. Convienent to Cape Meares Park. Oceanside is not easy to get to with only one way in and out (one road was closed), which makes it not the best pick for a base to explore from.

Room Tip: Go for the bigger rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon, United States
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed two nights in #23. Clean, comfortable, small, reasonable, no cell service, no Wi-Fi, friendly staff, relaxed, laid-back, great biscuits and gravy at the Café, close/easy access to the beach. There are so many places and choices of where to stay exploring the Coast, maybe we'll be back once we realize that this is the best!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingman, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

With no plans where we were staying, we found this place by chance. The roar of the ocean from the front porch was so wonderful. Kitchenette was furnished with just what we needed. Living room had comfy furniture. Slept with the windows open and felt safe.

Walked down the beach and through the tunnel to a quiet beach.

I would return here in a heartbeat!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mrtonothorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oceanside
7.3 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
16.9 mi away
Cottages at Cape Kiwanda
Cottages at Cape Kiwanda
#2 of 3 in Pacific City
50 reviews
17.0 mi away
Inn At Cape Kiwanda
Inn At Cape Kiwanda
#1 of 3 in Pacific City
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Tillamook
6.1 mi away
The Ashley Inn of Tillamook
11.6 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Front Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Front Cabins

Property: Ocean Front Cabins
Address: 1610 Pacific NW, Oceanside, OR 97134
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Oceanside
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Older clean motel in quiet un-incorporated community about 1 1/2 hours from Portland, Oregon. We have 7 rooms and allow pets in 5 of them. 200 feet to beach. All rooms have ocean views. 2 restaurants close by and a Deli located on site. Clamming and crabbing nearby. Located 15 minutes off Hwy 101. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Front Cabins Hotel Oceanside
Ocean Front Cabins Oceanside, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing