We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with Bed Bugs”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ontario
Sheridan, Oregon
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel with Bed Bugs”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I travel weekly and stay in many hotels throughout Oregon. The Clarion Inn in Ontario Oregon has been a favorite. The rooms are very quiet, staff are friendly, and the made to order breakfast is outstanding. The night of Sept 30 2013 I checked in for the night. Next morning I awoke at 4:30am to find bed bugs all over the bed, and the wall behind the bed. I was horrified. Informong the front desk I was given an alternate room. Upon informing fellow employees staying in other rooms our management asked all 6 of us to vacate imediatly, go to landromat to wash all clothing, sterilize everything and switch hotels. The staff at the Clarion suggested that I brang in the bugs from another hotel, unfortunatly I had been staying there for the past 3 weeks. There was no offer to clean personel belongings form the hotel or an offer to help in any form. So sorry to have this experience in what had been a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Check your room very carefully for bed bugs before you carry in your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpress212, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for the unfortunate situation that you experienced. I’m sure that was very stressful for you.
I’m very sorry you were not offered a refund on your stay nor were you offered any compensation for the costs you may have incurred to have your items cleaned. That should have been extended to you without hesitation. We’re addressing that as a training issue with front desk staff to make sure this type of situation is handled differently in the future.
Once the general manager was informed of the situation, she immediately called our pest control agent who quickly responded and treated the room in question, as well as surrounding rooms. Since then the rooms have been re-inspected and the pest control agent assured us we no longer have an issue. In the history of our hotel, this was an isolated incident and you can rest assured that we are also taking appropriate measures to train all hotel staff to deal with this type of issue more effectively should it ever arise again in the future.
We certainly value your loyalty to us and appreciate your business, as well as the valuable feedback you have provided. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with the superior service and accommodations you have come to expect at our hotel. Please contact our general manager directly to arrange for a refund on your stay or a complimentary night’s stay the next time you’re in Ontario.

Tami H - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    58
    25
    7
    7
See reviews for
48
53
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Although the furnishings were a bit dated, things were clean. If you're traveling with a dog, they are very accommodating. We were placed on the main floor, which provided direct access to the outdoors. The gentleman that checked us in was extremely friendly and helpful. The free sit-down and order breakfast was a nice touch too after a few mornings of buffets on this trip. Value can't be beat!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddp-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpress212, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We're glad you (and your pet) enjoyed our pet-friendly hotel. We hope you'll stay with us again the next time you're in the area.

Tami H - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Book online and prepay to get best rate. Huge rooms but needs updating. You do get a coupon for free breakfast at country kitchen that connects to hotel. Staff was friendly. Pet friendly hotel. Cant really say anything else about this hotel. I might stay again because pet fee was cheap and good free breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjm3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpress212, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed our pet-friendly hotel as well as our complimentary breakfast in the Country Kitchen Restaurant. We hope you'll stay with us again the next time you're in the area.

Tami H - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I arrived at 10PM. (note Ontairio is on Mountain time)
Restaurant was open until 11PM, which was a big plus for me.

I've stayed at the Sleep Inn in Ontario a number of times. The Clarion was worth the extra $25.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c5coupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpress212, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for your nice comments regarding your recent stay at the Clarion Inn. We're glad you enjoyed the convenience of our late hours in the Country Kitchen Restaurant. Also, thank you for making the switch from another hotel to the Clarion. We hope you'll stay with us again whenever you're in town. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Tami H - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mounds View, Minnesota
Level Contributor
306 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This motel was easy to find. Our room was clean and well maintained. The beds were comfortable. Lots of TV channels and good internet service. The Country Kitchen Restaurant is attached to the motel and the motel gives its guests a coupon for a free breakfast there. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNroadtrippers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpress212, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your room accommodations and the complimentary breakfast in the Country Kitchen. We hope you'll stay with us again the next time you're in the area.

Tami H
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crooked River Ranch, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was a nice hotel. Got in late at night, so didn't use the pool, although it looked very inviting. The breakfast was good. We were pulling a tent trailer, and had to park across the street. I did not like having to do this, as it was late at night and didn't like walking in an unfamiliar place in the dark. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpress212, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed our a complimentary hot, cooked-to-order breakfast. We're sorry there wasn't better parking available for your vehicle and trailer. We do hope you'll stay with us again if you're ever in the area.

Tami H
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We always stay at the Clarion Inn in Ontario, OR (that is usually 2 to 4 times a year). The accommodations are comfortable and inviting. The staff are warm and friendly. The Country Kitchen Restaurant is adjacent to the Clarion and always has a variety of wonderful meals to choose from. The free breakfasts that the Clarion provides are varied and delicious. This motel is pet friendly! It also has a nice outdoor pool. We would not hesitate to recommend this motel to anyone. We really love staying there!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor, facing the pool, seem to be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maryjane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpress212, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay with us. We certainly value your loyalty and thank you for staying with us whenever you're in town. We're glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and the other amenities we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Tami H
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ontario hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#2 of 10 in Ontario
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 10 in Ontario
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Ontario
1.7 mi away
Ontario Inn
Ontario Inn
#5 of 10 in Ontario
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 1249 Tapadera Ave, Ontario, OR 97914-3044 (Formerly Holiday Inn Ontario)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ontario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ontario
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn® is a full-service hotel that now offers a FREE, hot made-to-order breakfast so you have the best of both worlds. Guests will find that whether they are traveling for business or pleasure, this Oregon hotel provides great amenities and outstanding service close to a number of local points of interest.Area attractions near this Ontario, OR hotel include the Historic Union Pacific Train Depot, the Oregon Trail Regional Museum, the Four Rivers Cultural Center Museum and the Snake River Correctional Institution (SRCI). A number of shopping centers, golf courses, outdoor recreation areas and entertainment venues can be found in the surrounding area. This Ontario hotel features on-site dining at the Country Kitchen or the Tap Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Ontario
Holiday Inn Ontario
Ontario Holiday Inn
Clarion Inn Ontario, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing