We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lesson learned”
Review of Super 8 Ontario

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Ontario
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lesson learned”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

The Holiday Express was full and we were tired. It was late and we were tired so didn't check Trip Advisor. First sign was that the parking lot was maybe 1/3 full at 10:00 PM. Then the lobby and front desk were sloppy and disorganized. Still paid for a room. Then there are weeds growing up through the parking lot, all over the place. The paint is old and dirty and the metal stairs all rusty. The concrete sidewalks are filthy and stained. Garbage and cigarette butts here and there. The final straw was opening the door to the room to find someone already in there. I went to the front desk and told the woman that there was someone already in the room and that we weren't going to stay because the place creeps me out and is dirty. To her credit, she promptly refunded the money. I'm guessing it happens a lot. Looked on TA and went to the Best Western. It was satisfactory.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpress212, Director of Sales at Super 8 Ontario, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Finding someone in the room you were to check into is totally unacceptable and I'm sorry you had to experience that. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Tami H - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    27
    48
    41
    38
See reviews for
71
43
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My family stayed in this motel only because we were unable to find anything else after a long day on the road. The room was ungodly hot and stuffy. I turned on the A/C but it was several hours before we stopped sweating. The bathroom floor was sticky. The tub was dirty. The sink leaked all over the countertop. The A/C unit barely worked and made a huge racket but was absolutely necessary due to the heat. I doubt that the room had been thoroughly cleaned in a long time.

Room Tip: Get a reservation at a better hotel/motel and avoid getting stuck in a dive like this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 76Traveler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpress212, Director of Sales at Super 8 Ontario, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay. Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the room condition and issues with the air conditioning. We've been experiencing an unusually hot summer and the air conditioning certainly has to work hard to keep up with the high temperatures. I have shared your feedback with the general manager to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future. Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Ontario.
Tami H - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ontario hotels

Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here many times. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, has everything you need. Right next to truck stop so perfect for truck parking. They are also pet friendly. Very good deal rooms are not overpriced very satisfied.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Christine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpress212, Director of Sales at Super 8 Ontario, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review about your stay. We're glad you enjoyed your clean room and comfortable bed and that you felt our rate was a reasonable one. Please stop by and stay with us again the next time you're in the area.

Tami H - Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Ground, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The gal that checked us in had only been employed there for about a week. At first it seemed that she could handle the swing shift okay, but then it quickly went downhill. After about a 1/2 hour of checking in and her trying to do the credit card machine, we finally got the keys to our room. Later that evening, I did a check on our credit card and found that we had been charged twice for the room. We went to the clerk right away and were told that we had to speak to the manager in the morning, since she couldn't get in to the computer to see what she had done wrong. The manager in the morning wasn't much help either, and we ended up calling the corporate office while still in the hotel lobby. The charges were later refunded after about a week, however, if it weren't for me checking our account right away, we would have missed the double charges.

The bedding had large gaping holes in the bedspread, the towels were like oversized shop rags. Not a very comfortable nights sleep at all.

Room Tip: They are pet friendly...a plus at least, but the pet area is very dirty and full of weeds and garbag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GizmoPup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpress212, Director of Sales at Super 8 Ontario, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay at the Rodeway Inn. We're sorry that your check-in experience was not a smooth one and we apologize for the duplicate charge that appeared on your credit card. The general manager will be working on more training for new front desk agents to make sure this does not happen in the future. We appreciate your comments as it gives us the opportunity to work on providing the best guest experience possible. Thank you.

Tami H- Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Not a bad place, though the rough looking parking lot and the ramshackle collection of storage bins towards the back bring the hotel down a few notches, aesthetically. Rooms were clean and a decent enough size though. Wireless internet worked just fine. You receive a coupon for a free breakfast from the attached restaurant and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food we were served. There was also a Mexican place called Casa Jaramillio that was just a few blocks away where we had a wonderful dinner. Anyhow, this was certainly a decent stay, its just not a very attractive looking place from the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrexlerMcStyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpress212, Director of Sales at Super 8 Ontario, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Rodeway Inn. We appreciate all guest comments, good or bad, as it provides us with feedback we can use to improve the guest experience. We are always working to improve the appearance of the hotel and your comments will be passed along to our maintenance staff. Thank you again and we hope you'll stay with us the next time you're in Ontario.

Tami H- Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Made reservation on line from the Rodeway Inn site. Price confirmed gave credit card number and submitted. Next page showed a higher price and would not let me back out or cancel without a $25.00 charge. The most unethical part is no one, not the website, or the clerk at the hotel would give me a receipt showing the room rate, tax and fees.

The continental breakfast is a coupon for a very meager fare at a restaurant next door. To eat normally it will cost you more.

Room was average and worth the advertised rate, but had too much air freshener

By a noisy truck stop which attracts the normal variety/

I would be weary of Rodeway Inns. Will not recomend Rodeway.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

Nothing especially good or bad about this place other than the scam they pulled. CLC has last room available but yet they wouldn't give me a room on CLC. Had to walk to truckstop to get com check and come back and pay more

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gafforddaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ontario hotels
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#2 of 10 in Ontario
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 10 in Ontario
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#3 of 10 in Ontario
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ontario
1.3 mi away
Ontario Inn
Ontario Inn
#5 of 10 in Ontario
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Ontario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ontario

Property: Super 8 Ontario
Address: 615 E Idaho Ave, Ontario, OR 97914-2926 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Ontario)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ontario
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Ontario
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ontario 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Ontario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ontario Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn Ontario
Super 8 Ontario Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing