We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby and noisey”
Review of Alpine Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpine Chalet
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otter Rock
GEORGETOWN
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Shabby and noisey”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Located along US101, the major west coast highway, if traffic noise bothers you don't stay here. We arrived to find the #10 unit well used- ie-shabby and worn. The furniture was actually dirty. We had to wash dishes before use as the glasses were stuck to the cupboard. The web site said it was "only 100 steps from the parking lot to the path to the beach". It didn't say the path was very steep and long. For a senior person, it required a couple of rest breaks on the way up. Pets are allowed for an additional fee. For the price charged, you can do better.

Room Tip: These are individual vacation rental units. There are 11 chalets and they all look the same from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PAUL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    5
    3
    6
    9
See reviews for
17
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This rental property is booked through Vacasa, and we do not recommend booking here.
'Sunset suite #1' was filthy, like it had not been cleaned in months. There was black mould in the shower, on the bathroom tiles, and in most of the window frames. The carpet was damp and the entire place smelled as if it had been febreezed to cover the smell of mildew. Most dishes were not clean, particularly the pots and utensils. There was dust everywhere. Stains were found on the sheets of the full-sized (not queen as described) bed. The front door knob/lock was loose, making it extremely uncomfortable for us to leave any valuables during the day. Lastly, Vacasa was not willing to verify our issues because we had reported them after our short stay, rather than during. We do not recommend booking anywhere with Vacasa unless you're willing to spend your hard-earned vacation time on the phone with them reporting problems that they should be proactively solving.

  • Liked — Private beach access
  • Disliked — The rental itself
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank villerika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Otter Rock hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Beautiful & gorgeous views from this property perched on the bluffs overlooking the Pacific. There are 11 units on the property with all different ownerships & levels of updates & accomodations. We stayed in Chalet #5 which was less than desired with 80's uncomfortable supersoft velvet couch, rockers, beds & bad lighting for reading & grainy old cable TV. That said, we just had to walk outside to catch the well mantained trail down the hillside to the beach below. This is why we came to this spot. We ran our dogs, explored the beaches & stayed outside & happy. Loved the Devil's Punchbowl & chowder at Mo's West.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank bullis60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I took our grandchildren for a weekend trip to the beach


and we stayed in Alpine Chalet #6. Everybody enjoyed it. The unit was clean,and cozy. Management made us feel very welcome. The weather was clear on the day we spent on the private beach. We took lots of memorable pictures on the beach and in the private picnic area. My granddaughter made a comment while looking at the beautiful view of the sunset " This is like heaven". The kids talked about coming back again. We had a great time and will plan on going back again!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My wife and I stayed here In the fall it was great. We enjoyed the walks on the beach, the guest homes were great. The people who took care of the Chalet were great keep everything clean and neat. I would go back at a moments notice.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portl
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I took my family for a quick getaway weekend and stayed at the Alpine Chalet #6. It was fantastic! Not only was there a fun loft for my kids to sleep but there was a little private park area and a great beach. There were no crowds, it was quiet and a perfect place for my children to run around. I definitely recommend the #6 Alpine Chalet if you want to visit the coast!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Nobody bothered us the entire time. #6 was clean and SUPER CUTE! The loft ROCKS! LOVE the little private fire pits, charcoal grills and park just for Alpine Chalets. The weather was beautiful and nobody was on the beach---because it's a private beach! : ) We felt like we had the place to ourselves. I love this place and will come back every year!

Room Tip: Choose #6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chirpy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otter Rock
0.8 mi away
Inn at Otter Crest
Inn at Otter Crest
#1 of 2 in Otter Rock
347 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
3.2 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 5 in Depoe Bay
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#3 of 5 in Depoe Bay
356 reviews
7.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,026 reviews
6.8 mi away
Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Chalet

Property: Alpine Chalet
Address: 7045 Otter Crest Loop, Otter Rock, OR 97369-9709
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Otter Rock
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otter Rock
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpine Chalet 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Alpine Chalet Otter Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing