We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly mean”
Review of Alpine Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpine Chalet
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otter Rock
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredibly mean”
Reviewed 27 November 2006

We booked the Chalet for 3 days and 2 nights over Thanksgiving and then loaded up three young kids and a 90 year old man to drive three hours through a rainstorm to get to the Chalet. When we got there, we found that their credit card machine was broken. With tired old and young passengers, we asked if we could just get a room key until the machine was fixed. They said no. After waiting about an hour, we got in touch with our Visa card company who affirmed that our card was good and offered to give the owners and authorization number. They still refused to let our group in, and more than that they were incredibly mean about it, as if we were putting them out and were simply not wanted. We were not rude. We were not threatening. We just wanted to get some little kids and an old man in a dry room. Finally, tired of waiting, and tired of being treated so poorly, we left and drove down the road to the inn at Otter Creek, where they were incredibly nice, gave us one of their last rooms, and offered not to charge us until we were sure we had straightened things out at the Alpine Chalet. I had anticipated a wonderful Thanksgiving at the Alpine Chalet, and instead ended up simply being thankful for the Inn at Otter Creek .

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank argon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dustylavanway, General Manager at Alpine Chalet, responded to this review, 5 May 2008
My name is Dusty LaVanway and I and my bride Gigi are the new managers here at the Alpine Chalets as of one year ago. We were not here at the time but I want you to know that we would never do this to one of our guest. We have had the card machine go down and it is our policy to welcome the guest into their room, and ask them to return to the office later to finish checking in. We will do all that we can to see that your stay with us is enjoyable and memorable. We also apologise to the person whom wrote this review and thier family on behalf of the Owners, none of whom would condone this type of treatment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    5
    3
    6
    9
See reviews for
17
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2004

This place was awesome! Was our favorite spot on the whole trip. Only 5 minutes north of town. Super quality chalets with new furnishings. Great kitchens. VCR's with free movies in the office as well as free board games & books! Short walk down the path to the beach. Just a beautiful place that you will not regret choosing. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank andynapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otter Rock
0.8 mi away
Inn at Otter Crest
Inn at Otter Crest
#1 of 2 in Otter Rock
347 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
3.2 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 5 in Depoe Bay
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Depoe Bay
Travelodge Depoe Bay
#3 of 5 in Depoe Bay
356 reviews
7.5 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,027 reviews
6.8 mi away
Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Chalet

Property: Alpine Chalet
Address: 7045 Otter Crest Loop, Otter Rock, OR 97369-9709
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Otter Rock
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Otter Rock
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpine Chalet 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Alpine Chalet Otter Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing