We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, relaxing experience”
Review of Inn at Otter Crest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn at Otter Crest
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Otter Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Rogersville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing experience”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed in Unit 405. The accomodations lent us the opportunity for refreshing our souls. We were brought to our room in a cart allowing us the opportunity to observe the landscaping. The decor was gracious with a beach theme. The views of the beach were magnificent. Sitting, listening to the surf crash onto the beach and observing the geology makes one realize the power of the ocean. I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: 405 was the best. We saw whales from the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    118
    40
    26
    26
See reviews for
103
153
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I own time share here but they also rent rooms as a hotel. The views are fantastic as the property sits on a bluff high above the sea. Whale watching is prevalent here and n the surrounding area. The accommodations are comfortable but not luxurious. Most studios and one bedroom units have full kitchens and some have mini kitchens. Great place to unwind and enjoy your surroundings.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view rooms with kitchens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank italianjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, BC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The Inn at Otter Crest has a wonderful location on a prime piece of oceanfront property with spectacular views and lovely places to walk. The unit we had, though, had seen better days, with stained shag carpet, disorganized kitchen, borderline kitsch decor, broken bath insert, and uncomfortable Murphy bed. When the wind howled during the fierce storm, the iron fireplace barrier rattled mightily throughout the night. The unit was spacious and the balcony afforded an unbeatable ocean view, complete with harbour seals on the rocks in front, but the unit needed updating overall. We enjoyed all the physical splendour of the place but wished for a better maintained unit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Burnabytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a great place to stay! The service is always great with professional friendly staff. Outstanding views of the ocean. Kitchen is well equipped and everything is kept in good working order. We especially like room 417, the bed is a new memory foam you sink into. Very restful sleep. We enjoy the decor and the all of the nice amenities. Full ocean view and can hear and see the waves crashing on the rocks. We ask for an eithernet cable for our internet when we are there to make sure we have a good connection. All the rooms are great. We like the rooms with the loft also. The location is great. It is close to Newport Oregon and not far from Depot Bay Oregon. The pool and spa are clean and nice. The tide pools are great fun to explore. It's real close to Flying Dutchman Winery, and Mo's at Devil's Punchbowl. Highly recommend this place for solo, business, couple & family.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AbundantLife5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Our room was very nice, although it claimed to sleep six, there were only two beds and a couch and double recliner. The wi-fi signal was so weak we were unable to recieve it. Hotel staff is very pleasant and the beach/tide pool access is what truly makes this amazing. It isn't a short trip down the stairs to the ocean, and the trip back up seems almost unforgiving. We made a grave mistake however dining in the Flying Dutchman which is not owned by the hotel but is on the property. Unprofessional owner of restaurant, complaint filed with Otter Crest Management.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cherrycity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I like this place. It is a bit dated, but very clean and well kept. We had a studio room that comes with a full kitchen. The Murphy bed is quite comfortable. Friendly staff - it's Oregon, you don't get mean Oregonians. We spent a few nights there and were generally happy, except for the two things below:

(1) It is misleading to think you will get a "full" oceanview as promised - in actual fact you see the ocean over the roofs of another building. And if you are sitting down, you see mostly the other building and just a small part of the ocean is unobstructed. But if walking isn't a problem, you can take the stairs down to the beach, which is fantastic, especially when the tides are low.

(2) The Wifi is a pain even during week days, and virtually no cell signal. This place isn't for you if you need to be contacted while on vacation. I got my work sorted out, unfortunately a family member passed away while I was there and I couldn't be contacted. It's a shame actually. Nowadays, a strong WiFi/ cell signal is expected, just like you expect to get electricity and water in the room, so why not make WiFi/ cell signal available too?

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tourist_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
compass_77_USA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I stayed here in July. The Oregon Coast can be expensive in the summer months but I received a 1 bedroom kitchen unit w/full ocean view for $119 a night. I was initially worried about the Murphy bed being comfortable but it was better than most hotel beds. The view was beautiful. It feels like a private beach w/few hotel guests using the beach. You can walk down the beach into the Devil's Punch Bowl when the tide is out. 5 minutes away from Newport, Oregon. Beautiful grounds, Great location, Professional/Friendly Staff. Will definitely stay here again! Highly recommend it for singles, couples and families.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank compass_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otter Rock
2.4 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 5 in Depoe Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
12.3 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
4.4 mi away
Inn at Arch Rock
Inn at Arch Rock
#3 of 7 in Depoe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Otter Crest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Otter Crest

Property: Inn at Otter Crest
Address: 301 Otter Crest Loop, Otter Rock, OR 97369-9707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Otter Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Otter Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Otter Crest 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Otter Crest is an affordable oceanfront condominium style hotel set on 35 beautiful acres on Oregon's Central Coast between Newport and Lincoln City. It offers a wide variety of room accommodations to fit different group sizes and budgets. It is a wonderful destination for weddings, events or reunions - and affordable for a spontaneous romantic getaway! Bring the family to enjoy the panoramic views, explore tidepools and stroll through the forest to the village of Otter Rock to taste Flying Dutchman wines or enjoy clam chowder at Mo's West. Visit the Inn at Otter Crest for a quiet retreat and enjoy the outdoor heated pool or relax on your own private balcony and ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Inn at Otter Crest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Otter Crest Hotel Otter Rock
Hotel At Otter Crest
At Otter Crest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing