We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing burgers but killer fries”
Review of Fat Freddy's - CLOSED

Fat Freddy's
Price range: US$6 - US$30
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Description: Do try to time your trip lunch or dinner here. This is stepping back in time to a family-run diner that has all the family there and fantastic hamburgers. It is very individual and very reasonable.
Seal Rock, OR
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing burgers but killer fries”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We were in a hurry on a weekday and needed quick food on our way home heading south. Burgers were the easiest as it's hard to mess one up...wrong! We both had the Bacon Cheeseburger combo. We were the only ones in the place at the time. I can't figure out why so many coastal burger joints just can't seem to keep the grill hot enough to sear the outsides of the patty? The meat was bland, unseasoned, and marginally cooked IMO. The other parts like the bun and fixings were just fine but the hamburger as a whole was pretty weak and tasteless. I have to say though, the fries were absolutely fantastic, much like the twice cooked variety at some places. The owner was friendly but I have a hunch he turns down the grille when business is slow so that might explain the blandness; a good burger needs a hot griddle to cook right plus a bit of seasoning. I'll try it again but will go for something other than a burger.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    7
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola FL
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We were sent to this place by a local lady and we were not disappointed. We both had the fish and chips and we sat outside in our car (we didn't want to leave our puppy alone) eating the hot food and even he seemed to love the aromas coming from our boxes. The service was a bit slow because there was only one cook on duty. But it was very busy from a walk up business due to the road crew working near by. The slaw was good and so were the fries and the fish tasted like ti was just off the boat!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cowboys1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific City, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

One of the most overpriced place for food & drinks ~ Food is terrible and you are not felt welcome your like a number

Helpful?
1 Thank Everett l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Poor experience”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Paid $4.50 for the smallest salad I've ever seen that consisted of iceberg lettuce carrots, half a slice of white onion not to mention half of the small salad was tomato. $9.50 for a small portion of calamari that came with only 1 sauce nothing else and $6 for 2 tacos one of which only had 1 piece of fish. The old pictures on the walls are nice but overall very poor experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank earthgirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Prices don't match quality”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

My wife and I were driving by and saw this nice little hole in the wall with a sign out front advertising their Oreo shake. I have a bit of a sweet tooth and stopped right away. In addition to the Oreo shake, I ordered a cup of clam chowder for my Mrs. The shake was $5.95, which is a bit strong but, if good, worth the price. Alas, this shake was very watered down and rated behind the chain hamburger joints. As to the clam chowder, it suffered from the same problem, way too watery. Shame too as it had good flavor but, so watery that a straw should have been provided instead of the spoon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fat Freddy's also viewed

 
Pacific City, Oregon Coast
Pacific City, Oregon Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing