We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (589)
Filter reviews
589 results
Traveller rating
367
153
37
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
367
153
37
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pelican pub brew pub haystack rock oregon coast parking lot starbucks coffee directly across the street gas fireplace jacuzzi room road noise rooms face the ocean great view bunk beds dory boats wonderful beach view of the ocean the cottages
Filter
Updating list...
480 - 485 of 589 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I noticed the personal service from staff from my first call to make reservations. The staff person was able to advise me regarding tide pool viewing, specials at the Blue Pelican brewery/pub across the street, etc. This property did offer a 10% AAA discount. We've found the decor of the Oregon coast hotels (generalizing) to be a bit more Spartan and/or country than we like. The Inn at Kiwanda was an improvement. We had a 3rd floor unit with 2 queen beds, functional fireplace, balcony, and nice sized bathroom. I understand that all the rooms have a full view of the haystack. It may be offputting to some that you are looking across a small two lane highway and parking lot to the ocean. However, the view is still stunning and there is just no other property (aside from renting the time share property) closer. The inn looked to be set up for games/DVDs etc in case of rain but we had full sun in mid-October.

The tide pools within easy walking distance were full of anemones, starfish, muscles, etc. and the hotel provides a tide table as timing your visit about 1 hr prior to low tide is critical. Climbing to the top of the sand dune near the beach is a must as the view on the other side includes huge sandstone structures carved by the waves. There looked to be a number of short hikes into forest and down to another beach beyond the dune. Kayak lessons and fishing excursions in small Dorys were going out frequently.

Bring binocular to appreciate the sea bird activity on the haystack.

The guests above us were noisy and woke us from about midnight to 1am. There is some road noise. Travelling with a white noise machine has been a great solution for us but we forgot it this trip. :-(.

Great scenic drives north and south of this location.

Dining at the Blue Pelican on the beach is the obvious choice. There is also a small coffee shop under the Inn but with limited hours targeting the breakfast crowd.

Room Tip: Top floor if you are sensitive to noise. Northern most rooms seemed to have a better view of the haystack and less of the Blue Pelican pub.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lookin4luxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My husband and I recently stayed for one night at the Inn at Cape Kiwanda to celebrate our 3 year wedding anniversary. We just decided to go to the Oregon coast on a little road trip (from Seattle) and randomly picked Pacific City. The Inn at Cape Kiwanda far surpassed our expectations! Customer service was outstanding and the room was incredible. We had a beautiful corner room with a stunning view out over the ocean. The Jacuzzi tub in the suite, the fireplace, even the little chocolates they included made our evening perfect. They even had a little wine/beer and cheese reception down in the lobby. It was a truly magical way to celebrate and we would definitely recommend Inn at Cape Kiwanda to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinatrasiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Our 2-day stay was wonderful. The view from our 3rd floor room was spectacular. The staff was friendly, professional, helpful, and delightful. The handicapped accessible room we had was perfect. Amenities were above par. We're looking forward to a return visit next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queen101, General Manager at Inn At Cape Kiwanda, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Thank you for your kind remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed one night and throughly enjoyed our stay. The room has everything you need. The bed was very comfortable, the room was very clean. Liked the leather couch in front of the fireplace. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony with our glasses of wine with a view that was so pleasing to the senses. Flat screen tv with dvd player and movies that are provided. The staff was great, helpful and friendly. Hope to get back there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate57_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Our recent one night stay at the Inn at Cape Kiwanda was great: the service, from check-in to morning coffee in their cafe "Stimulus", was very good. And the room was extremely comfortable (and meticulously clean) with all the bells and whistles including Aveda toiletries, flat screen TV, wifi, down comforter, pretty view of the big rock in the bay (and, yes, view of the parking lot and the restaurant The Pelican--I was kind of disappointed in that I didn't read the review saying that the hotel is across the street and it surprised me when we got there...).

It's quiet and beautiful there this time of year and we had a terrific time at the Inn. Received a AAA rate on their website--The hotel is above average in every way. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queen101, General Manager at Inn At Cape Kiwanda, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews