We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We liked it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn At Cape Kiwanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn At Cape Kiwanda
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pacific City
Certificate of Excellence
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We liked it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Cape Kiwanda is where we started a very enjoyable trip from the Pacific City area up the coastline to Aberdeen WA before cutting inland and returning to Seattle.

I guess this could be called a "motel", but seemed a bit more than that to us. It was well run and the staff was helpful and friendly.

We were in the Seattle / Portland area for around 12 days, with the Inn near the middle of our stay. So the handy little laundry room provided by the Inn was a really nice feature as it allowed me to take less clothing for the trip. Gotta love that!

We're from the uptight grossly over-regulated OCD State of NJ where NOTHING is allowed on the beach. It was almost shocking to see people tenting and tailgating on the beach with dogs running around, fires lit, children running free, etc. A very refreshing change for sure.

Cape Kiwanda is a very pretty place. Very photogenic. I got some really nice photographs there. We lucked out on a particularly gorgeous sunset.

Of note is Pelican Pub, a very nice restaurant across the way from the Inn. We ate there and were very kindly treated to very enjoyable food.

Would happily return and stay here again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the same way and have a nice view of the beach and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simple_Seeker_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificCityYLBT, General Manager at Inn At Cape Kiwanda, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
I’m happy that you chose to stay at the Inn at Cape Kiwanda on your recent trip. There is so much to do in this little town, miles of open beach and breathtaking sights for those unforgettable photographs. I hope you were able to enjoy one of our beautiful sunsets, no two are ever the same it seems. Please come back our way in the near future, we would love to see you again!

Kim Carr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    135
    24
    13
    12
See reviews for
91
276
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Inn for a long weekend to celebrate my husbands birthday. We were greeted by friendly staff and a surprise bottle of champagne in our room. I think we has the best room in the place on the third floor with a jacuzzi. The room was clean, bed super comfortable, lots of extra towels and fluffy robes were the extra special treat. We will definitely come back!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificCityYLBT, General Manager at Inn At Cape Kiwanda, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
What a fantastic way to celebrate a special occasion! Awesome weekend, beautiful room and a relaxing soak in a Jacuzzi tub. I’m happy to hear you had a great stay and I hope you are making plans for a return visit soon.
Regards,

Kimberly Carr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keizer, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here during our Anniversary. It was very clean, and the room was updated. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Not a great selection of TV channels but they did have new movies that you could check out and take back to your room to watch.
Having an ocean view from the Jacuzzi tub was nice.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor, which had a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nmitch7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificCityYLBT, General Manager at Inn At Cape Kiwanda, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
What a wonderful treat to celebrate your Anniversary in one of our Nestucca Jacuzzi rooms. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and I hope you have plans to come back and visit again soon.
Regards,

Kimberly Carr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloha, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our favorite time to stay here is 4th of July. Great weather and free fireworks show we can see from balcony of hotel (all rooms have ocean view balconies). Our favorite room is the Jacuzzi room. We are always made to feel welcome here and our dog gets treats and toys with the Pet Package (Plus the Pet fee is waved). Fun little town at Holidays, Pelican Pub restaurant is our favorite and just across the street on the beach. Usually a very quiet place to get away depending on the time of year. Beach is a favorite of surfers at one end and the other side of the sand dune hill is a favorite with paragliders and hang gliders. Also seems to be a favorite of fisherman, kyakers and canoes - though rarely crowded except at Holidays and summer weekends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificCityYLBT, General Manager at Inn At Cape Kiwanda, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
I’m happy to hear you and your pets had a great stay over the 4th of July holiday! It was a fantastic weekend, we had some beautiful weather and the fireworks display was awesome! Come back and visit with us again soon – have an extraordinary summer!
Regards,

Kimberly Carr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is the second time here for us. Friendly staff and good service. Great access to beach and nearby activities. Nice recommendations for restaurants from staff. We enjoyed dining at Pelican Brew Pub across the street. It's possible to park the car for 2 days, and not move it. Nice

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificCityYLBT, General Manager at Inn At Cape Kiwanda, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for staying at the Inn, we appreciate your patronage! Have a great summer and come back to visit soon!
Regards,
Kimberly Carr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
621 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This inn continues to amaze us. We came as a result of a welcome back offer (we have stayed before) that included credit for a meal and a beer sampler at the Pelican brew pub. We received a cheerful reminder call a couple of weeks before our stay, and the most cheerful reception at the front desk of any place we have stayed.

The entry is kept clean and bright, giving an inkling of how the rooms are maintained. The large rooms, with king beds and a large living area with sofa and desk, are very clean and meticulously maintained. We ran into some of the maintenance staff who talked with pride about how they want to make sure everything in the room works perfectly.

The housekeeping is terrific.

Every room has a comfortable balcony with an incredible view of haystack rock, the dunes and the ocean. There are 3 RV parks behind the inn, but we never noticed any undue noise or congestion resulting from that.

They have movies to borrow (free) that include many recent releases, if you tear yourselves away from the beach.

On some days (particularly Wednesday), guests are invited up to the swank cottages for an event. This time we learned how to crack crabs and make crab cocktails, which we go to enjoy with some Pelican ale.

This is a great place to stay in one of our favorite areas of the Oregon coast.

Room Tip: Top floor gives the most expansive view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkrissel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificCityYLBT, General Manager at Inn At Cape Kiwanda, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Well, you are certainly a “gem” guest for this wonderful review of the Inn at Cape Kiwanda! I am very fortunate to work for such a great company with fantastic owners who care about the looks and condition of the Inn. We are celebrating our 16th anniversary next week and whenever guests ask how old we are they are always surprised when I tell them. We do have a strong dedicated team working for us and I am very proud of each of them. We look forward to your next visit to “our little beach town”. Enjoy your summer!
Regards,

Kimberly Carr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I always read the most negative reviews first and The Inn At Cape Kiwanda had a few, most of which are now non-issues:
1. No more single-ply toilet paper!
2. A white-noise unit, with wave sounds amplified, greeted us on entry to the room. It had other settings as well, and volume control.
3. That, and the addition of an air conditioner/fan both served to mitigate for having to close the deck door, due to street noise - to be expected since it's on a direct route to Sand Lake ATV off-road heaven.
4. We thought the view of the beach and the Pelican restaurant's parking lot was fun people-watching, at least from our 3rd floor room.
5. In the room itself: The king bed was VERY comfortable, not short-sheeted, plenty of pillows; very nice shower head & plenty of towels and facial tissue in bathroom along with shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soaps and a hair dryer; ample closet and drawer space; mini-kitchen with microwave, refrigerator, sink, glassware, coffee maker, ice bucket; TV was situated so that it served both the bed and seating area well; tabled for two with dining chairs, leather sofa with coffee table, and a rocking chair in the sitting area; and two adirondak chairs on the deck. I probably missed something.
6. Staff was friendly and responsive, and the property is very well maintained. Hotel parking is on the east side of the building which keeps salt from accumulating on the cars.
All-in-all, however, I would probably not stay there again unless the Sand Lake highway is rerouted. I love salt air, and a cool night breeze, and the sound of real waves. If these are not issues for others, then I highly recommend this property!
Oh, and it was our honeymoon!
Val LeGault

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor based on another review and it was right-on. The view of the Cape and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PacificCityYLBT, General Manager at Inn At Cape Kiwanda, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
It is important to us to provide our guests with top notch customer service and all the necessary amenities that will ensure they have a relaxing stay. Thank you for noticing these special touches, your comments were much appreciated. There are times when the traffic headed to Sandlake can be a bit noisy and I want you to know that we are aware of this issue and hope to have a solution in the near future.
Thank you for celebrating your honeymoon with us! I hope you will come back in the future for another visit, or to celebrate your first anniversary!
Regards,

Kimberly Carr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific City
0.1 mi away
Cottages at Cape Kiwanda
Cottages at Cape Kiwanda
#2 of 3 in Pacific City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
20.0 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
16.1 mi away
Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel
Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel
#9 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
16.0 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#11 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
16.1 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn At Cape Kiwanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At Cape Kiwanda

Property: Inn At Cape Kiwanda
Address: 33105 Cape Kiwanda Dr, Pacific City, OR 97135-8012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Pacific City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pacific City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn At Cape Kiwanda 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Cape Kiwanda is located just steps from the beach in beautiful Pacific City, Oregon. This 35 room boutique hotel features all ocean-view rooms; each is equipped with a gas fireplace, private balconies facing the ocean, flat screen televisions, pillow top mattresses, luxurious bedding, microwaves, and coffee makers. Cruise the laid back beach town on the complimentary beach cruiser bikes, stay in on a rainy day and watch complimentary DVD movies, also enjoy the Friday & Saturday night fireside managers reception where they will be serving Pelican beers, fine Oregon wines, sparkling apple ciders, and fruit and cheese platters from 5:30-6:30pm. On-site is the ocean view mini-spa where you may schedule a massage, manicure, pedicure, or facial. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn At Cape Kiwanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Cape Kiwanda Hotel Pacific City
Hotel At Cape Kiwanda
At Cape Kiwanda Hotel
Inn At Cape Kiwanda Pacific City, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing