We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People watching great - service is terrible.”

Sportsman Pub and Grub
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Pacific City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“People watching great - service is terrible.”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Now, there are only about 5 pubs in Pacific City. I read reviews and most said this was the best in town. Granted, it was packed! Service behind the bar was poor (I think it's simply because we aren't locals). Come here for a beer in the bottle
(our drafts were stale) and for local people watching. Don't expect much more.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmilyGeorge75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    47
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Locals, freshest fish in town”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I always try to avoid the tourist traps when traveling and look for a spot where the locals eat. This bar and restaurant is on my radar each and every time I pass through Pacific City.
The day we went, the fisherman were just finishing their lunches, chatting about the fishing that morning. We all ordered the fried oysters since they were so fresh. And they were delicious, served with your choice of fries(they had three types), slaw and three sauces. Pricing is half of what you will pay and a popular tourist restaurant not far from here. Beer selection good, and full bar. The ling cod was fresh that morning as well. Keep up the good work Sportsman!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LIVIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very nostalgic”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Because of the ratings on Trip Advisor, we went in. It is very old, a bit rough around the edges, but in the end a wonderful place. The service was great, local beer offerings tasty, and fish and chips the best we had on our Oregon trip. Very warm and friendly, full of colorful characters.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank VegasTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quintessential Oregon Coastal Tavern & Great Food”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Step back in time 30 years to experience an authentic Oregon coastal tavern and dine with the locals. This is not Cheers, but everyone there seemed to know everyone's name, and the staff helped us feel like welcome guests as soon as we entered.

This service is great. All of the staff seemed to be long time regulars who were very familiar with the menu. At our servers suggestion we tried the fresh Netarts Bay fried oysters with beer batter fries and the cod with onion rings. The prime rib sounded tempting, but not like the Netarts Bay oysters.

The food was served hot by Art, one of the kitchen staff. The oysters and beer batter fries were excellent, the cod was very good. The beer batter was crisp on the outside and not soggy with a hint of beer flavor. The deep fried onion rings were good, but the batter was not their beer batter, a disappointment.

The atmosphere. Oregon coast tavern circa 1970 - no windows, pool table in the entry, and faded PBR posters on the walls. The one exception to authenticity is the attention to cleanliness everywhere, which we greatly appreciated. This is a tavern with food so no one under the age of 21 allowed. No black BMWs in the parking lot but we parked between a 1928 Ford hot rod and a fully restored early 1950's Chevrolet.

If you go for dinner – the menu changes at 5 pm and according to our server it is 'very busy' starting a 6 pm; plan accordingly.

Conclusion: would we go again – yes, recommend to friends – yes, Mediterranean diet menu – no. A special thanks to the other reviewers for their thoughts; I would have missed this great experience without their recommendations.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesandBarbaraL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Local hangout with enthusiastic, friendly staff and excellent food and beer.”
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Best value pub-grub in town! Fresh pan fried local oysters with a pint of "Black Butte" porter!! A throwback NW tavern which has all the charm of an authentic, antique hangout.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pinotjrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sportsman Pub and Grub also viewed

 
Pacific City, Oregon Coast
Pacific City, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Sportsman Pub and Grub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing