We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cooper Spur Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Parkdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed in one of the "Inn" rooms at Cooper Spur with a wedding group in August. Our room was very clean and the overall facilities are lovely. There are tennis courts, a volleyball court and two great hot tubs perfect for sky watching. Our room was a bit dark because there is only one plate glass window and the room is paneled in dark wood but that is what I expect from a lodge style room. We greatly appreciated having a mini fridge in the room. Great location for anyone looking to explore Mt. Hood trails, Parkdale orchards, or Hood River.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wishfulnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy F, Marketing at Cooper Spur Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for the review. Yes we do offer mini fridges in our lodge rooms and coffee makers. The hot tubs are a great feature that we offer here at the resort that we offer to our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

Our group rented the big Log Home, 2 free standing log cabins, a lodge cabin, and the Homestead cabin for an August wedding, which was held at the Log Home. Decor is rustic mountain cabin style; a bit dark, and could use more light especially in the bedrooms, as several other reviewers have noted. The pet friendly log cabin option was very handy for our dogs, although the pet friendly log cabin was not yet renovated, so a bit more dated than the other units. All units have well equipped kitchens, nice linens; beds and pillows are comfortable; shower and bathrooms very nice. Loft in the cabins would be great for children. The grounds are pretty, wooded, and relaxing.
As far as a wedding venue goes, Cooper Spur was great! Cynthia and Sara and the chef, Joe, went out of their way to make it easy on us. They ordered the rentals (chairs,tableware, glasses, tables, linens, and everything else we needed), handled the set up both for the ceremony and the dinner,and thought of several details that we had not considered. They even provided us with ice for the big day and allowed us to store refrigerated items in their restaurant fridges, then delivered them to us at the appropriate time, as well as using the restaurant ovens to cook some of our self-catered items. The wedding set up on the lawn of the Log Home had the most beautiful backdrop: woods, and a gorgeous, close view of Mt. Hood! A lovely, private setting for the ceremony and dinner, an excellent staff, and good accommodations make it a perfect wedding venue; many of the guests, as well as the bride and groom, will return for future stays.

Room Tip: The Homestead Cabin, also known as the Honeymoon Cabin, has a wonderful deck with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EurophilefromNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy F, Marketing at Cooper Spur Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you choosing Cooper Spur Mountain Resort as your wedding venue. We will look into the the lighting for the bathrooms and as for the pet friendly units they have not been recently updated and will be in the near future. We here at Cooper Spur Mountain Resort were glad to provide you with all of the services that were needed for your wedding day. We are happy that everyone had a great time and enjoyed themselves and look forward to seeing you in the future when you and your guest stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The Cooper Spur Resort is a series of log lodges, surrounding their very own bar and restaurant. The grounds offer a pool and hot tub, tennis court, basketball, and a field for soccer, ultimate, whatever. The lodges are two story cabins with a kitchen, two bedrooms and a loft area. The "condo" area is a building containing eight of these lodges, offering the same amenities. The bar is quaint and cozy. The staff is first rate, and very nice.
In short, a great place, and a great place to stay with a large group !

Room Tip: For the family, go for a stand-along cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy F, Marketing at Cooper Spur Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Yes the resort does offer hot tubs, but no pool, a ray of outdoor activities from tennis court to volleyball court and lawn games as well. The bar is a new addition to Cooper Spur and it is small where you can pull up a seat and make some friends We would like to say "Thank you" and glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Cooper Spur Mountain Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I stayed here because of its proximity to Mt Hood for a ski weekend. I stayed in one of the hotel rooms and found it to be very comfortable and clean, although a bit dated. The grounds were well-kept, hot tubs clean and the small dining room was excellent. Help from the front desk was friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spokanecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellisa F, Public Relations Manager at Cooper Spur Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015

Thank you for your positive comment. Yes, our lodging is a little dated, but we are currently working on bringing it up to date however we cannot take away from our “woodsy outdoor home away from home” feel. The team here is always updating the menus in the restaurant and with the addition of the newly remodeled Crooked Tree Tavern, we hope you come back and try out our restaurant again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

My fiancé and I stayed a night at the resort before skiing had a good time. Dinner and drinks were good with local beer and food as well as friendly service. Outdoor hot tubs were awesome in the snow. The full pine board interiors of the room were nice and free WiFi is always appreciated. Continental breakfast was better than most and everyone working at the resort was very happy to help. Definitely would like to return.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mtompkins82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellisa F, Public Relations Manager at Cooper Spur Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015

Thank you for your welcoming positive comment. We love the fact that we are so close to skiing in the winter and hiking in the summer. Recreational opportunities are just virtually outside our doors. I have to agree, that hot tubing in the snow is so much more fun than the opposite. We do strive to keep our WiFi free as well as updating and improving on our amenities. I hope you will come back and see us again soon and as always, your feedback – whether it is positive or negative, is always welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Comfortable, welcoming, and clean. Stayed in one of the hotel rooms with a king bed and had a peaceful night's sleep in preparation for a day on the slopes (very close proximity to Mt. Hood Meadows, and get a discounted lift ticket price for staying at Cooper Spur). Ate dinner at the lodge due to the fact that the roads were too icy to venture out too late at night and had a quiet and nice meal with a few local brews. Furnishings are "lodgy" and to some may seem outdated, but it is all a part of the appeal of a hidden away lodge in the woods for those who appreciate kitch and uniqueness. Look forward to coming back.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Nikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellisa F, Public Relations Manager at Cooper Spur Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015

Thank you so very much for your positive comment. We too like the fact that we are so very close to skiing at Mt Hood Meadows and that we can offer such a great discounted lift ticket for guests staying here with us. With our onsite Restaurant and the newly remodeled Crooked Tree Tavern, you can literally have a quiet fine dining experience or watch a game on the big tv’s and have excellent Happy Hour meals in the tavern. We love the fact that we are the unexplored and un-touristy portion of Mt Hood and we like the fact that we are hidden away and quiet here.
We hope to see you back here soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The Cooper Spur Resort was a nice, adequate place to spend a quiet night. Calling it a resort would be a big stretch for me. We were told to call a number if we needed anything....called twice and NEVER even got an answer to the phone. We requested spa towels two different times before they were delivered, and we ended up requesting them in PERSON both times because no one would answer the phone.

Our room was in the inn, it was quiet, and very dark. The room was so dark it was difficult to read. The hot tubs were ok, we did have the place to ourselves at least with a nice deck but no mosquito repellant torches or candles of any kind so we didn't stay very long.

The room was clean, at least what we could see. The shower was fine, and they did provide soap, shampoo and conditioner as well as a hair dryer. One other thing I really liked was that the boys had their own beds, two twin beds and a queen. This was a nice break for our two boys.

If our rafting company had not ran a special with this property, we wouldn't have stayed. I don't think we would stay there again, for the price I would prefer a bed and breakfast with better customer service and personal attention and information.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kgardner120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellisa F, Public Relations Manager at Cooper Spur Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015

Thank you for your comments. We always appreciate knowing what we need to improve on so we can make ourselves a better and more appealing to travelers. Since your stay, we have made some drastic Managerial changes and we strive daily to work on our guest services and our response time to our phone calls. I am sorry about the unanswered phone calls; I do not know what happened there, as I wasn’t employed at that time. We now have a multi-line phone system, where we can answer multiple calls, hold callers and we also have a radio system which we can immediately contact housekeeping as well as maintenance – for those needs that arise.
We also now employ a night caretaker who is here from the time the office and restaurant close until we arrive back on site the next am. This person has a direct line to answer for any after-hours situations that arise, towels, extra items as well as firewood delivery.
The rooms do seem quite dark due to the beautiful wood inside the units. This lack of light is because the natural wood absorbs the light instead of reflecting it, like a painted wall would do. We have been adding more lights and are constantly assessing the fixtures to see if we can make it better.
We too like the fact that our Resort does offer a “Family Unit”, so that with a family of four ~ everyone can have their own bed. Makes the stay a little nicer when everyone has their own bed and they can sleep better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parkdale
8.8 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
1,071 reviews
19.8 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
20.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Balch Hotel
Balch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dufur
250 reviews
19.3 mi away
Whispering Woods Resort
19.8 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooper Spur Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooper Spur Mountain Resort

Address: 10755 Cooper Spur Rd, Parkdale, OR 97041-7729
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Parkdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Parkdale
Price Range: £106 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cooper Spur Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooper Spur Mountain Resort is a rustic mountain lodge and resort specializing in family vacations, weddings, retreats and group events. Located on the magnificent north side of Mt. Hood and set in the midst of the beautiful Mt. Hood National Forest, our lodge is surrounded by pine trees with views of three different mountain peaks; Mt. Hood, Mt. Adams, and Mt. Rainier. Just 23 miles south of Hood River, Oregon, and 12 miles from Mt. Hood Meadows Ski Resort, Cooper Spur Mountain Resort is ideal for those seeking year- round mountain adventures. It's a quick and easy 90 minute drive from Portland, yet is secluded to allow guests to remove themselves from their stressful daily lives to enjoy the surrounding nature. Accommodations include lodge hotel rooms, lodge condos, cabins, and a 4-bedroom log home (perfect for large families or corporate retreats). The peeled log structures present a charm and elegance you would expect in this mountain environment. All units have woodburning fireplaces with the exception of our lodge hotel rooms. All of our units also have refrigerators so guests can bring along meals and snacks. The lodge condos and cabins have kitchenettes and the 4-bedroom log house has a fully-equipped kitchen; ideal for extended stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cooper Spur Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cooper Spur Mountain Hotel Parkdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing